Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 13, 2002 10:19 AM UIN: 16262997

“They’re like thunder…lightning…. Late Model racing’s exciting…” Indeed it is, especially on the humongous half-mile at Hartford. In their first of four visits to Hartford Speedway Park, the Sunoco American Late Model Series gave the fans a breath-taking preview of things to come when they return in June, July and August. The heats were hot, the “B” was a “barn-burner” and the “A” was…well, you should have been their as Jeep VanWormer blasted through the pack after starting 12th and grabbed the lead for good on lap 9 from Todd Nuding, pole car for Friday’s 30 lap feature. After taking the third heat over U.S.A.C. star Brian Tyler, Ryan Dauber tagged the backstretch wall on lap 7 of the feature, and was out for the night. At the re-start, Van Wormer was already up to 4th and when the checkers flew it was Van Wormer, Greg Johnson, Brian Ruhlman, Joey Oizzo, Curt Spalding the top 5 with Bill Hawn, Chris Patterson and Shaun Tozcak filling out the 8 place scoreboard. Jeff John scored the second heat over Nuding and Van Wormer topped Ruhlman in heat one.
The “B” feature saw Tim Saybo finish 6th on a cut-down tire after heavy contact with Todd Loomis. Saybo, early leader in the 12 lapper, followed the top 5 of Ken Hawn, Jim “ Mad Dog” Kelly, Matt Mead, Bruce Steward and Dean Anderson to the wire. The ALMS series will return Friday, June 21.
The 15 lap Super Stock feature saw a fresh face in victory lane as Brad Wade from Dundee, MI came late to the track, but conquered all and took the feature win ahead of Mark Wagner, Shaun McLaughlin, Jerry Griffin and Ron Wagner. Mark Wagner took the only heat over Zach Hanson.
The Factory Stock feature had five different leaders, a nice mix of Ford, Chevy and Mopar, male and female drivers , and when it was all sorted out Dowagiac’s Phil Ausra had his first ever Factory Stock Feature win. Jesse Scott was second followed by Bill Bammon, Nick Sherington, Mark Lambrecht, Gary Meagher, Kelli Jo Hofacker and Allison Tober. The “B” feature went to Eau Claire’s Larry Arndt ahead of Sherington, Meagher, Shaun Bourdelais, and Scott Mearpass. Hofacker, Bammon and Mark Peterson scored heat wins. Missing from this week’s Factory Stock action was George Neff, who suffered a sprint car style flip in last week’s action. Latest word is he’ll be back soon!
This week Friday, May 17, will feature all four regular classes including Open Sprints, IMCA Mods, Super Stocks and Factory Stocks. All this and it’s Autograph/Meet the Driver night for only $11 at the gate! Next week May 24 will see the return of the GLOSS 410 Sprinters along with IMCA Mods and Factory Stocks; “Dirt track racing at it’s best” on Michigan’s

Back to the Archives