Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Cozze and Michael Do Mom Proud At New Egypt
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 12, 2002 05:15 PM UIN: 16262997
Cozze and Michael Do Mom Proud At New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (May 11) - Frank Cozze of Wind Gap, PA, did last week's
runner-up finish one better in the Modified race, while Curt Michael,
Oceanview, DE, was on top of the 25-lap URC Sprint car event during New
Egypt Speedway's Mother's Day Bouquet on Saturday night, presented by DeVos

"I've raced at a lot of tracks, all over the East Coast," Cozze told the
large crowd from victory lane, "but I've never had as much fun as I do here
on a Saturday night."

Cozze's coup was especially challenging as he started the 25-lap feature
back in 15th position and the race ran right-through, non-stop. Cozze's
solid march to the front saw him track down race leader Tom Hager in lapped
traffic and whip by with four laps remaining to claim his second career win
at New Egypt. Darren McCaughey's late-race pass landed him in second at the
stripe, with Hager, Scott VanGorder and defending champ Keith Hoffman

Former URC champion Curt Michael grabbed the point on lap 5 and barreled on
to record his first win of the year in the Sprint car club's initial 2002
appearance at the track. Trevor Lewis was second, with Bill Brian Jr. third,
Gary Gollub fourth and Kevin Welsh fifth.

"I've always liked this place and I've always finished in the top three
here," said Michael after his first New Egypt victory. "I'm really glad to
finally get this one."

Bound Brook, NJ's Rich Scagliotta became the fifth different winner this
year in the Sportsman ranks, besting Matt Papiez, Jack Swain, Jeff Geiges
and Dominick Buffalino in the division's 15-lapper.

Defending Super Stock titlist Al Cheney III of Cranbury, NJ, passed Pat
Conaway on the last lap to claim the night's full-fendered feature. Bill
Gerber, George Quinlan and Jake Roveda completed the top five.

Anthony Tramontana, Vineland, NJ, notched his first win in the Mid-State
Communications Rookie Sportsman Series, over Todd Kuhl, Glenn Hisko, current
series point leader Dave Woolston Jr. and Lou Farina III.

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by Billy Pauch (Mods, 19.410), Dominick Buffalino (Sportsman,
19.551) and Al Cheney III (Super Stock, 21.651).

156 cars competed in 22 events during the night, which were completed before
10:30 pm.

As part of the track's Mother's Day tribute, all Moms received flowers at
the front gate, courtesy of Flowers by Addalia, and over $1,500 in great
giveaways went to lucky mothers in the crowd, courtesy of DeVos Motorsports
sponsors. A grand prize of a $1,000 gift certificate was donated by
Whirlpool Home Appliances.

Next week, the youngsters 10 and under get a crack at the track during
Delran Auto Body's annual Kids' Big Wheel Challenge, sharing the bill with
the big-block Modifieds, Sportsman, Super Stocks and Rookies. Gates open at
3 pm, with first race at 5:30. Adult admission is $14, children 7-12 are $4,
and kids 6 and under are free. For more information, call the speedway
office at (609) 758-1900.

1st Heat: 1.Grosso 2.Drayton 3.Hager 4.Godown 5.Infante 6.Polenz
2nd Heat: 1.Bitner 2.Laureno 3.K.Hoffman 4.Van Gorder 5.McCaughey
3rd Heat: 1.Cozze 2.Pauch 3.Bohn 4.Velenger 5.Koczon 6.Kerr
B Main: 1.Tanner Jr. 2.Carberry 3.Brightbill 4.Reppert 5.McVay 6.Keimig
(Fan Prov: Worthington)
Feature (25 laps):
1.Frank Cozze 2.Darren McCaughey 3.Tom Hager 4.Scott VanGorder 5.Keith
Hoffman 6.Rick Grosso Jr. 7.Billy Pauch 8.Ryan Kerr 9.Kenny Brightbill
10.Rocco Infante 11.Tim Tanner Jr. 12.Ryan Godown 13.Roger Laureno 14.Mark
Bitner 15.Eddie Bohn 16.Tom Carberry 17.Bob Drayton 18.Ron Jon Koczon
19.Gary Velenger 20.Rich Polenz 21.Jimmy Reppert 22.Larry McVay 23.Fred
Dmuchowski 24.Korey Keimig 25.Bob Worthington.
DNQ: John Miloszar Jr., Mike Hendershot, George Gareis, Sam Martz.

Rookie Feature: 1.Anthony Tramontana 2.Kuhl 3.Hisko 4.Woolston Jr. 5.Farina
III 6.Plumstead 7.Solderich 8.Fitzsimmons 9.Crowley 10.Yard 11.Thomas
12.Tanner IV 13.Morris 14.Lawrence 15.Acolia 16.Monk 17.Vasquez 18.Schultz
1st Heat: 1.M.Papiez 2.Reid 3.Meisner 4.Taylor Jr. 5.McCloughan
2nd Heat: 1.Lyons 2.Buffalino 3.Ploski III 4.Fleming 5.Scherer
3rd Heat: 1.Toth 2.Tanner III 3.Swain 4.Pfister 5.Ely
4th Heat: 1.Beamer 2.Geiges 3.Scagliotta 4.Leote 5.J.Papiez
Feature (15 Laps):
1.Rich Scagliotta 2.Matt Papiez 3.Jack Swain 4.Jeff Geiges 5.Dominick
Buffalino 6.Mike Lyons 7. Jim Scherer 8.Mike Toth 9.Stan Ploski III 10.Scott
Reid 11.Larry Kline 12.Lee Taylor Jr. 13.Joe Papiez 14.Bill Tanner 15.Brien
Ely 16.Brian Pearson 17.Rob Pfister 18.Keith Foster 19.G.R. Smith 20.Anthony
Tramontana 21.Bruce Leote 22.Chris Wasson 23.Ken Meisner 24.Keith Fleming
25.Brian Godown 26.Phil McCloughan 27.Tommy Beamer 28.Tom Tomasko 29.Chuck
DNQ: Rick Beavers, Mike Mongiello III, John McClelland, Tim Apgar, Gene
Stravinsky, Doug Boyce, Dave Woolston Jr., Dave Woolston Sr., Gene DeVos,
Andy Weeks, Dave Hoffman, Rich McTighe, Todd Kuhl, Glenn Hisko, Lou Farina
III, Keith Plumstead, Joe Solderich, Tom Fitzsimmons, Wil Crowley, Rick
Yard, Randy Thomas, Billy Tanner IV, Robert Morris, Laura Lawrence, Rich
Acolia, Fred Monk, Nick Vasquez, Steve Schultz.

1st Heat: 1.Cheney 2.Gargiulo 3.Search 4.Guyer 5.Whitehouse 6.Page
2nd Heat: 1.Freiberger 2.Quinlan 3.Conaway 4.Coverly 5.Gargiulo Jr. 6.Nixon
3rd Heat: 1.Butler 2.Gerber 3.Fleming 4.Roveda 5.Melton 6.Hewitt
Feature (15 laps):1.Al Cheney III 2.Pat Conaway 3.Bill Gerber 4.George
Quinlan 5.Jake Roveda 6.Gary Butler 7.Ralph Gargiulo 8.Ryan Coverly 9.Carol
Whitehouse 10.Mario Page 11.Ken Hammond 12.Robert Melton 13.Nick Gargiulo
Jr. 14.Kenny Guyer 15.Bryan Reed 16.Bill Miscoski 17.Jon Hewitt 18.Mick
Search 19.Jim Hewitt 20.Tom Bentz 21.Pat Freiberger 22.Kevin Bifulco 23.Kory
Fleming 24.Brian Nixon.
DNQ: Dave Cologna, Chris Pidgeon, Steve Biles, Steve Barnes.

1st Heat: 1.Green 2.Brian Jr. 3.Stitzel 4.Suprich 5.Gerber
2nd Heat: 1.Coverdale 2.Busby 3.Haggenbottom 4.Michael 5.McGough
3rd Heat: 1.Aikin 2.Welsh 3.Hogue 4.Miller 5.Clarke
4th Heat: 1.Emery 2.Martin 3.Clauss 4.Gollub 5.Lewis
B Main: 1.Ely 2.Pursell 3.Pauch 4.Trout
C Main: 1.Schmoyer 2.Gable 3.Massey 4.Trout
Feature (25 laps): 1.Curt Michael 2.Trevor Lewis 3.Bill Brian Jr. 4.Gary
Gollub 5.Kevin Welsh 6.Greg Coverdale 7.Mike Haggenbottom 8.Jason Clauss
9.Danny Massey (prov.)10.Doug Emery 11.Midge Miller 12.George Suprick
13.Dave McGough 14.Pete Green 15.Matt Gerber 16.Dave Ely 17.Jeremy Trout
18.Jeff Busby 19.Junior Martin 20.Scott Pursell 21.Ed Aikin 21.Glen Clarke
22.Tim Hogue 23.Jimmy Stitzel 24.Billy Pauch.
DNQ: Jeff Foote, Ian Borden, Mike Kostic, Gary Thayer, Todd Rittenhouse,
Jr., Ray Staats, Ashley Parlett, Joe Zuczek, Deric Parker, Brett Romano,
Fran Hogue, Randy Schmoyer, Danny Massey, Jim Wyers, Chris Coyle, Judi
Bates, Dave Gable, Donnie Ennis.

Back to the Archives