Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   April 27 race results from Duck River Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 29, 2002 10:15 PM UIN: 16262997
April 27 race results from Duck River Speedway

Local legend Jimmy Nowlin set fast time with a blistering 13.042 lap on
the mile clay oval but outside pole sitter Byron Michael of Florence,
Alabama broke on top at the drop of the green flag and while Nowlin
dogged the "Florence Flyer" the entire 25 laps, Jimmy had to settle for
the runner-up finish as Michael won his second feature of the season.
Three time winner David Gentry started sixth and waged his own personal
battle with Fayettville's Cory Posey as Gentry and Posey swapped the
third spot on numerous occasions before Gentry finally prevailed in his
tussle to grab third. Posey was fourth in front of Billy Harris in

Late Model
1) Byron Michael
2) Jimmy Nowlin
3) David Gentry
4) Cory Posey
5) Billy Harris
6) Bo Judge
7) Josh Lunsford
8) Mike Hines
9) Jeff Carvell

In Open Wheel action John Schetrompf continued his fine season by
powering his way around heat race winner Sam Range then keeping up a
blistering pace to nab his first win and move into first place in the
2002 Open Wheel point standings. Range kept his Mountain Dew special on
the bottom and held off Chad Bone for second while Billy Harris
recovered from brake problems in his heat race to overcome Tommy Davis
for fourth in the feature event.
Open Wheel
1) John Schetrompf
2) Sam Range
3) Chad Bone
4) Billy Harris
5) Tommy Davis
6) Bob Jarrett
7) Junior Daniels
8) Tim Demonbreun
9) Ken McAffee
Last week Rick Curren thoroughly thrashed the 2-barrell Late Model
field and this week proved it was no fluke as the "Fayetteville Flash"
won again, going away, while Anthony Seibers had to contend with a
contingent of young upstarts in Scott Cook and John David Todd before
emerging with a second place finish. 2001 Super Stock champion Larry
Landers is quickly adapting to his new Late Model and made another
strong showing to grab third with Randy Judge out dueling Ray Bush for
fourth place. Curren won the 11 car heat race.
2-BBL Late Models
1) Rick Curren
2) Anthony Seibers
3) Larry Landers
4) Randy Judge
5) Ray Bush
6) Dwayne Waid
7) Charlie Cates
8) Greg Curl
9) Scott Cook
10) John David Todd
Super Stock point leader James Freeman continues to make an early
season statement about his intentions to pursue the track championship
as Freeman slipped around heat race winner and early pace setter Jay
George with six laps remaining to garner his second victory of the year.
Mike Johnson made a valiant effort but settled for third with Donald
Davis and JuneBug Pomeroy in fourth and fifth. Johnson also won his heat
Super Stock
1) James Freeman
2) Jay George
3) Mike Johnson
4) Donald Davis
5) JuneBug Pomeroy
6) Chad Williams
7) Tash Bruce
8) Marty Anderson
9) Chris Ruth
10) Joe Morgan
You want parity? How about the Outlaw Pony division as Gary Reid became
the sixth different winner in six events this season at Duck River. In
fact runner-up Brad Sain and third place finisher Jeff Roberson are both
looking for their first win of the new season as is fifth place runner
Clay Lawrence. Only fourth place finisher Jimmy Dale is a former winner
in 2002. Reid and Sain were the heat race winners.
Outlaw Pony
1) Gary Reid
2) Brad Sain
3) Jeff Roberson
4) Jimmy Dale
5) Clay Lawrence
6) Jason Averitt
7) Anthony Powers
8) Allen Rogers
9) Joshua Nichols
10) Travis Lester
In Pure Pony action Billy Davidson held off a tenacious Michael
Chumbley and last week's winner Doug Chumbley to capture his second win
of the year. Anthony Dodson and Shane Hooper were fourth and fifth.
Dudley Rogers and Davidson were the heat race winners.
Pure Pony
1) Billy Davidson
2) Michael Chumbley
3) Doug Chumbley
4) Anthony Dodson
5) Shane Hooper
6) David Wallace
7) Joseph Storey
8) Dustin Harris
9) Andy Rogers
10) Jeff Weaver
Scott Kolinsky started ninth in the feature but quickly drove through
the field to pick up his second victory in as many weeks. Timmy Nichols
held off heat winner Paul White for second.
Rookie Pony
1) Scott Kolinski
2) Jimmy Nichols
3) Paul White

Racing continues this coming Saturday night with the second round of
our "Clayton Homes of Shelbyville Big 6 Steel Head Series" races paying
$1,500 to win. Gates open at 4:00 PM with drivers meeting set for 6:30
PM, hot laps and racing to follow.

Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives