Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Jason Taylor Tops the field of Modified's with his Ford
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 29, 2002 10:14 PM UIN: 16262997
Jason Taylor Tops the field of Modified's with his Ford
Sue DuRoy April 27, 2002 Pike County Speedway
On the start of the pure stock feature, turn two first lap Chad Bush broke an axel and lost a wheel. On the second attempt at a start Ryan Whitehead broke an axel and lost a wheel also coming off two. Darrell Guy broke into the lead on the third start followed by Jimmy Stephens. These two put several car lengths in-between them and the rest of the field. With two laps remaining Stephens got under Guy and they ran down the front straightaway wheel to wheel. Guy got back in the lead and took the win followed by Stephens, Bill McDonald, Jeff Glass and Fred Hastings. Darrell Guy and Ryan Whitehead took the heat wins.
Jerry Cassano and Jason Taylor took the heat wins in Modified. Jason Taylor stepped off turn four into the lead in his Ford powered Modified and led every lap. Cassano tried to give chase but couldn't catch him. Taylor scored the win Cassano second, Chad Williams third, Billy Collett fourth and rounding out the top five was Jeff Martello.
On the start of the Novice feature Joel Brown and Jimmy Stephens the heat winners ran wheel to wheel for the lead. Brown got into the lead. Stephens looped it in four but got turned around and no yellow flew Upfront was a three wide battle for the lead between Joel Brown, David Petit, and Jesse Wallace. Brown regained the lead and went onto score the win. Jesse Wallace second, David Petit third, Ottis Robbins fourth and Greg Carpenter took fifth.
Tyrone Taylor and Garry Talbert shared the heat wins for street stock. On the start of the feature John Griffin took the lead followed by Garry Talbert. Brad McKey slipped by Talbert and took second away. Talbert spun in four. Jason Holland and Carl Bourgeois running wheel to wheel for third touched and Holland broke a wheel and lost an axel. Griffin went on to take the win followed by Brad McKey, Carl Bourgeois, Tyrone Taylor and Garry Talbert.
Herman Raymonds took the heat win for super stock. Charles Sibley ran second trying to catch Raymonds and broke on the front straightaway, Raymonds went on to score the win. Eddie Kerry finished second, Tim Thornton third, Johnny Breeland fourth and Joey Chaissen fifth.
Tony Lawson and Ricky Hankins took the heat wins for Late Models. Hankins blasted into the lead followed by Lawson and Davin Bates battling for second. Bates got into second then tried to run Hankins down but broke and coasted to the infield. Hankins took the win by 10 car lengths over Lawson. Kerry Vicknair finished third, And Rodney Sheridan after going to the rear worked his way through the field to finish fourth. Seavy Clemons took fifth.

Back to the Archives