Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Sexton Tames Tazewell Speedway (4-20-02) Tazewell, TN.
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 21, 2002 12:42 PM UIN: 16262997
Sexton Tames Tazewell Speedway (4-20-02) Tazewell, TN.

Super Late Models:
Scott Sexton from Pigeon Forge, TN. driving the MasterSbuilt, Custom Engines,
Cindy and Roger Kerr Performance Parts tamed the Taz with a time of 12.06.

Sexton jumped out front on the start, going down the backstretch David Crabtree
moved to the low side of Sexton.
Going into turn three Sexton took the led for good never looking back. Followed
by David Crabtree, Ricky Rogers, Stacy Boles, and Jason Trammell. The first
of two cautions flew on lap two when Eddie McMillan slowed on the backstretch.
The second caution flew on lap thirty-seven for Troy Eads when he stopped
on the front stretch with a flat tire. At the Checkered it was Scott Sexton
taking the win.

1. Scott Sexton
2. David Crabtree
3. Ricky Rogers
4. Stacy Boles
5. Jason Trammell
6. Troy Eads
7. Steve Rouse
8. Eddie McMillan
9. Jack Trammell

Limited Late Models:
Gary Willis from Harrogate, TN. Driving the Kawasaki of Middlesboro, Papa
John's Pizza, Willis Paving set fast time 13.09. Willis pulled out front
with Scott Gardner giving Willis a hard run for the led. When on lap seven
Gardner got into the backstretch cross over wall while running second to

On the restart it was still Willis out front followed by Chris Brooks, Leonard
Bray, Robert Perry, and Mike Hodges in fifth. Lap seven saw Hodges below
Perry, Hodges got by for fourth. Lap Eight David Gamble took over the fifth
place from Perry. Lap eleven Gamble took fourth place. Gamble still in the
hunt for the led got third when Leonard Bray got his tires up against the
front stretch wall. Lap twenty-two Hodges passed Bray for fourth place.
With the white flag in the air second place Chris Brooks spun in turn two.
Gary Willis went on to take his first win of 2002 at Tazewell Speedway.

1. Gary Willis
2. David Gamble
3. Mike Hodges
4. Leonard Bray
5. Robert Perry
6. Chris Brook
7. Scott Standifer
8. Jeremy Hall
9. Scott Gardner
10. Keith Chapman
11. Josh Chesney
12. Richie Bean
13. Rex Coffey

Modified Street:
Anthony Morgan kept the domination going in the Modified Street in taking
the win at Tazewell Speedway. Over fast qualifier Jason Long (14.29). Morgan
took the led followed by Long, Alan Holt, Tony Horton, Tim Hatfield, and
Dustin McMurray.

1. Anthony Morgan
2. Jason Long
3. Tony Horton
4. Alan Holt
5. Dustin McMurray
6. Tim Hatfield

Pure Street:
It was a "Young" Bobby Moore from Middlesboro, Ky. in Victory Lane after
racing at Tazewell Speedway off and on for the last twenty-five years taking
the win. Moore started from the front row and despite the hard charges from
Bo Hall, Marty Bain, Jesse Hoover and Gary Harville early in the race Moore
held on for the win.

Lap two Bain got second, lap four Bain took the led from Moore. Only to
have trouble on lap eleven giving the led back to Moore. Lap seven thru
nine Chuck Thode, Hoover and Harville were in a battle three wide for second
place. Lap fourteen Hoover and Thode were trying to get around Moore, but
couldn't get the job done. Lap eighteen Mike Bright took over second place
up from his fifteenth starting place but couldn't get by Moore for the win.
"The Young" Bobby Moore,
went on to take the Pure Street Feature win.

1. Bobby Moore
2. Mike Bright
3. Jesse Hoover
4. Jonathan Miracle
5. John Whitaker
6. Eddie Younce
7. Gary Dobbs
8. Chuck Phelps
9. Gary Harville
10. Ronnie Gray
11. Jack England
12. Chuck Thode
13. Marty Bain
14. Alan Deering
15. Bo Hall
16. Bobby Bean

Four Cly:
Jack Courtney took his first win of 2002 at Tazewell Speedway starting from
third place.

1. Jack Courtney
2. Brad Albright
3. Randy Helton
4. James Parrott
5. Tin Collins
6. Phillip Gerding
7. Brad Presley
8. John Parrott

Back to the Archives