Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Outlaws to Invade Lernerville Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 21, 2002 10:46 AM UIN: 16262997
Outlaws to Invade Lernerville Speedway
SARVER, PA (April 18) - Danny Wood can hardly wait for the Pennzoil World
of Outlaws Series' May 14th race at Lernerville Speedway.
The 2000 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year won the first "A" Feature of
his Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series career at the semi-banked, -mile oval
last September 25th. Two days later, he also won a main event at Port Royal
"This isn't normally my kind of track," Wood yelled to the crowd. "It was
pretty sticky out there, but my crew put a great set-up on the car tonight. I
was just kind of hanging on for the ride. This Avenger car was perfect, the
Wesmar motor did a good job, and what can you say about those Hoosier tires?"
Wood is driving Lonny Parsons' #6 Casey's General Stores Maxim this
season. With one top-10 finish in 12 "A" Features, Wood ranks 12th in the
point standings.
Wood will be among the drivers to beat when the Pennzoil World of Outlaws
Series returns to the Lernerville Speedway for the 54th time. There will be
plenty of competition waiting for him, however, as eight drivers have
combined to win the first 12 "A" Features.
Mark Kinser, a six-time winner at Lernerville Speedway, drove the #5M
Mopar Maxim to victory in successive "A" Features at Houston Raceway Park and
Pike County Speedway in late March to take the points lead. He was the only
driver to finish in the top five in the first eight events.
Steve Kinser, winner of 12 "A" Features at Lernerville, has driven his
#11 Quaker State Maxim to victory in two "A" Features this season, including
a sweep of the inaugural Hollywood Hills event. "The King of the Outlaws" is
the first driver to record 10 top-five finishes and ranks second in the point
standings, 21 points out of the lead.
Danny Lasoski has driven Stewart's #20 J.D. Byrider Eagle to victory in
three main events this season. "The Dude" is seven points behind Steve Kinser
in the point standings.
Craig Dollansky, the 2000 World of Outlaws Gumout Series champion, won
his first "A" Feature of the season at Eldora Speedway April 13th. "The Crowd
Pleaser" has recorded 10 top-10 finishes, including six in the top-five, and
ranks fourth in the standings.
Joey Saldana is driving his #17 Eagle Raceway/HEM Saw Eagle this year
after driving Dennis Roth's #83 Beef Packers Eagle most of last season. The
1996 Rookie of the Year won the Spring Nationals at Devil's Bowl Speedway
March 16th.
Tim Shaffer is the new driver of the #83 Beef
Packers Eagle after driving the #11H Vivarin Maxim for 3 1/2 years. The 1999
Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year award winner has finished in the top 10
eight times, including two runner-up runs.
Brad Furr, who finished second in the 2001 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the
Year race, won the Third Annual Southern Bleacher Classic at Texas Motor
Speedway. He has driven his #2 Sanmina/SCI Eagle into the top 10 in seven "A"
Features so far.
Stevie Smith left his own car to drive the #11H Vivarin Maxim this year.
The 1990 Rookie of the Year
has raced into the top 10 in eight of the 12 "A" Features this season,
including two in the top five.
Donny Schatz has driven the #15 Parker Stores J&J into the top 10 in
eight of 12 main events this season, including a fourth-place run at Perris
Auto Speedway. The 1997 Rookie of the Year ranked second in feature victories
last season, winning six main events and four preliminaries.
Randy Hannagan, the 1995 Rookie of the Year, has shown no ill effects
from the severe leg injury that caused him to miss two months last season. He
ranks 10th in the point standings after 12 events.
Jac Haudenschild is back with the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series after
bouncing from car to car last season. "The Wild Child" has drove Guy
Forbrook's #5 Wirtgen America Maxim to victory at I-55 Raceway March 30th.
Johnny Herrera is the new driver of the #2W Heintz Brothers Maxim owned
by Billy Wilburn, crew chief for NASCAR Winston Cup racer Rusty Wallace.
After missing the first two races, Herrera won the preliminary Feature on
opening night of the Silver State Shootout at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.
Brian Paulus set quick-time on opening night of the Silver State
Shootout. He has the Verdelli Farms team in 14h place while racing in six
Tyler Walker has driven the #35 C&W Motorsports sprinter into 16th place
in the point standings despite missing six events. He has raced into the top
five in three "A" Features.
Daryn Pittman, the defending World of Outlaws Gumout Series champion,
suffered a back injury when he crashed during time trials at Hollywood Hills
Speedway March 9th. He expects be fully recovered by
the end of April, however.
On May 14th, racing will begin at 8:00 with time trials slated for 7:15.
Gate will open at 4:00.

High-banked, 1/2-mile oval
Office phone: (724) 353-1511
Track phone: (724) 353-1350
Take SR 28 north of I-76 to exit 17,
then go 4.6 miles north on SR 356

One-lap record: Mark Kinser, 12.413, September 26, 2000
Previous "A" Feature winners: 2001 - Mark Kinser on July 24, Danny Wood
on September 25; 2000 - Sammy Swindell on May 16, Sammy Swindell on July 25,
Stevie Smith on September 26; 1999 - Steve Kinser on May 25, Mark Kinser on
July 27; 1998 - Fred Rahmer on May 19, Mark Kinser on July 28; 1997 - Sammy
Swindell on May 20, Mark Kinser on July 29; 1996 - Mark Kinser on May 21,
Mark Kinser on July 30; 1995 - Steve Kinser on May 23, Stevie Smith on August
1; 1994 - Steve Kinser on August 2; 1993 - Kenny Jacobs on May 25, Jeff
Swindell on August 3, Stevie Smith on September 30; 1992 - Sammy Swindell on
May 20, Sammy Swindell on July 28, Steve Kinser on September 30; 1991 - Jeff
Swindell on May 22, Bobby Davis, Jr., on July 31, Sammy Swindell on October
14; 1990 - Sammy Swindell on May 23, Steve Kinser on August 1, Bobby Davis,
Jr., on October 8; 1989 - Dave Blaney on May 24, Tim Green on July 31, Dave
Blaney on October 11; 1988 - Dave Blaney on May 25, Sammy Swindell on July
27; 1987 - Steve Kinser on May 20, Steve Kinser on July 29; 1986 - Doug
Wolfgang on May 21, Steve Kinser on July 30; 1985 - Steve Kinser on May 22,
Sammy Swindell on July 31; 1984 - Sammy Swindell on June 8, Brad Doty on July
31; Sammy Swindell on October 9; 1983 - Sammy Swindell on June 10, Sammy
Swindell on June 11, Steve Kinser on August 2, Bobby Davis, Jr., on August 3;
1982 - Steve Kinser on May 26, Rick Ferkel on October 12; 1981 - Steve Kinser
on June 4, Sammy Swindell on September 1; 1980 - Doug Wolfgang on May 14,
Rick Ferkel on July 16; 1979 - Steve Kinser on August 29

Back to the Archives