Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 21, 2002 10:45 AM UIN: 16262997
Media Contact: Judy Gower - 724-853-7223 /

IMPERIAL, PA - For the second straight Saturday, Ed Ferree of Saxonburg flew to the QPI Tools Late Model feature win at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. Weirton, WV's Robert Freshour inherited the Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Model victory after apparent winner Tony Musolino failed to meet the post race weight requirement. Just like Ferree, Larry Kugel, of Calcutta OH, rolled to his second E-Modified win in as many weeks. Snaring career first checkered flags were Hopewell's Craig Kamicker in the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and Tony Capo of Carnegie in the Amateur Stocks.

Plenty of rain early in the day made for another fast, tacky surface that took its toll on many cars in the QPI Tools Late Model 25 lap feature. John Flinner found things going his way early when he darted from fifth to first on the first lap. Bobby Bertges and Alex Ferree took up the chase of Flinner as eleventh starting Jim Zarin, and twelfth starting Ed Ferree, worked their way into contention. Zarin was all the way to second on lap four with Ed Ferree third. Following a lap eight caution, both Zarin and Ed Ferree got by Flinner after the restart and provided some thrilling racing. Ferree took the lead on lap eleven, and Zarin brought out the caution one lap later when he lost an oil line. When the green flag waved again, Flinner retook the lead from Ferree only to see Ferree return the favor the next lap. Once back in front, Ferree had no problems in collecting his 30th career Late Model win at PPMS. Flinner had to drop from the event on lap twenty when suspension problems sent him to the wall between turns three and four. Mike Johnson, who started twentieth, rallied for second and was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Rodney Phillips, Al Atallah and Scott Peltz completed the top five. Six through ten were: Brian Laraway, Sammy Stile, Steve Baker, Dave Wade and Rody Exposito. Laraway, Ed Ferree and Bertges won the heat races.

Jon Hodgkiss paced the first four laps in the Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Model feature. Tonly Musolino passed Hodgkiss for the top spot on lap five, before mechanical woes would send Hodgkiss to the pits. Musolino pulled away to take the checkered flag, but was later disqualified when he came up light at the scales during post race inspection. Apparent second place finisher, Robert Freshour, who made weight was declared the winner. Last week's winner, Pete Loria, overcame many obstacles to finish second, Danny Rich was third, Mike Morgan fourth, and Gary Cellone was fifth. Six through ten were: Tony Sinicrope, Tom Duratz, Jesse Burroughs, Ron Williams and Bryan Jenks. Loria and Tom Schirnhofer won the preliminaries. Freshour was also the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Starting eleventh in the short field, Larry Kugel blasted from last to first in four laps enroute to his 66th E-Mod win at Dirt's Monster Half Mile. For the second straight week Rich Stiffler was second. Junior Nolan, Chuck Kennedy, and Russ Matejka completed the top five. Six through ten were: Bruce Dreistadt, Brian Taft, Ralph Hysong Jr., Wayne Tessean and Kari Petrosky. Kugel was also the Monarch Oil Hard Charger and won the heat race.

Doug Foster led the Isiminger's Penzoil Pure Stock feature for the first five circuits. Then Frankie Schneider took command. Finally on lap ten, Craig Kamicker passed Schneider and was never headed in getting his first win. Schneider, Foster, AJ Poljak, and John Cain were second through fifth respectively. Rounding out the top ten were: Darryl Robison, Joe Anthony, Shawn Bryan, Mike McKee and Kenny Isiminger. Heat race wins went to Foster and Kamicker. Robison, who won last week, was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Tony Capo claimed the Amateur Stock victory over Ian Tomei, Joshua Langer, Greg McManus and Bill Robertson. Butch Fraser, Mike Palmer, Bob Schwartzmiller, Bobby Siemon and Gabe Hahka were sixth through tenth respectively. Davey Lee and Robertson captured the heat races. McManus was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

This Saturday, April 27th, the QPI Tools Late Models will run Twin 20 lap features. The Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Models, E-Modifieds, Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and Amateur Stocks will also be in action. Gates open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30 pm. For more information, call 724-853-RACE, or visit our web site at


QPI TOOLS LATE MODELS - Heat Race Winners: Brian Laraway, Ed Ferree, Bobby Bertges
Feature (25 Laps): 1) Ed Ferree, 2) Mike Johnson, 3) Rod Phillips, 4) Al Atallah, 5) Scott Peltz, 6) Brian Laraway, 7) Sam Stile, 8) Steve Baker, 9) Dave Wade, 10) Rody Exposito, 11) Mark Moats, 12) John Flinner, 13) Jim Zarin, 14) Alex Ferree, 15) Bobby Bertges, 16) Ben Miley, 17) Gary Swiger, 18) Mike Cecere, 19) Ken Schaltenbrand, 20) Pat Weldon, 21) Nick Jones, 22) Lou Bradich (DNS) 23) Lynn Geisler (DNS), 24) Jeff Haefke (DNS)

ADVANCE AUTO PARTS LIMITED LATE MODELS - Heat Race Winners: Pete Loria, Tom Schirnhofer
Feature (20 Laps): 1) Bob Freshour, 2) Pete Loria, 3) Danny Rich, 4) Mike Morgan, 5) Gary Cellone, 6) Tony Sinicrope, 7) Tom Duratz, 8) Jesse Burroughs, 9) Ron Williams, 10) Bryan Jenks, 11) Tom Schirnhofer, 12) Jon Hodgkiss, 13) Jim Stephans, 14) Kirk Young, 15) Bobby Castelveter, 16) Neal Isiminger, 17) Rich Apolito (DNS), 18) Tony Musolino (DQ-light at scales)

E-MODS - Heat Race Winner: Larry Kugel
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Larry Kugel, 2) Rich Stiffler, 3) Jr. Nolan, 4) Chuck Kennedy, 5) Russ Matejka, 6) Bruce Dreistadt, 7) Brian Taft, 8) Ralph Hysong, 9) Wayne Tessean, 10) Kari Petrosky, 11) Scott Gunn

ISIMINGER'S PENNZOIL PURE STOCKS - Heat Race Winners: Doug Foster, Craig Kamicker
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Craig Kamicker, 2) Frankie Schneider, 3) Doug Foster, 4) AJ Poljak, 5) John Cain, 6) Darryl Robison, 7) Joe Anthony, 8) Shawn Bryan, 9) Mike McKee, 10) Kenny Isiminger, 11) Stacie White, 12) Brian Scheller, 13) Joe Hackimer, 14) Bob Betz (DNS), 15) Gary Rodgers (DNS) 16) Larry Marks (DNS)

AMATEUR STOCKS - Heat Race Winners: Davy Lee, Bill Robertson
Feature (12 Laps): 1) Tony Capo, 2) Ian Tomei, 3) Josh Langer, 4) Greg McManus, 5) Bill Robertson, 6) Aaron Fraser, 7) Mike Palmer, 8) Bob Schwartzmiller, 9) Bob Siemon, 10) Gabe Hahka, 11) Eric Molyneaux, 12) Kenny Bratt, 13) Joel Johns, 14) Randy Sprouse, 15) A. Fraser, 16) Davy Lee, 17) Butch Levandosky, 18) Rocky Kugel, 19) Ken Puglisi (DNS) 20) Glenn Knopp (DNS) 21) Skeets Levandosky

Back to the Archives