Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway Results (TN)
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 21, 2002 10:43 AM UIN: 16262997
Subject: Race Results from Saturday, April 20, 2002

Byron Michael of Florence, Alabama set quick time with a 13.110
clocking then proceeded to lead all 25 laps in route to victory over a
stellar field of Late Models. Lewisburg's David Gentry worked his way
past Jimmy Nowlin and last weeks runner-up Mark Fields to garner the
Place position while Lawrenceburg's Fields held on to grab the Show
spot. Corinth, Mississippi's Danny Christian finished fourth holding off
Shelbyville's Jimmy Nowlin.
Late Model
1) Byron Michael
2) David Gentry
3) Mark Fields
4) Danny Christian
5) Jimmy Nowlin
6) Billy Harris
7) Mike Hines
8) Mark Sartain
9) Bo Judge
10) Jason Gregg

Duck River fans are used to seeing a banzai charge involving David
Gentry and they saw another one Saturday night but this time it was
Gentry being the stalked instead of the stalker. David won the heat race
then seemed to be headed for a relatively easy feature win when a late
race caution bunched up the leaders. On the final restart it was
Pulaski's Ken McAfee who drove up under Gentry and raced the five time
open wheel winner side by side the final two circuits. McAfee actually
nosed out front in turn four of the final lap but would be come up a
fenders (figuratively speaking that is, since the Open Wheels have no
front fenders!) length short of victory at the line. Defending class
champion Bob Jarrett was third with Mark Haddon finishing fourth ahead
of Tommy Davis.
Open Wheel
1) David Gentry
2) Ken McAfee
3) Bob Jarrett
4) Mark Haddon
5) Tommy Davis
6) John Schetrompf
*Only racers that made the call for the feature event.

Rick Curren has come up short on at least two occasions this season
but the Fayetteville Charger would rectify that problem by winning his
heat race then proceed to drive away from the field to win by 2/3 of a
lap over two time winner Anthony Seibers in the two barrel Late Model
division. Dwayne Waid, Scott Cook and defending Super Stock class
champion Larry Landers were third through fifth. Seibers was the other
heat winner.
2-BBL Late Model
1) Rick Curren
2) Anthony Seibers
3) Dwayne Waid
4) Scott Cook
5) Larry Landers
6) John David Todd
7) Charlie Cates
8) Ray Bush
9) Bo Owens
10) Eric Bearden
The Super Stock division at Duck River is never void of action and
controversy and Saturday night was no exception as first Jay George and
James Freeman battled for the lead with several incidents of contact
being made before a late race effort by heat winner and pole sitter,
Donald "Duck" Davis saw Davis rally from dropping as far back as fourth
to taking the top spot from George with 4 laps remaining. Lee Roy Norris
was sent to the rear early on but put on the drive of the night coming
from fifteenth to nab second in the waning laps of the event. June Bug
Pomeroy challenged the leaders all race and grabbed third ahead of
George who held on for a fourth place finish just in front of Ken
Keiser. Davis and Freeman were the heat race winners.
Super Stock
1) Donald Davis
2) Lee Roy Norris
3) June Bug Pomeroy
4) Jay George
5) Ken Keiser
6) Tyler Landers
7) B.J. Smotherman
8) James Freeman
9) Marty Anderson
10) Chris Ruth
All things must come to an end and Tom Russell put to rest the streak
of four different winners in four weeks in the Outlaw Pony division.
Russell became the first two time winner by out dueling Columbia's Jimmy
Dale in a race long battle that was undecided until the checkered flag
was unfurled. Allen Rogers was third with Anthony Powers and Dion Gordon
in fourth and fifth. Russell and Dale were the heat race winners.
Outlaw Pony
1) Tom Russell
2) Jimmy Dale
3) Allen Rogers
4) Anthony Powers
5) Dion Gordon
6) Deidre Peach
7) Justin Taylor
8) Jason Coggins
9) Travis Lester
10) Tom Wilson
Pure Pony and "Chumbley" have become nearly synonymous terms at Duck
River and this week was no different, or was it? Yes and no! While
Michael Chumbley has dominated the Pure Pony class the last two seasons
with 22 wins in 32 starts it was Michael's father Doug Chumbley who
would show the youngsters the quick way around on this night. Doug
wrestled the lead from heat winner and early leader David Wallace then
held off heat winner Billy Davidson and son Michael to grab his first
win in over two seasons. Jimmy Calahan was fourth just ahead of Wallace.

Pure Pony
1) Doug Chumbley
2) Billy Davidson
3) Michael Chumbley
4) Jimmy Calahan
5) David Wallace
6) Andy Rogers
7) Eddie Hartley
8) Jeff Maxwell
9) Roy Newsom
10) Shane Hooper
In Rookie Pony it was Scott Kolinski who looked anything but a rookie
making an impressive run from his third starting position in the feature
to top former winner Tommy White. Justin Maxwell was third as Carl White
won his heat race.
"Rookie Pony"
1) Scott Kolinski
2) Tommy White
3) Justin Maxwell

Races continue each Saturday night through September with gates opening
at 4:00 PM, drivers meeting at 6:30 PM, Hot laps and time trials plus
races to immediately follow. Grandstand admission is $8 for adults and
Pit Side admission is $20.

Dennis Bowling
4441 Lynchburg Road
Winchester, Tennessee 37398
(931)767-0047 e-mail: (home) or (work)

Back to the Archives