Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Butch David Takes First win as SUPR Sprinter
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted March 16, 2002 10:16 AM UIN: 16262997
Butch David Takes First win as SUPR Sprinter
Sue DuRoy Baton Rouge Raceway March 15, 2002
Don Bolton and Robert Ringo shared the heat wins for street stock. Bolton blasted into the lead on the start followed by Ringo and Todd Rogers. 4 laps into the race Rogers broke and brought out the yellow. On the restart it was Bolton and Ringo. Randy Jamison broke on the front straightaway bringing out another yellow. After the restart in turn one Ringo took over the lead, but in turn four he broke and brought another yellow out. Don Bolton went on to take the win followed by John Griffin, Gene Brown, Jason Wilks, and Vicknair.
Mike Carter took the heat and feature for pure stock. Carter led every lap of the feature and scored the win followed by Timothy Moren, Melvin Buecker and Tracy Talbert.
Chad Williams start the 18 car field of Modified's off turn four. Jerry Cassano from the high side took the lead. Williams Ran second. Cassano led all 20 laps and took the win followed by Williams, Roy Schbelin, Shane Hebert and Scott Holt rounded out the top five. Timberwolf hardcharger went to Danny Oberwortman. Heat wins went to Cassano, Schbelin, and Williams.
The new SUPR Sprinters made their first appearance at Baton Rouge Raceway. Mike Herrington took the heat win. On the start of the feature Butch David blasted into the lead. Michael Herrington gave chase but could only watch David get further away. David took the win followed by Herrington, Herman Carrier, Cary Framer and Wendell Nangoon.
Randy Cook and Kevin Watts took top honors for the heats in the late models. On the start of the feature pole sitter Randy Cook spun and caused a restart. On the restart it was Kevin Watts leading the field followed by Eric Courville and David Ashley. Turn two Ashley got on the high side of Courville and took over second then in turn four up high again took the lead form Watts. After that Ashley set sail and put half the track between him and Watts. Chris Wall started in the rear and worked his way to third then had his hands full with second place Watts. On the last lap Wall went high and took over second passing Watts on the high side. Ashley took the win, Wall second, Watts third, Courville fourth and Kerry Vicknair fifth.
Mini stock heat winners were Clyde Kimble, Dewayne Everett, and Mike Tyler. Elvis Turbville, and DeWayne Everett battled it out for the lead early on in the mini stock feature. Then Everett fell off the pace and drifted back through the field. Scotty Covington borrowed his old car after his new car broke in the heat. Covington came up through the field like a bolt of lightning took over the lead and scored the win. Calvin Tyler took second followed by Mike Tyler, Henry Schlindwein, and Larry Clayton.

Back to the Archives