Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted February 25, 2002 01:58 AM UIN: 16262997

HAGERSTOWN, MD -Jamie Mills of Milford, DE made a late race pass of Tim
McCreadie to win the 35-lap modified feature and John Mason of Millersburg,
OH led all the way for the win in the ITSI late model feature before a large
opening day crowd at the Hagerstown Speedway Sunday afternoon. Fifty-two late
models and 34 modifieds filled the infield competition area as the Hagerstown
Speedway began its 55th season. Mills and Mason each earned $2,000 and Mills
received a preferred starting spot for the Eckert 300 at Super Dirt Week in
Syracuse NY in October.

"We just took our time there in the beginning, didn't race too hard and
when he started to get lose there at the end we began to race with him," said
Mills after his first career win at Hagerstown. "It was fantastic to win a
race like this. Coming here we knew we had the potential to win, all we had
to do was to put the right set-up on the car. The guys did a great job."

Jamie Mills started fifth in the modified feature which was hampered in
the beginning by four cautions before the race was able to get underway with
Tim McCreadie setting the early pace from the outside pole. McCreadie quickly
opened a comfortable lead over Brian Weaver and Bud Christman as Mills worked
his way into third by the fourth lap. A lap later following a caution, Mills
cleared Weaver to take over second and began to track down McCreadie. Mills
kept the pressure on the leader and when McCreadie drifted high in the second
turn on the 27th lap, Mills went underneath to take the lead down the
backstretch. Once in front Mills was able to pull away as AJ Romano made an
inside move on McCreadie for second on lap 31. Romano was unable to catch the
leader as Mills picked up the win by 10 car lengths.

Romano finished second, but was disqualified when he came up five pounds
light advancing the rest of the field up a notch. McCreadie was second with
Weaver, 11th starting Doug Hoffman and Kevin Hirthler rounding out the top
five. Jeff Strunk, Brett Hearn, Shawn Reimert were next with Kenny Brightbill
coming from 19th for ninth and MeMe DeSantis finishing out the top ten after
starting 21st. Heat winners were Weaver, McCreadie and Struck. Brightbill won
the consolation.

"The car was really good today," said Mason, who scored his sixth career
win at Hagerstown. "It's a brand new car and it just worked great. Staring up
front helped, all you have to do is stay there and try to keep the car
smooth. The track rubbered early which probably worked in our favor. We just
tried to make a nice smooth race out of it"

While the modifieds started heads up, the first six were inverted for the
late model feature putting John Mason on the pole. Mason outgunned Kenny
Pettyjohn at the drop of the green to take the lead going into turn one.
Mason set the pace as Pettyjohn, Charlie Schaffer, Marvin Winters and Andy
Anderson followed. Pettyjohn stayed within striking distance as Mason opened
a five car length lead by the 17th lap. Following a caution on lap 20,
Pettyjohn stayed with the leader and on lap 29, tried to stick his nose
underneath of Mason in the first turn, but backed off losing a couple car
lengths when Mason closed the hole. Pettyjohn came back and closed in on
Mason on the final lap, but was unable to get around the leader as Mason
picked up the win by one car length. Following Mason and Pettyjohn were
Schaffer, Winters and Gary Stuhler. Eleventh starting Rick Eckert was sixth
with 13th starting Doug Burkholder seventh. Dan Stone was next as 18th
starting Scott Haus placed ninth and Jim Bernheisel rounded out the top ten
after starting 21st. Heat winners were Stone, Schaffer in his new Rick Jones
ride, Winters and Anderson. Bernheisel and Devin Friese won the consolations.

Next Sunday, Hagerstown will officially open its 55th season with the
Grand Opening for the ITSI late models, Hoosier Tires Mid-Atlantic late model
sportsman and the Ernie's Salvage Yard Pure Stocks. Race time is 1:30 P.M.
General admission is only $9.00

35-LAP MODIFIED SYRACUSE QUALIFIER: (34 Cars) Race Leaders: McCreadie (1-27)
Mills (28-35).
1. Jamie Mills; 2. Tim McCreadie; 3. Brian Weaver; 4. Doug Hoffman; 5. Kevin
Hirthler; 6. Jeff Strunk; 7. Brett Hearn; 8. Shawn Reimert; 9. Kenny
Brightbill; 10. MeMe DeSantis; 11. Jared Schultz; 12. Ryan Watt; 13. Rick
Shaffer; 14. Greg Mullins; 15. Doug Rose; 16. Jimmy Reppert; 17. Duane
Howard; 18. Josh Skarzenski; 19. Jimmy Horton; 20. Rick Laubach; 21. Mike
Colsten; 22. Craig VonDohren; 23. Bud Christman; DQ: A.J. Romano. DNQ: Jim
Weller; Richard Brown Jr.; Gary Simpson; Del Rougeux; Jim Weller Jr.; Richard
Scagliotta; Mark Frankhouse; Larry McVay; Ritchie Pratt Jr.; Ray Swinehart.

35-LAP LATE MODEL FEATURE: (52 Cars) Race Leaders: Mason (1-35). 1. John
Mason; 2. Kenny Pettyjohn; 3. Charlie Schaffer; 4. Marvin Winters; 5. Gary
Stuhler; 6. Rick Eckert; 7. Doug Burkholder; 8. Dan Stone; 9. Scott Haus; 10.
Jim Bernheisel; 11. Rodney Franklin; 12. Keith Barbara; 13. Mike Hardy; 14.
James Adkins; 15. Tim Wilson; 16. Greg Robertson; 17. Les Hare; 18. Bo
Feathers; 19. Andy Anderson; 20. Devin Friese; 21. Frankie Plessinger; 22.
Matt Urban; 23. Ernie Davis; 24. Luke Hoffner; 25. Wesley Bonebrake; 26. Paul
Crowl; 27. Tim Booth; 28. Mike Lupfer. DNQ: Brent Smith; Tony Raneri; Alan
Sagi; Bobby Stokes; Doug Eck; Bill Karp; Sean Cosgrove; Billy Wamper; Larry
Bear; Dan Swartzlander; Donnie Farlling; Jason Covert; Dave Reed; Buck
Tomblin; Drew Kotelesi; Butch Champion; Tom Decker Jr.; Rick Workman; Andy
Holmes; Paul Carnell; Jerry Fifield; Pete Weaver; Roy Deese Jr.; Jamie

Back to the Archives