Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Roszell and Peoples Take TST Twin Wins!
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3369
posted September 25, 2001 08:15 AM UIN: 16262997
Roszell and Peoples Take TST Twin Wins!

Talladega, Alabama-A night of fierce competition was held as the running of
the 21st Annual Alabama Dirt Track Jamboree delivered drama, excitement, and
great racing action. Two Track Championships were on the line with the Super
Late Model and Sportsman class still in doubt as the evening's action began.
Danny Peoples would ultimately claim the TST Super Late Model Track
Championship as he and Chris Mullinax ended the season tied with 340 points
but Peoples won the tie breaker by virtue of having the most wins. Jeff
Johns of Oxford won the Sportsman title by a mere 2 points over Kevin

Action would get kicked off for the Super Late Model Twin 20 with Chris
Mullinax setting fast time in the Kilpatrick Super Late Models. The first
feature would see Tim Roszell and Terry Smith make their way to the head of
the 24-car field and run side by side lap after lap until the resurgent
Roszell began to pull away in the late stages of the event. The Anniston
driver has become a force once again behind the wheel of his GRT SMS Engines
powered Monte Carlo. Chris Mullinax battled back for second place in lapped
traffic and Terry Smith crossed the line third. Danny Peoples came home
fourth with Ronnie Norton rounding out the top five. Roszell would draw for
an inversion of eight for the second main event putting Earl Smith and Greg
Skinner on the front row of the final 20 lapper.

The second 20 lap main event would see Earl Smith jump to the early lead.
Greg Skinner would take the point away from Earl Smith only to relinquish it
to Terry Smith who was making his move on the bottom of the racy oval. The
man on the move was Danny Peoples. His mission was clear, win the race or
lose the track championship. The Dominator lived up to his nickname and took
the lead in the very late stages of the 20-lap event from Terry Smith and
claimed his second consecutive TST Track Championship to add to his many
Championship crowns. Terry Smith was second with Ronnie Norton coming in
third. Chris Mullinax was fourth and Tim Roszell ended up in fifth place in
the highly competitive event.

The Sportsman Championship event was claimed by Odenville's Johnny Peoples
as he beat a 24-car field to take home the $1,500 victory. Leeds' Richard
Ogle was second with Jason Hiett completing the top three. Doug Stewart and
RD Smith completed the top five and sixth place finisher Jeff Johns of
Oxfors won the 2001 Track Championship.

The IMCA Modified win went to Shelby's Jeff Harry in his biggest career win
worth $1,200. Petie Poe was the runner up and Carl Hickman rounded out the
top three. Danny Cosby was fourth and Jamie Gowers finished fifth along with
being crowned 2001 Track Champion. The IMCA Stock Car win went to Margaret's
Charlie Chapman. Jeremy Hurst was second in the feature and earned the 2001
TST Track Championship with Eric Layfield in third followed by Adam Cummings
and Johnny Ford.

The Pony Stock winner was Randy Martin with 2001 TST Track Champion Alan
Glaze in second. Gadsden's Chris Noah finished third with Dean Martin and
Justin Winters completing the top five. The Bomber winner was 2001 Track
Champion Robby Goodman with Cliff Walker and Wade Limbaugh rounding out the
top three. Jerry Grier and Kelly Stroud completed the top five.

TST will sit idle until the roar of engines return on October 19th and 20th
as the Penzoil World of Outlaws come into town a part of the Winston Cup
weekend activities. The world famous series featuring drivers such Steve
Kinser, Danny Lasoski, Mark Kinser, Dale Blaney, and Sammy Swindell will lay
a all out assault on the 3/10' mile oval accompanied by a Championship event
each night for the Kilpatrick Chevrolet Super Late Models. For upcoming
event information please call 256-831-1413.

Back to the Archives