Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Jeff Walters wins the Challenger Pure Stock Super Challenge
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3359
posted September 23, 2001 12:18 PM UIN: 16262997
Jeff Walters wins the Challenger Pure Stock Super Challenge

Indiana, PA (September 22) - Jeff Walters from Evans City, PA was the winner of the Pure Stock Super Challenge on Saturday night at the Challenger Raceway. The-51 car field including 23 visiting drivers making their first Challenger starts. But despite the outside competition it was Walters, the 2001 Stewart Bus Lines Pure Stock point champion, earning the victory. In the companion Strictly Stock feature, Tom Taylor from Homer City drove to victory for the third time in 2001.

The 40-lap Pure Stock Super Challenge started with Chris Schneider and Jeff Walters on the front row of the starting grid. Walters used the outside groove at the start to nose Schneider to the line as lap 1 was scored, before the yellow flag waved for the first time. Walters still showed the way after a lap 5 restart, as the next yellow would show on lap 11. An extended period of green flag racing followed, as Schneider moved up to challenge Walters for the lead. Bruce Walker and Mike Laughard were battling for third as the halfway mark passed. Schneider worked a nose inside of Walters on a few occasions, but Walters still showed the way. A lap 24 restart found the lead battle resuming, but Walters started to inch away before another caution period on lap 33. Lap 37 would be eventful, as third running Walker was involved in an incident forcing a late yellow. On the restart, Laughard made a bid on Schneider that resulted in contact, and they would be involved in what was the final restart of the race. Walters would control the three-lap run to the finish to score the Super Challenge victory. From starting position 13, Jeff Buccella advanced to finish second. Third went to Tom Truxell, with fourth going to Gary Miller, Jr. Paul Schreckengost was fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Mike Miller, Joe Kelley, Darrell Bossard, Schneider, and Tom Snyder, Jr.

In the Urso Racing Supply Time Trials, Jeff Buccella turned in the fastest time with a lap of 18.200. The qualifying heat race winners were Mike Laughard, Bruce Walker, Tom Snyder, Jr., Nick Reges, Chris Schneider, and Jeff Walters. The winner of the Nick Chevrolet Dash was Chris Schneider. Mike Miller and Bobby Heim were the Last Chance Race winners. Darrell Bossard earned the Hard Charger Award, moving from 23rd starting position to finish eighth. Tommy Dembowski was awarded the Hard Luck Award from Simon Racing Supply, after a spin off of the backstretch in the feature found him ending up on his roof.

Tom Taylor was the winner in the 15-lap feature for the Strictly Stocks. Cliff Abbott led the first lap before Taylor made the pass on lap 2. After starting seventh, John Mazey was on the charge up to second by lap 4. Mazey closed in on Taylor during the non stop event, as he was on his bumper on lap 10. With the leaders encountering race traffic on lap 11, Mazey made a bid to the outside as the leaders went side-by-side. Mazey would be the leader on lap 13, but Taylor nosed back ahead at the white flag. Taylor worked the inside a little bit better on the final lap as he went on to win with Mazey a close second. Tim Laughard was third ahead of Abbott and Crev Warr. North East Locators Strictly Stock track champion Mark Marian was the heat winner, but exited the feature with body damage.

In School Bus racing action, Bill Hebenthal took the feature as Denny Walker won the heat. Amy Ball won the Powder Puff Bus Race.

The Challenger Raceway season will conclude with Fall Fest VII. Challenger's annual Fall Fest includes three days of racing. On Friday night, October 12, the Fall Fest kickoff will see the Mid-Atlantic Championship Series Late Models visiting for the running of the "Challenge of the Champions Classic." The 35-lap main event will pay $4,000 to the winner. The gates will open at 5:00, with racing starting at 7:30. Fall Fest activities will take place on Saturday and Sunday, October 13 and 14, with the gates opening at noon, and racing at 3:00. Divisions included in Fall Fest VII are the MACS Late Models, the York Triathlon Series Modifieds, the Big-Block Modifieds, the Pure Stocks, the Strictly Stocks, and the TUSA Dwarf Cars. The Saturday program will see heat races run for all divisions, as well as the One-on-One event for the York Modifieds. There will also be an ox and pig roast for three hours following the racing activity, including musical entertainment. Sunday's racing will see Last Chance Races and Feature events for all classes. Capping the weekend will be the finale for the MACS Late Models, as the main event will run a distance of 75 laps, with the winner earning $15,000, and all starters earning at least $1,000.

Challenger Raceway is located 6.4 miles southwest of US 422 on PA 286, then one mile north on McIntyre Road. For more information, please call 724-726-5494 for the office, or 724-726-9808 for the track. For the most complete source of Challenger Raceway information, visit the track's web site at

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Upcoming events:

Friday, October 12 - Mid-Atlantic Championship Series Late Models, "Challenge of the Champions Classic," 35 laps for $4,000 to win.

Saturday, October 13 - Fall Fest VII. Heat races for MACS Late Models, York Modifieds, V8 Big Block Modifieds, Pure Stocks, Strictly Stocks, TUSA Dwarfs, plus the York Modified One-on-One.

Sunday, October 14 - Fall Fest VII. Last Chance Races and Features for MACS Late Models, York Modifieds, V8 Big Block Modifieds, Pure Stocks, Strictly Stocks, TUSA Dwarfs.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Challenger Raceway results for Saturday, September 22, 2001.

Pure Stocks - Car Count - 51.
Urso Racing Supply Fastest Qualifier - Jeff Buccella, 18.200.
Heat winners - Mike Laughard, Bruce Walker, Tom Snyder, Jr., Nick Reges, Chris Schneider, Jeff Walters.
Nick Chevrolet Dash winner - Chris Schneider.
B-Main winners - Mike Miller, Bobby Heim.
Feature - 1)Jeff Walters. 2)Jeff Buccella. 3)Tom Truxell. 4)Gary Miller, Jr. 5)Paul Schreckengost. 6)Mike Miller. 7)Joe Kelley. 8)Darrell Bossard. 9)Chris Schneider. 10)Tom Snyder, Jr. 11)Mike Hilla, Jr. 12)Rob Shook. 13)Doug Foster. 14)Andy Buckley. 15)Bruce Walker. 16)Mike Laughard. 17)Rob Kosecki. 18)Bobby Heim. 19)Bobby Whitling. 20)Nick Reges. 21)Don Rodgers. 22)Dwight Boice. 23)Tommy Dembowski. 24)Jim Laughard.
Did not qualify - Fred Pfeifer, Phil Leddon, Chuck Cook, Herm Bertolini, Joe Yakich, John Radvansky, Dave Spangler, John Oaks, Butch Lambert, Matt Rubright, Rick Burris, Pat Hanley, Jim Davis, Kevin Haas, Rod Laskey, Mike Bollinger, Pat Gorton, Dan Pfluger, Robert Marks, Bob Sloss, Sid Haas, Bob Rosman, John Fama, Pat Weldon, Eddie Hugill, Terry Kroner, Eric Baun.

Strictly Stocks - Car Count - 8.
Heat winner - Mark Marian.
Feature - 1)Tom Taylor. 2)John Mazey. 3)Tim Laughard. 4)Cliff Abbott. 5)Crev Warr. 6)Joe Starcher. 7)John Hebenthal. 8)Mark Marian.

Back to the Archives