Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Hoffman Wins The War And The Battle At New Egypt
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3352
posted September 22, 2001 11:24 PM UIN: 16262997
Hoffman Wins The War And The Battle At New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (September 22) - Keith Hoffman did exactly what he had to do
Saturday night at New Egypt Speedway. The Whitehall, PA, driver scored a
convincing victory on TPC Cingular Wireless Night; and with double points on
the line, the win vaulted Hoffman to the 2001 Modified championship title,
worth $10,000.

"We had a good car; what a good race," said Hoffman, who was a perennial
second to two-time champ Billy Pauch in the points chase going into the
night. "When that yellow came out, and they said it was for the 18 car and
the 1 car (Pauch), I thought, Holy cow! We might have a chance to win this

Tim Tanner Jr. was a man on a mission for the majority of the 30-lap
Modified fray, controlling the point with a vengeance, sometimes by as much
as a straightaway. Hoffman, meanwhile, was marching to the front, showing
fifth by lap 11, then third by halfway, with Pauch hot on his heels. The
three ran under a blanket the last 10, until Hoffman barely edged Tanner to
take the lead on lap 27. Then all **** broke loose: coming down for the
two-to-go sign, Tanner looped it in turn 4, and Pauch went with him. The
setback cost Pauch a third Modified title. And Hoffman went on to easily ink
his fourth of the year, and win the $10G title over Pauch by 28 points.
Kenny Brightbill battled back from a first-lap accident to finish second,
with Mark Bitner third, Steve Moss fourth and Bob Drayton III fifth.

It was the Godown Show in the Sportsman ranks once again, with Frenchtown's
Brian Godown winning the race, his fourth of the year, and brother Ryan
Godown capitalizing on division point leader Matt Papiez's miserable night
to claim the 2001 Sportsman crown. Chuck Flesch turned in a fine second
place finish on his sponsor's night, with Ryan Godown third, Rich Scagliotta
fourth and Jack Swain fifth.

Manville, NJ's Rich Page II booked out in the Street Stock 15-lapper,
recording his third win of the season over Carol Whitehouse, George Quinlan,
Mario Page and Ralph Gargiulo. Following a heat-race crash, division hotshot
Al Cheney III limped through the night but still clinched the Street Stock
championship title.

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by Tanner Jr. (Mods, 17.794), Brian Godown (Sportsman,
18.976) and Rich Page II (Street Stock, 20.074).

Sponsor TPC Wireless of Mercerville, NJ, awarded prepaid cellular phones to
all three race winners, and to three lucky fans. Cingular Wireless T-shirts
and sling bags were popular fan giveaways. A Chinese auction raised $2,085
for the Going Fast for Gary Fund. The money collected will be used to offset
the medical bills of young Gary Bozowski, who is battling leukemia.

Next Saturday at New Egypt, Opdyke Lumber sponsors Crew's Cruise Night, with
special Crew Chief Challenge races in addition to regular distance events
for big-block Modifieds, Sportsman and Street Stocks. Adult admission is
$14, children 7-12 are $5, and kids 6 and under are free. For more
information, call the speedway at (609) 758-1900.

1st Heat: 1.Hager 2.Drayton 3.Carberry 4.Pauch 5.Hendershot 6.Bitner
2nd Heat: 1.VanGorder 2.Hoffman 3.Koczon 4.Cox 5.Martz 6.Dmuchowski
3rd Heat: 1.Tanner Jr.(New Record: 2:56.172) 2.Moss 3.Archer 4.Brightbill
5.Bohn 6.McCaughey
B Main: 1.McVay 2.Weaver 3.Infante 4.Worthington 5.Keimig 6.McAleer (Fan
Prov: Rehl)
Feature (30 laps):
1.Keith Hoffman 2.Kenny Brightbill 3.Mark Bitner 4.Steve Moss 5.Bob Drayton
6.Phil Cox 7.Eddie Bohn 8.Sam Martz 9.Mike Hendershot 10.Ron John Koczon
11.Tom Hager 12.Larry McVay 13.Billy Pauch 14.Korey Keimig 15.Tim Tanner Jr.
16.Fred Dmuchowski 17.Bob Worthington 18.Rocco Infante 19.Tom Carberry
20.Brian Weaver 21.Scott VanGorder 22.Dave Rehl 23.Darren McCaughey 24.Mike
McAleer 25.Larry Archer
DNQ: Gary Velenger, Doug Ostwald.

1st Heat: 1.J.Papiez 2.Stravinsky 3.D.Kline 4.Toth 5.Snook
2nd Heat: 1.Wasson 2.M.Papiez 3.Scherer 4.Woolston 5.Pfister
3rd Heat: 1.Reutter Jr. 2.Pearson 3.Scagliotta 4.R.Godown 5.Geiges
4th Heat: 1.Hoffman 2.Tinnes Jr. 3.Flesch 4.B.Godown 5.Swain
1st B Main: 1.Reid 2.Buffalino 3.Ploski III 4.Ely
2nd B Main: 1.Lyons 2.Raisner 3.Schuster 4.Taylor Jr.
Feature (20 Laps):
1.Brian Godown 2.Chuck Flesch 3.Ryan Godown 4.Rich Scagliotta 5.Jack Swain
6.Brian Pearson 7.Joey Tinnes Jr. 8.Lee Taylor Jr. 9.Donnie Kline 10.Mike
Toth 11.Stan Ploski 12.Brien Ely 13.Rick Raisner 14.Rob Schuster 15.Dave
Woolston 16.John Snook 17.Dominick Buffalino 18.Joe Papiez 19.Dave Hoffman
20.Scott Reid 21.Chris Wasson 22.Mike Reutter Jr. 23.Gene Stravinsky 24.Jeff
Geiges 25.Jim Scherer 26.Rob Pfister 27.Matt Papiez 28.Mike Lyons
DNQ: Bryan Coffey, George Idell Jr., Scott Butler, Matt Kaminskas, Rich
McTighe, Keith Brightbill, Dave Gorbatuk, Mike Fattori, Christiaan Van
Schuyler, John Bush, Steve Ramsey, Jimmy Heolterling, Andy Weeks, Larry

1st Heat: 1.Whitehouse 2.Berardi 3.Nixon 4.Conaway 5.Bauer 6.Gargiulo
2nd Heat: 1.R.Page (New Record: 2:42.587) 2.Bauma 3.B.Gerber 4.Jm.Hewitt
5.Jn.Hewitt 6.Miscoski
3rd Heat: 1.M.Page 2.Fleming 3.Carpenter 4.Quinlan 5.Apgar 6.Cheney III
B Main: 1.Roveda 2.Holloway 3.Butler 4.Garey 5.Collier 6.Barnstead
Feature (15 laps):
1.Rich Page II 2.Carol Whitehouse 3.George Quinlan 4.Mario Page 5.Ralph
Gargiulo 6.Brian Nixon 7.Billy Bauer 8.Pat Conaway 9.Jeff Carpenter 10.Tim
Apgar 11.Bill Bauma 12.Al Cheney III 13.Bill Gerber 14.Gary Butler 15.Joe
Garey 16.John Hewitt 17.Jim Hewitt 18.Bill Miscoski 19.Tom Holloway 20.Kory
Fleming 21.Weldon Collier 22.Evan Berardi 23.Jake Roveda 24.Ron Barnstead
DNQ: Shawn Byrne, Jason Seredy, Marvin Saxton, Chris Pidgeon, Todd Dige,
Blair Guker III, Art Avery.

Back to the Archives