Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3351
posted September 22, 2001 03:44 PM UIN: 16262997
For immediate release September 21, 2001

STRONGSTOWN, PA - David Korlewitz of Seward won his first pure stock feature
of the season Friday night at Dog Hollow Speedway.
Repeat winners included: John Britsky of Indiana in the #1 Cochran Late
Models, Shawn "Sheets" McGarvey of Coalport in the Hugill Sanitation Limited
Late Models; Mike Stine of Smithmill in the small block/six cylinder
modifiers Mike Laughard of Strongstown in the street stock.
The late models came trackside with Rick Strong and Sam Stile on the front
row. When the green flag fell, Strong was leading the field out of turn two
when the skies opened up, halting the action. After a rain-delay, the late
models returned and Strong again led the field out of two, but heading into
turns three and four he and Stile went high, with John Britsky coming from
third to lead the first lap.
Britsky began pulling away from the field with Scott Rhodes coming from 5th
to second prior to the half way mark, but Britsky was too tough to tame and
took his fourth win of the season. The top ten were: Britsky, Rhodes,
Strong, Jerry Redden, Duane Stiner, Tony Raneri, Stiles, Rick Lias, Steve
Everhart and Paul Michny. Preliminary wins went to Stiner and Britsky.
Dan Lee led the limited late models for the first lap, holding off the big
man, Shawn McGarvey. McGarvey went to the inside of Lee on the backstretch
and took the lead. Once he had it, he never relinquished it. Late in the
event, Jerry Timchak was in second and tried to reel in the #8P but he ran
out of time and power, The finish was McGarvey, Timchak, Doug Hardy, Mike
Shoemaker, Duane Bash, Dwayne Taneyhill, Lee, Tom Shaffer, Jeff Weakland and
Yvette Hahn. Timchak, Hardy and McGarvey collected heat wins.
Like Britsky in the late models, Chetter Johnson went from third to the lead
on the first lap of the modified feature. He set the pace the entire 15
laps, holding Mike Stine off the whole time, as Stine continuously tried the
inside of Johnson, finally working the final turn Stine went under Johnson
again and took the lead and the win as off turn four. Stines margin of
victory was a fourth a car length. Johnson was second with Lou Gentile, Bob
Garvey, Brian Albright, Lenny LeBold, Red Fordyce, Jimmy Holden, Marvin
Williams and Mark Frankhouser. Heat wins went to Garvey and Johnson.
Jim Boyer led the opening three laps of the street stock feature fighting
off the efforts of Jim Kirsch before they made contact on the backstretch
and both flew off the track. Boyer continued and Bill Pluta took the lead.
He set the pace until lap 11 when Mike Laughard took the top spot. Once out
front he was forced to hold off his brother, Jim Laughard for the win. The
top ten were: Mike Laughard, Jim Laughard, Eddie Hugill, Jamey Swank, Shawn
Hooks, Ron Lute, Ron Wallace, Scott Good, Tom Williams and Sis Haas.
Qualifying wins went to Jim Boyer and Mike Laughard.
The race was red flagged on the 12th lap after Jim Laughard and Bill Lyons
tangled in turn two. Lyons spun in front of the field and collected Jim
Boyer, who had no where to go. Boyer was uninjured. Lyons was assisted from
his car and placed in the ambulance via stretcher. He was complaining of
neck pain. Veterans Memorial Ambulance transported the driver to Indiana
Hospital for a check-up.
Dave Korlewitz led the first lap of the pure stock feature, before Bill
Sigafoes took the lead. Sigafoes led the race for two laps before Korlewitz
re-gained the top spot. He held off John Mazey to the checkered flag. The
top ten were: Korlewitz, Mazey, George Scanlin, Sigafoes, Ron Hanna, Valerie
Johnson, Tim Laughard, Matt Hugill, Charlie Boring and Scott Wagner. Heat
wins went to Bernie Whetstone, Scanlin and Korlewitz.
DOG TRACKS: 103 cars filled the pits including: 21 late models, 23 limited
late models, 15 modifieds, 23 street stocks and 22 pure stocks.This Friday
marks the season finale. The Thunder Dog Point Champions will be
announced.The race is a "run what you Brung" show, the first one ever at the
Hollow.Gates will open at 5 in the pits 6 in the stands and racing will get
underway at 7:30 sharp.Coming up on Sunday Sept. 30 there will be a racers
swap meet. The cost is $10 to set up a table and $1 for admission.For more
information call the speedway at 814-948-6812 or check out the web site at

Back to the Archives