Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Boland and Breazeale Take Columbus Twin Wins!
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3320
posted September 18, 2001 02:00 AM UIN: 16262997
Boland and Breazeale Take Columbus Twin Wins!

Columbus, MS-Weekly racing activities continued at Columbus Speedway but the
night was began with a rousing tribute and show of patriotism to the our
country. Also as part of fan appreciation night there was a driver autograph
session plus a full house program for the kids with a coin toss, bike races,
a visit from the Columbus Speedway mascot "King Kong," fireworks, plus Twin
20 lap main events for the Super Late Models; all with no increase in
admission. The large crowd on hand was greeted to with a spectacular racing
surface, 130 racecars in the overflowing pits, with beautiful weather
capping off a great night of fellowship and entertainment.

Action would get underway with a talented field of 37 Pepsi Super Late
Models on hand taking to the track for Pole Qualifying.
The fast qualifier of the night was Pontotoc's Steve Russell tripping the
lights with a 14.04-second lap on the Johnny Stokes prepared high banked
3/10's mile clay oval. Russell would draw a zero thus providing a straight
up start. Two B-Mains were also required due to the large car count to
complete the 24 car-starting field after the top eighteen qualifiers were
locked in to the first main event.

The first main event sponsored by Roy's Kitchen would see a battle for the
lead with Steve Russell and Mike Boland but 5 time Mississippi State
Champion Mike Boland of Cuba, Alabama would take his famed number 222 to the
point and go on to claim his first Columbus Speedway win of the year.
Toomsuba's Lucky Keeton was second followed by David Breazeale, Weir's Tombo
Callahan, and Kosciusko's Jeff White. The remainder of the top ten included
Danny Christian of Corinth, former James King Champion James Cline of
Oxford, Alabama, Rick Rickman, Northport's Ronny Hollingsworth, and the
legendary "Mississippi Flyer" Jerry Inmon.

The second 20 lap main event presented by Advance Auto Parts began with the
top six finishers being inverted after the first feature. It would take only
a few laps but it was apparent that the man to beat would be none other than
the "Raging Rebel" David Breazeale of Four Corner's. Breazeale would take
the lead early in the event, as attrition would cause the first feature
winner Mike Boland to retire with fuel pump problems. While Breazeale
cruised to the win, Jeff White picked dup his best finish of the season with
a strong second place run and Tombo Callahan came home third with another
solid top five finish. Steve Russell would charge all the way from 22nd
starting position like a man on a mission only to run out of laps in the
20-lap sprint. Danny Christian would earn fifth place honors. The remainder
of the top ten consisted of Columbus driver Rick Rickman, James Cline,
defending track champion Mark Stokes, Kosciusko's Anthony Rushing, and Jerry
Inmon in tenth.

The Street Stock victory went to Terry King of Columbus as he claimed his
second win in a row. Jonathon Edwards finished a strong second with Danny
Gable in third, with Harold Trimm and Tim White completing the top five
finishers in the 22-car field.

The Mini Stock class has a large field with 19 drivers taking to the high
banks for their main event. Toby Fikes claimed the as he battled with last
week's winner Mike Minor for the lead during much of the latter stages.
Buddy Glover came home third with James Inmon and Scott Gable rounding out
the top five. Steve Glasgow earned the Pro 4 win with David Goins, Tommy
Brasher, Jimmy Beachler, and James Blakney completing the top five

Once again it was the same old story in the Mississippi Modified class as
Pickensville driver Jason Hollis won again. Brian Rickman was second with
Brian Hollis in third. Northport's Tim Parker finished fourth and
Sulligent's Matt Price was fifth.

Frank Cox continued his role in the Pro Street division as it was a night
with loose wheels flying everywhere in the potent heavy metal division. Paul
Robinson made the haul from Tupelo worthwhile with a second place run and
Columbus' Ed Atkins was third. Bobby Nichols and Jason Brock rounded out the
top five. The wild and crazy Cruiser feature win went to the team of Tom
Briggs and Charles Rigdon. The team of Steve Chaffin and Jughead Smith were
runners up and the tandem of TK King and Boomer Brown were third. The family
team of Thad and Jep Cole were fourth and Eric Roach and Corey Davis
finished fifth.

Columbus Speedway will host Church Night at the Races next Saturday night
the 22nd. Fans will be admitted to the grandstands for only $5.00 when they
present their church bulletin or program. There will be a Full Racing
Program on tap with racing action getting underway at 7:45pm. The next
special event will be on Saturday night the 29th as the Mississippi State
Championship Series will be in town for the make up date for the postponed
James Nickoles Memorial. The Magnolia State 100 will be staged on October
5th and 6th, as it will be the biggest race ever held in Columbus Speedway
history. Columbus Speedway will also play host to practice sessions on the
next two Friday nights from 7pm till 10pm with free grandstand admission.
Upcoming event information is available by calling 662-241-5004 or by
visiting the Columbus Speedway Internet home

Back to the Archives