Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   The "Dominator" Back in TST Victory Lane
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3319
posted September 18, 2001 01:59 AM UIN: 16262997
The "Dominator" Back in TST Victory Lane

Talladega, AL-The racing activities continued as the 2001 season winds down
at TST, but action and competition remains fast and furious. Action got
kicked off with Pole Qualifying and Don Farmer earned pole honors with a
lightning fast lap tripping the lights with a 13.724-second lap. The Quick
Six winner was Tim Roszell who would later succumb to mechanical
difficulties during the main event. The main event of the evening was the
30-lap feature for the Kilpatrick Chevrolet Super Late Models. The winner
was a driver that has frequented TST Victory Lane on quite a few occasions
but not a of late with the utter parity that has reigned at TST during the
2001 racing calendar. The "Dominator" Danny Peoples returned to the Winner's
Circle as the Margaret resident was breaking in a new TNT chassis racecar.
Peoples would endure a position swapping main event to take the lead from
Spingville's Don Farmer with a turn two pass for the top spot. Farmer would
finish second in the 22-car field with current point's leader Chris Mullinax
claiming another top five finish. Jimmy Hiett was fourth with Georgia's
Dusty Chitwood finishing fifth in one of his first attempts on the
high-banked red clay oval. Completing the top ten finishers were Tim Busha,
Ted Lackey, Skip Freeman, Terry Smith, and Carlton Freeman.

The Sportsman class would have the other Peoples in Victory Lane as it was a
sweep for the Peoples bother with Odenville's Johnny Peoples taking the win.
Jason Hiett was second with David Helms crossing the stripe in third.
Oxford's Jeff Johns was fourth with current point's leader Kevin Tallant of
Gadsden rounding out the top five finishers.

The Gulf Coast Region IMCA Modified win went to Eddie Brannon of Anniston.
Brannon was followed by Odenville's Gary Stepp with "Mean Gene Mince of
Piedmont filling out the podium. Danny Cosby was fourth with Tuscaloosa's
David Newton in fifth. The IMCA Stock Car win went to Margaret's Charlie
Chapman with Ronald Williamson second and James Layfield in third. Tommy
Shelnutt was fourth and Jeremy Hurst was fifth.

The Pony division honors were earned by Alan Glaze who has had a fabulous
year with multiple wins. Top contender Joe Burtram was second and Brian
Burtram finished third. John Bearden and Tim Thorton completed the top five.
The Bomber class saw Robby Goodman take the win followed by Cliff Walker,
Michael Williams, Billy Atkinson, and Nick Gambrell in fifth. The Cruiser
win went to the team of Goble and Green wood with the team of McAvoy and
McAvoy in second and McCrelles and Eliot team completed the top three teams
to take the checkers.

TST will host the 21st Annual Alabama Dirt Track Jamboree next weekend.
Action will get kicked off on Friday night with Super Late Model practice
along with qualifying races for all local divisions and a Cruiser main
event. The action on Saturday night will be hot and heavy as the regular
season concludes with a night of Championship events. The headline event
will be Twin 20 lap features for the Kilpatrick Super Late Models plus
B-Mains and Championships in all classes. Racing is scheduled to get
underway at 8:00pm each night. Additional event information is available by
calling 256-831-1413.

Back to the Archives