Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3291
posted September 16, 2001 12:52 PM UIN: 16262997
For immediate release September 15, 2001

CLEARFIELD, PA - A special tribute was presented to those who lost their
lives in the attacks last Tuesday in Washington DC and Manhattan, New York
to get the program underway Saturday night at Hidden Valley Speedway.
The Kneppy's Fireworks Small Block Modified Special went to Mike Stine of
Smithmill. The Run what you brung wins went to: George Fultz of Beech Creek
in the Sids Subs Late Models, Denny Forney of Lock Haven in the 84 Lumber
Street Stocks, Joe Leigey of Mt. Zion in the four cylinders and Frank Little
of Woodland in the Northwest Bae Kennel Pure Stocks. Trophies were presented
to first and second place, compliments of Reed Brothers in Clearfield and
Beckwith Machinery of Clearfield.
The late model feature had George Fultz and Jim Yoder on the front row, and
at the green Fultz took off like a shot out of a cannon. Sporting a huge
sideboard wing Fultz led from green to checkered and never was threatened.
The battle was for second between Yoder, Glenn Ray Keith Crossley and Rusty
Whitmore. As Fultz was lapping up to and including the sixth place car, the
second place was a battle the who way, with the spot being taken down by
Yoder. The top five after Fultz's flight to first were Fultz, Yoder, Ray,
Whitmore and Crossley. Rick Lias, Cody Schultz, Jake Shady, Duane Stiner and
Greg Kunes completed the top ten. Fultz and Yoder won the heats.
The small block modifieds were going for $1,000 and had George Sankey and
Mike Stine on the front row. The pair were side-by-side into the first turn,
with Stine finally taking the lead exiting turn two. A fast moving Bill
Brewer made his way to second quickly and set his sights on the leader. A
caution on lap 13 Forced Brewer to the rear and gave Sankey second. He tried
to work past the leader but was unable to make a move in the lapped traffic
and Stine took his new machine to the winners circle for the first time.
Sankey held on to second, with Scott Smith third, Spencer Husted fourth and
Fay Lumadue fifth. Mike Butterworth, Brewer, Bob Garvey, Bobby Roos and Tom
Holden completed the top ten. Preliminary wins went to Sankey, Stine and
Dan Smeal and Denny Forney led the street stocks to the green with Forney
taking the lead on the backstretch. He led the event from start-to-finish
but Smeal was on his tail the entire race, trying the inside and outside,
but to no avail, as Forney wanted to claim his first career win at the
Valley. Smeal was second, with Doug Tibbens, Shawn Mogle and Rich Howell
completing the top five. Den Forney, Bim Hamer, Jamie Champman, Dave Humple
and John Weaver completed the top ten. Smeal and Forney split the heats.
Cecilia Olson and Chris Farrell led the four cylinders to the first turn
and it was Olson who led the first lap. She went high in turn two, giving
the lead to Joe Leigey who went on to win virtually un-contested. The run
down was Leigey, Levi Ardery, Chris Farrell, Chris Peterson, Olson, Dave
Farrell, Shawn Luzier, Mark Hummel and Ken Erskine. The heats were won by
Olson and Chris Farrell.
Harvey Wallbanger led the first few laps of the pure stock feature, before
Gary Little took control of the event. Once he had the lead, Little never
looked back. Frank Little struggled to hold on to second as 2-5 were under a
blanket. Gary took win over his dad Frank, Sheddy Graham III, Wallbanger,
Bernie Whetstone, JR Enigh, Bob Bowery, Leo Cleveland and John Hefferon.
Whetstone and Graham split the heats.
HVS PIT NOTES: 76 team filled the pits including 15 late models, 24 small
block modifieds, 18 street stocks, 9 four cylinders and 10 pure stocks.21
cars carried the American Flag during racing action.The four cylinder king
of the hill was won by Levi Ardery over Joe Leigey.The 2001 season has come
to a close. Watch the web site for details on 2002. The address is
The staff and management thank the fans and competitors for visiting during
the 2001 season.

Back to the Archives