Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3282
posted September 15, 2001 05:22 PM UIN: 16262997
For immediate release September 14, 2001

STRONGSTOWN, PA - Following a special tribute to the loved ones tragically
killed in New York and Washington Tuesday, four point champions were decided
Friday night at Dog Hollow Speedway.
Scott Rhodes of Somerset won his first ever #1 Cochran Late Model feature
Friday at Dog Hollow Speedway. Shawn "Sheets" McGarvey of Coalport won the
Hugill Sanitation Limited Late Model feature while Tom Truxell of Plum Boro
won the street stock main and it was John Mazey of Bolivar winning the pure
stock feature at the last minute.
The 2001 point champions are: Rodney Phillips in the late models, Shawn
McGarvey in the limited late models, Mike Laughard in the street stocks and
Bill Sigafoes in the pure stocks.
Rodney Phillips and Steve Everhart led the late models to the green with
Phillips taking the lead. Phillips set the pace early one until Everhart
went to the low side of the track and took the lead. Once out front Everhart
began to open a slight lead, then he encountered lapped traffic and was
reeled in by Phillips and now third place Rhodes. Working lap 14 Rhodes went
to the outside out of turn two and was leading when he came out of turn
four. The rest of the way it was all Rhodes, who picked up his first career
Dog Hollow win. Everhart, Phillips, George Fultz and Jerry Redden completed
the top five. John Britsky, Paul Michny, Rick Strong, Tony Raneri and Rick
Davis completed the top ten. Heat wins went to Michny and Fultz.
Jerry Timchak took the lead in the limited late model feature at the start
and lost it on lap five to Yvette Hahn. She held Shawn McGarvey back for
three laps, but on lap eight he took the lead and never relinquished it,
going to his 10th win of the season. Hahn, Dwayne Taneyhill, Jerry Lower and
Tom Shaffer completed the top five. Dan Lee, Dave Day, Dan Stormer, Bob
Kelly and Marc Whetstone rounded out the top ten. Qualifying wins went to
Taneyhill, Duane Bash and Heath Gaston.
Tom Truxell led Shawn Mogle into the first turn at the start of the street
stock feature as Chris Schneider was headed to the front. As Truxell and
Mogle battled for the lead Schneider closed in and took the lead from both
in a three wide fight for the lead. Schneider came out on top first with
Truxell second. On a restart Truxell went to the inside of Schneider and
regained the lead. Once out front, Schneider tried to go high to get the
lead but he got too high and let a few other get by. When the checkered flag
fell it was Truxell holding off Mogle and Jim Boyer at the stripe. The top
five were: Truxell, Mogle, Boyer, Dave Humple and Schneider. 6-10 were Leroy
Pershing, Mike Laughard, Jamie Barber, Craig Lobb and Tony Fama. The prelims
were won by Schneider, Humple and Truxell.
The pure stock feature saw John Mazey take the lead from Ron Hanna at the
start, with Hanna second and George Scanlin third. With the battle being
three wide most of the race, it was Mazey leading for four laps, then
Scanlin took the lead, and who tried to hold off Mazey and Hanna. Mazey took
the lead, by inches, over Scanlin. As the top three came off turn four it
was Scanlin, Hanna and Mazey three wide, with Mazey winning by a bumper at
the line. Scanlin just held on to second with Hanna third. Terry Nihart and
Valerie Johnson completed the top five. Bill Sigafoes, Charlie Boring,
Scott Wagner, Josh Jacoby and Matt Hugill completed the top ten. Heat wins
went to Nihart, Scanlin and Hanna. Jacoby won the consy.
DOG TRACKS: 95 teams filled the pits, including: 19 late models, 23 limited
late models, 27 street stocks and 26 pure stocks.19 cars had American Flags
waving in honor of the disaster in New York and Washington.This week is the
final Thunder Dog Challenge and the last vist for the six cylinder/Small
block modifieds.Gates open at 5 in the pits, 6 for spectators and racing is
at 7:30. More info is on the web site at

Back to the Archives