Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Friendship Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted September 10, 2001 01:58 AM UIN: 16262997
Friendship Speedway

Elkin, N.C. 28621

News Release

Story submitted by Jimmy Layell and Cynthia Allred

September 8, 2001

The 2001 season finale at Friendship Speedway in Elkin, NC offered fans another night of non-stop dirt track racing action "Friendship Style". Fans were on their feet and cheering throughout the evening’s events, which included a Semi-Modified 4, feature and twin Enduros.

The Semi-Modified 4 division hit the track for the last time this season with the same grit and determination this class has shown all year. Junior Welborn of Wilkesboro, NC in his Mary’s Restaurant, Hollar Racing Engines Mustang found himself back in victory lane with one of his strongest runs of the season. Jamie Holcomb strongly challenged Welborn the entire feature but it was not enough as he finished second. Steve Faw, another strong contender, finished third with Matthew Warden and Tim Wyatt finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

Kevin Gwyn of Mt Airy, NC in his Nissan Sentra made yet another strong showing as he took down the win in Enduro #1. This was Gwyn’s second Enduro win of the season in the same car. Baker Shew who finished second and Gwyn put on a front running battle with lead changes throughout the feature. Andy Mathis kept things interesting by posting a third place finish.

In the second Enduro race of the evening Aaron Hill of Union Grove, NC in his Chevrolet Nova found himself in victory lane after a wild finish. Jeff "BoDean" Shew

took second place honors with first time racer Jerry "Chocolate Dough-Boy" Cook capturing third.

The staff of Friendship Speedway wants to thank all our loyal race fans, drivers and crews for yet another great season of dirt track racing at its finest.

Top Finishers

Semi-Modified 4

Junior Welborn, Wilkesboro, NC

Jamie Holcomb, Hamptonville, NC

Steve Faw, Wilkesboro, NC

Matthew Warden, Yadkinville, NC

Tim Wyatt, Millers Creek, NC

Enduro #1

Kevin Gwyn, Mt Airy, NC

Baker Shew, Wilkesboro, NC

Andy Mathis, Wilkesboro, NC

Enduro #2

Aaron Hill, Union Grove, NC

Jeff Shew, Wilkesboro, NC

Jerry Cook, Thomasville, NC

Back to the Archives