Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Hoffman Hits For Third Of New Egypt Season
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted September 09, 2001 12:21 AM UIN: 16262997
Hoffman Hits For Third Of New Egypt Season

New Egypt, NJ (September 8) - Keith Hoffman of Whitehall, PA, made it count
when he had to on Saturday, clinching his third Modified checker of the year
and inching closer to a final shot at the $10,000 point title during Bally's
Fan Appreciation Night at New Egypt Speedway.

"My year just keeps getting better and better," said Hoffman, after locking
down win #3. "Every time I've been here, the car's been good. I just took my
time to get to the front."

Hoffman's Bashore Trucking #5 didn't show in the top three until the last
third of the 30-lap Modified feature. While Larry McVay and Brian Weaver
were swapping the lead in a tooth-and-nail fight, Hoffman carefully picked
his line. He dropped Weaver to third on a lap 19 restart; McVay was the next
to go, on lap 21, and it was all Hoffman right to the final flag. The
victory put Hoffman within 34 points of defending Mod champ Billy Pauch in
the lucrative division point chase. Kenny Brightbill finished second, with
Weaver third and Rick Grosso Jr. fourth. McVay crossed the line in fifth
position but was placed last after he failed to weigh in at the scales.

Brian Godown of Frenchtown, NJ, passed John Snook with four to go to score
his third of the year in the Sportsman 20-lapper. Snook, Doug Liedl, Chris
Wasson and division point leader Matt Papiez followed Godown across the

It went from high-fives to heartache for Cream Ridge, NJ's Jake Roveda in
the Street Stock fray. Roveda ran his new car to a convincing first-career
win in the 15-lap event, but was disqualified after he failed post-race
technical inspection. Runner-up Ralph Gargiulo was handed the win, his first
of the season. George Quinlan, Brian Nixon, Billy Bauer and Mario Page
completed the top five.

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by Hoffman (Mods, 17.778), Brian Godown (Sportsman, 18.980)
and Gargiulo (Street Stock, 20.349).

The rescheduled Ladies' Night program drew a whopping field of 53 women who
participated in four exciting Powder Puff events, sponsored by Burnett
Racing Engines of Belle Mead, NJ. Race winners were Marie McVay, Racheal
Jones, Dawn Marra and Nancy Leach, who all received trophies and cash prizes
courtesy of Burnett Racing Engines, and gift baskets from The Little Egg
Harbor Soap Co. All 53 entrants were presented framed, personalized
certificates, sponsored by Burnett.

The Powder Puff participants also raised $2,163 in a helmet drive to benefit
the Matheny School for Cerebral Palsied Children in Peapack, NJ.

Bally's Park Place Casino celebrated Fan Appreciation Night with tons of
gate giveaways for the crowd.

Next Saturday at New Egypt, "Mr. Bob's" of Southampton, NJ, sponsors the Ms.
New Egypt Speedway contest. On-track action features big-block Modifieds,
Sportsman and an extra-distance 20-lap event awarding double points for the
Street Stocks. Adult admission is $13, children 7-12 are $4, and kids 6 and
under are free. For more information, call the speedway at (609) 758-1900.

1st Heat: 1.Grosso 2.Hoffman 3.Archer 4.Tanner Jr. 5.Bohn 6.Bitner
2nd Heat: 1.Moss 2.Dmuchowski 3.McCaughey 4.Drayton 5.Koczon 6.Cox
3rd Heat: 1.McVay 2.Weaver 3.Brightbill 4.Worthington 5.Miloszar 6.Keimig
B-Main: 1.Velenger 2.Infante 3.Hager 4.Hendershot 5.Singley 6.Tranquilli
(Fan Prov: Hammond)
Feature (30 laps):
1.Keith Hoffman 2.Kenny Brightbill 3.Brian Weaver 4.Rick Grosso 5.Fred
Dmuchowski 6.Bob Worthington 7.Ron John Koczon 8.Mark Bitner 9.Steve Moss
10.Bob Drayton 11.Eddie Bohn 12.Korey Keimig 13.Tom Hager 14.Gary Velenger
15.Darren McCaughey 16.Kenny Hammond 17.Mike Hendershot 18.John Miloszar
Jr.19.Larry Archer 20.Mark Tranquilli 21.Tim Tanner Jr. 22.Phil Cox 23.Todd
Singley 24.Rocco Infante 25.Larry McVay
DNQ: Sam Martz, Doug Ostwald.

1st Heat: 1.Pearson 2.Ploski III 3.Scagliotta 4.Raisner 5.Swain
2nd Heat: 1.Snook 2.Liedl 3.Pfister 4.Meisner Jr. 5.Lyons
3rd Heat: 1.Reutter Jr. 2.B.Godown 3.Wasson 4.G.Hager 5.Buffalino
4th Heat: 1.Kline 2.Scherer 3.Woolston 4.B.Butler 5.M.Papiez
Feature (20 Laps): 1.Brian Godown 2.John Snook 3.Doug Liedl 4.Chris Wasson
5.Matt Papiez 6.Brian Pearson 7.Dave Woolston 8.Scott Butler 9.Dave Hoffman
10.Chuck Flesch 11.Gary Hager 12.Ryan Godown 13.Brien Ely 14.Stan Ploski III
15.Jim Scherer 16.Mike Toth 17.Rich Scagliotta 18.Rob Pfister 19.Gene
Stravinsky 20.Donnie Kline 21.Mike Reutter Jr. 22.Phil Meisner Jr. 23.Rick
Raisner 24.Mike Lyons 25.Dominick Buffalino 26.Jack Swain 27.Jeff Geiges
28.Tom Tomasko
DNQ: Mick Search, Christiaan Van Schuyler, Rich McTighe, Jimmy Hoelterling,
Joe Szwed, Bob Kaelin, Joe Papiez, Cody Hager, Dave Gorbatuk, Bernie Kelly,
Bryan Coffey, John Scheideler, Scott Reid, Pat McBride, Dave Wisniewski,
Rich Kuiken, Andy Weeks, **** Robbins, Bruce Leote, Mike Fattori, John
McClelland, Joey Tinnes Jr., Keith Foster, Rick Yard, George Idell Jr.,
George Gareis, Mike Mongiello III.

1st Heat: 1.Whitehouse 2.Bauma 3.Gargiulo 4.Collier 5.Melton 6.Bubeck
2nd Heat: 1.J.Roveda 2.Gerber 3.Jn. Hewitt 4.Berardi 5.Bauer 6.Quinlan
3rd Heat: 1.Butler 2.Nixon 3.Bifulco 4.Mongiello 5.Cheney III 6.R. Page
Feature (15 laps):1.Ralph Gargiulo 2.George Quinlan 3.Brian Nixon 4.Billy
Bauer 5.Mario Page 6.Bill Gerber 7.Gary Butler 8.Al Cheney III 9.Robert
Melton 10.Pat Freiberger 11.Larry Bubeck 12.Weldon Collier 13.Kory Fleming
14.Billy Bauma 15.Kevin Bifulco 16.Bill Miscoski 17.Jim Hewitt 18.Jon Hewitt
19.Rich Page 20.Evan Berardi 21.Steve Mongiello 22.Tim Apgar 23.Carol
Whitehouse 24.Pat Conaway, Jake Roveda (DQ).
DNQ: Jason Seredy, Tommy Lainhart, Rich Roveda Sr., John Scarpati Jr.,
Jeff Carpenter, Richie Byrne, George Idell Sr., Spider Ensinger, Tom

Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at

Back to the Archives