Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Kriess wins Sprints, Rhebergen gets THE 100 in York at Raceway 7
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted September 08, 2001 09:03 AM UIN: 16262997
Kriess wins Sprints, Rhebergen gets THE 100 in York at Raceway 7

Conneaut, OH (September 7) - Fan Appreciation Night ended the 2001 racing season on Friday night at Raceway 7. The Triathlon Racing Series visited with a doubleheader racing program, featuring the York Sprints and York Modifieds. The York Sprint event was won by Gary Kriess, Jr. from Butler, PA in the first sprint car event at Raceway 7 since 1994.

In the companion York Modified event, it was the First Annual running of "THE 100," presented by Applebee Motorsports. Brent Rhebergen from Clymer, NY would go into the history books as winning the longest and richest paying event in Triathlon Series history.

The 25-lap Triathlon Racing Series York Sprint event started with Ralph Spithaler and Skip Dougherty leading 24 starters to the green flag. Dougherty took command at the start, as quickly on the move was eighth starting Gary Kriess, Jr. Kriess moved to second by lap 3, and quickly set his sights on Dougherty. Making the move off of turn four, Kriess would be the new race leader on lap 5. With the green flag laps clicking by, Kriess increased his lead as Dougherty and Jamie Smith locked into a battle for second. They had swapped second before the only caution flag of the event appeared on lap 17. Back to green, Smith finally secured second for good as Kriess again blasted away from the field. Controlling the remaining distance, it would be Kriess becoming the fourth different York Series winner in as many events. York Series point leader Smith raced home a solid second. Jimmy Hawley was third, with Arnie Kent taking fourth. Dougherty faded to fifth at the finish. Jason Jacoby, Jeff Weaver, Rod George, Andy Priest, and Scott Bonnell rounded out the top ten.

The Applebee Motorsports sponsored 100-lap Triathlon Racing Series York Modified event had Brent Rhebergen and Bill Watson on the front row of the starting grid. Rhebergen immediately took command as the first yellow showed on the first lap. With yellow flag laps counting, the race resumed on lap 5 with Watson briefly posing a challenge. But Rhebergen would pull away from the field, as the battle would be for second between Watson and Jim Dandy, Jr. After swapping second a few times, Dandy would settle into the position as the drivers raced hard through the long distance affair. On a lap 43 restart, Dandy posed a stiff challenge, but Rhebergen would hold on through the planned stop on lap 50 to allow the race teams to refuel their cars.

As the race resumed, it would be trouble for Dandy as a bid for the lead would find him spinning, forcing him to the tail. As the race progressed further, Rhebergen would feel a challenge from Watson and Jeff Taylor, as Dandy would be back to fourth by lap 74. Rhebergen was still able to get away, as the battle for second would be an absolute war. Dandy, Taylor, and Watson were shuffling the deck every few laps. Dandy would be slowed by a soft tire in the closing laps, before Watson and Taylor would tangle with just two laps remaining. In the end, it would be Rhebergen leading the entire distance, winning the $1300 top prize plus $500 in lap leader money. Despite the soft tire, Dandy would race home in second. Turning in an exceptional run, Kevin Decker charged from starting position 21 to finish third. Carl McKinney advanced from 15th starting position to finish fourth. Fifth went to Raceway 7 E-Mod champion and York Series point leader Todd Roncaglione, who charged back up after being involved in a lap 89 incident. Jeff Rudrick drove a solid race to take sixth, as Chuck List, Watson, Rick Robinson, and Keith Bidwell completed the top ten.

In preliminary race action, York Sprint heat race winners were Ralph Spithaler, Jason Jacoby, and Jimmy Hawley, topping a 26-car field. With 45 York Modifieds on hand, heat race winners were Ron Roncaglione, Chuck List, Hugo Litwiler, Bill Watson, and Brent Rhebergen. Rhebergen also topped the dash, as B-Main winners were Mike Hess, Bob McCann.

This concludes the 2001 season at Raceway 7. Thank you to all of the fans, race teams, and sponsors for all of their support. The 2001 Raceway 7 Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, November 10 at St. Johns Social Hall in Girard, PA. For ticket information, please call the track office at 814-967-4230, or visit the track's web site at

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Raceway 7 results for Friday, September 7, 2001.

Triathlon Racing Series York Sprints - Car Count - 26.
Heat winners - Ralph Spithaler, Jason Jacoby, Jimmy Hawley.
Feature - 1)Gary Kriess, Jr. 2)Jamie Smith. 3)Jimmy Hawley. 4)Arnie Kent. 5)Skip Dougherty. 6)Jason Jacoby. 7)Jeff Weaver. 8)Rod George. 9)Andy Priest. 10)Scott Bonnell. 11)Jack Sodeman, Jr. 12)Ralph Spithaler. 13)Jarod Larson. 14)Mark Spence. 15)Deana Barbara. 16)Gary McCollum. 17)Gregg McCandless. 18)Brian Woodhall. 19)Brent Matus. 20)Gale Ruth, Sr. 21)Sheila Rankin. 22)Scott Priester. 23)Gary Rankin. 24)Jamie McKinney. Did not start, Bob Clark, Lenny Bullis.

Triathlon Racing Series York Modifieds - Car Count - 45.
Heat winners - Ron Roncaglione, Chuck List, Hugo Litwiler, Bill Watson, Brent Rhebergen.
Dash winner - Brent Rhebergen.
B-Main winners - Mike Hess, Bob McCann.
Feature - 1)Brent Rhebergen. 2)Jim Dandy, Jr. 3)Kevin Decker. 4)Carl McKinney. 5)Todd Roncaglione. 6)Jeff Rudrick. 7)Chuck List. 8)Bill Watson. 9)Rick Robinson. 10)Keith Bidwell. 11)John Andrew. 12)Mike Hess. 13)Jeff Sharp. 14)Jeff Taylor. 15)Fuzzy Stiffler. 16)Mike Potosky. 17)Arlan Coy. 18)Mike Samuelson. 19)Ron Roncaglione. 20)Jim Frontz. 21)Hugo Litwiler. 22)Jim Myers. 23)Fred Bratchie. 24)Bob McCann.
Did not qualify - Kari Petrosky, Mike Brabham, George Gravelle, Russ Dempsey, Dave Ferringer, Bruce Powell, Jeff Shank, Jim Abbott, Robert Bland, Ron Jaeger, Phil Blair, Jack Smith, Bob Diver, Bill Taylor, Dave Hess, Jr., John Kellogg, Steve Haefke, Pat Otteni, Junior Mechling, Craig Switzer, Jim Long.

Back to the Archives