Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted September 03, 2001 03:53 PM UIN: 16262997

Denny Eckrich closed out the 2001 racing season at the Dubuque Speedway by placing his NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model in victory lane for the fifth time.

Duane Coulson took the early lead in the 35 lap event after starting in the fourth spot, battling Mark Merfeld just prior to a lap three caution. Merfeld took over when racing resumed while Eckrich was threading his way through traffic from the eleventh starting position on the bottom of the racetrack. Four laps later, Eckrich had the lead, extending his advantage each of the remaining 27 laps. Gary Webb was able to dispose of Merfeld late in the race for the second position, securing his third straight Points Championship in the process. Matt Furman rebounded from a lap 22 pileup involving at least 8 cars to finish in the third spot, ahead of Darren Miller and Merfeld.

Jason Schueller dominated Modified action after taking the lead away from Mel Saffran on the fifth lap, cruising to his fourth win of the season. Ron Barker and Jed Hurst thrilled fans with a fierce battle for the runner up position, with Barker occupying the spot until five laps to go when Hurst slid underneath. Barker crossed under the checkers third ahead of Steve Wetter and Scott Nesteby. Drama played out all evening in the season long points battle, with Ryan Dolan leading Barker by only 6 points going into the Season Championships. Dolan thought his chances were over when he coasted in to the pits with mechanical trouble, his car unrepairable. Bob Dominacki came to Dolan's rescue by loaning him his car. Forced to start at the rear of the field due to switching cars, Dolan fought his way up to finish sixth. Sixth place was enough to tie Barker in points. The first tie-breaker is of no use as each driver finished the season with five victories. The second tie-breaker of second place finishes will be determined with the unofficial advantage going to Dolan.

Rick Brokus led every lap enroute to his third Pro Stock feature win of the season, beating Jeff Tharp, Brian Culbertson, Ty Kleiner and Rich Pica to the checkers. Tharp became the points champion, overtaking Dan Shelliam when his tire packed with mud, necessitating a pit stop late in the race and taking him out of position to clinch the championship. Duane Ahmann posted his fifth Hobby Stock feature win ahead of Jeff Reinert and Larry Benn. Jerry Merkes secured the points championship by finishing seventh. Lance Mish topped the Fun Cars, beating Kelly Welter and Brian Hubbard to the line. Chad Hallahan kept his slim points lead intact by finishing sixth and clinching the points championshjp.

Racing action at the Dubuque Speedway has concluded for the 2001 season as Simmons Promotions turns it's attention to the 24th Annual Yankee Dirt Track Classic at the Farley Speedway on September 12th to 15th and the 5th Annual Liberty 100 on the West Liberty Raceway on Spetember 21st and 22nd. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at

1. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
2. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
3. 51x Matt Furman Iowa City
4. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
5. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
6. 95 Ed Sanger Postville
7. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
8. 12n Terry Neal Ely
9. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
10. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
11. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
12. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
13. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
14. b27 Bob Silaggi Freeport IL
15. 3 Josh McGowan Vinton
16. 32c Chad Holliday Wilton
17. 1b Kevin Miller Freeport IL
18. 6 Mark Curwen Hazel Green WI
19. 87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL
20. 61r Jon Rogers Freeport IL
21. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
22. 9 Curt Hansen Dike
23. 1m Robbie Moss Iowa City
24. 51 Mel Abels Freeport IL

1. 3 Jason Schueller Dubuque
2. 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
3. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
4. 33w Steve Wetter Platteville WI
5. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
6. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
7. 14 Tim Nesteby Dubuque
8. 4 Jerry Miles Dubuque
9. 27 Mark Schulte Delhi
10. 18b Josh Brestrup Dubuque
11. 15 Sean Rupp Dubuque
12. 11 Mike Burbridge Delhi
13. 2** Jan Messer Manchester
14. 63 Scott Olson Preston
15. 93.7 Ken Kostenbader Freeport IL
16. 20 Cory Burmeister Glen Haven WI
17. 33 John Burbridge Delhi
18. 57 Bryan Naab
19. 1d Mel Saffran Dubuque
20. 01m Mitch Way
21. 9 Denny Ansel Dubuque
22. d1 Rich Smith Davenport
23. 76 Matt Mish Cassville
24. 99 Jason Leverington


5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf


1. 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
2. 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
3. 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
4. 20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
5. 91 Rich Pica Prairie Du Chein WI
6. 88 Duane Roth Dubuque
7. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
8. 71s Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
9. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
10. 13 Dennis Pergande Dubuque
11. 71 Bruce VanGordon Dubuque
12. 21 Dan Welp East Dubuque IL
13. 64 Mike Raisbeck Platteville WI
14. 75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI
15. 4 Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL
16. 23 Jim Amos Peosta
17. 31 Jeff Hayunga German Valley IL
18. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
19. 78 Bobby Goerdt Dubuque

1. 98 Duane Ahmann Epworth
2. 97 Jeff Reinert Farley
3. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
4. 38 TJ Leslein Durango
5. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi
6. 61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI
7. 8k Terry Merkes Farley
8. 30 Mark Massey Farley
9. 81 KC Ansel Dubuque
10. 52 Pat Coleman Dubuque
11. 59 Mike Hughes Galena IL
12. 72 Doug Yates Monticello
13. 20x Jarvis Eastlick Platteville WI
14. 11 Jason Brimeyer Dubuque
15. 33 Jim Turpin Shullsberg WI

1. 70 Lance Mish Cassville WI
2. 89 Kelly Welter Farley
3. 00 Brian Hubbard
4. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
5. 20 Mike Wild Dubuque
6. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
7. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
8. 55t Jamie Rice
9. 11 Ann Brown Dubuque
10. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
11. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
12. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque
13. 98 Terry Turpin Platteville WI

1 Bill Hallahan Dubuque

Back to the Archives