Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Ward hauls in Winged Sprint victory, King and Hopkins earn fourth win
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted September 03, 2001 10:23 AM UIN: 16262997
Ward hauls in Winged Sprint victory, King and Hopkins earn fourth win

Victory lane at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark is not a new place to Mike Ward it has just been a long time since he made a visit. The win was his seventh career trip to victory lane at the racepark.

Pure Street racer Billy Hopkins dominated the field scoring his fourth win on the year edging him closer to Cline Myers Jr. in the points battle. Greg King is batting 1000 on the year at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark scoring his fourth win in four tries. Open-Wheel Modified driver Chris Hall secured his third win on the year.

In the Winged Sprint feature event Andy Holden and Daron Clayton made up the front row after winning the first two heat races. On the start Clayton jumped out to the front with Ward and Robbie Standridge following behind. Disaster struck the pole sitter Holden, as he was involved in an accident dropping him from contention.

Clayton led the first eight laps with the veteran Ward closing in behind him. As Clayton completed lap nine and began to encounter heavy lap traffic the driver got together with Eddie Lynch sending both cars in a series of flips. Neither drivers were injured in the accident.

When the green flag waved was again Ward built up a healthy advantage and lead the final 16 circuits of the feature event.

Standridge held onto second at the checkered with Shawn King holding onto the third position with Todd Rowland and Lee Dunn rounding out the top-five.

Chris Hall benefited from a eighth lap incident involving the first and second place cars of Danny Sissom and John Barnett, which moved him from his third position to first in the Open-Wheel Modified feature event.

When the green fell Sissom, Hall and Barnett battled for the top-three positions with the spots changing hands after each lap. Hall looked to have one of the fastest cars but couldn’t find the line to move around the two cars. After the eighth lap accident between Sissom and Barnett, Hall showed just how strong he was.

On the restart Hall blew out to the front putting a five-car advantage on the second place car of Terry Johnson. Hall never looked back earning his third win on the year in a uncharacteristic feature, which saw only one caution flag.

Johnson maintained second at the checkers with Terry Baker bringing home a career best Open-Wheel Modified finish of third. Matt James scored another great run as the youngster finished the night fourth, picking up his season best finish at the racepark and holding off current points lead Joseph Geisler, who finished fifth.

Starting from the pole position in the Limited Late Model division, King quickly jumped out to the lead as the green flag waved. Rodney Pense moved into second following behind King with Billy Beard, Henry Nash and Terry James making up the top-five on the start.

The field would endure six caution flag throughout the 20-lap event. The cautions would not hamper King's determination to score his fourth win in a row at the racepark. At times King would put up to a straightaway advantage on the second place car of Pense.

When the checkered flag waved at the conclusion of 20 laps King nailed down the win with Pense earning second. Terry James moved around Billy Beard on the 18th lap when Beard spun in turns three and four. Defending race winner Charlie Savage moved up through the field to finish fourth and Junior Cornell passed Henry Nash on the 19th circuit to finish fifth.

After several weeks of rather dismal luck Billy Hopkins was finally able to put his c23 Pure Street ride in victory lane.

Claudie Cook hammered to the lead on the start of the race with Greg Casey in tow. Johnny Houart disposed of the two front-runners and jumped out to the advantage by the end of the first lap. The start was called off after a damaged mount of Dennis Shelby brought out the caution.

When the field took the green again it was once again Cook with Casey, Hopkins and Houart following.

Cook led up to the fourth circuit when Hopkins slid around him for the lead. Hopkins led the next 10 laps to earn his fourth win on the year. Cook held onto second for the final laps with Rex Berry crossing the line in third. Cline Myers Jr. and Patrick Naeger rounded out the top-five.

Berry was later disqualified after technical inspection handing Myer Jr. the second spot, moving Naeger to fourth and Jeff Long scored a top-five run.

Winged Sprints

Mike Ward (88) Memphis, Tenn.
Robbie Standridge (12x) Springfield, Ill.
Shawn King (9) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Todd Rowland (14r) Jackson, Mo.
Lee Dunn (66) East Prairie, Mo.
Jeff Davis (33) Pittsburgh, Ill.
Steve Zelch Jr. (z34) St. Louis, Mo.
Tyke Shubert (46) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Alex Shanks (1c) Marion, Ill.
Darrell Martin (5) Paducah, Ky.
Open-Wheel Modifieds

Chris Hall (66) Sikeston, Mo.
Terry Johnson (1j) Benton, Mo.
Terry Baker (10) Scott City, Mo.
Matt James (55) Jackson, Mo.
Joseph Geisler (85g) St. Mary, Mo.
John Barnett (5b) Sikeston, Mo.
Jonathon Hall (99) Bertrand, Mo.
Jeff Hall Jr. (69) Blodgett, Mo.
Bobby Barnes (24) Bernie, Mo.
Karl Adams (1ab) Perryville, Mo.
Pure Streets

Billy Hopkins (c23) Caruthersville, Mo.
Claudie Cook (3) Portagville, Mo.
Cline Myers Jr. (01) Scott City, Mo.
Patrick Naeger (155) Perryville, Mo.
Jeff Long (55) Sikeston, Mo.
David Shephard (51) Bernie, Mo.
Greg Casey (42) Sikeston, Mo.
Doug Neuhalfen (r38) Sikeston, Mo.
Deakon Bragg (22b) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Lenny Terrell (k5) Patton, Mo.
Limited Late Models

Greg King (1) Morehouse, Mo.
Rodney Pense (10) Fredericktown, Mo.
Terry James (19) Jackson, Mo.
Charlie Savage (13) Annapolis, Mo.
Junior Cornell (51) Broseley, Mo.
Henry Nash (99) Middlebrook, Mo.
Joe Meyer (11sr) Sikeston, Mo.
Bill Beard (35) Farmington, Mo.
Leo Kiefer (62) Perryville, Mo.
Gene Fowler (82) Hayti, Mo.

Back to the Archives