Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   We are the Cleveland Champions
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted September 02, 2001 03:46 AM UIN: 16262997
We are the Cleveland Champions

The points championship wrapped up this past Saturday night at Cleveland Speedway. Andy Dill of Georgetown TN picked up his second consecutive Track Championship piloting his # 39 "Suttles Trucking and Construction, Fine Homes, Port City Racing South" Big Orange Machine to three standings victories, plus one non-standings race win. Dill won the championship on the final night taking the points lead away from Randy Burrows by finishing fifth to Burrows' eighth. The two were seperated in the end by a tally of 10 points. Finishing third in the standings is David Smith with Dewayne Smith and Kent Hicks rounding out the top five positions. Also on Saturday night the Rookie of the Year title wrapped up as 16 year old Todd Morrow of Old Fort TN raced his
# T1 "Shannon Trucking, Hicks Rocket Chassis" sponsored racecar enough positions ahead of fellow rookie James Gamble. Morrow with his five top five finishes and Gamble finished sixth and seventh in the overall standings, ahead of race night winner Mike TInker, Lamar Scoggins and John Owenby.
Dill wasn't the only back to back champion crowned Saturday night. Justin Winters of Benton TN wrapped up the Pony Stock division title despite his DNF on the final points night. The familiar # J1 "Winters Affordable Homes, Champion Towing, Trueloves Auto Sales" won the title by a margin of 376 total points. Winters closest competitor came in the form of Wendall Ingram. Early season points leader Jimmy Brown finished third after a string of race week absences. This years Pony Stock Mid Season Champion Jason Spraker finished fourth just 8 points back from Brown and David Doss rounded out the top five in the standings. The rest of the division champions took feature race victories on the "Championship Finale" race night. Chris Powell of Cleveland secured his championship racing the # P9 "Hicks Specality Welding" sponsored racecar to victory lane. Glen Seaton III, Bobby Doss, Mark Cross and P.D. Doss rounded out the top five in the divisional standings. This years reciepant of the Novice Award for firsttimer Late Model type racer went to Dewayne Powell of Chattanooga TN as he raced to seventh in overall points ahead of potential novice racers Jody Campbell and Eric Wilson with three top five finishes. The "Workmeister" Doug Works of Cleveland TN rose to the top of the standings and kept the pressure applied for most of the season and capped things off with a victory racing his " Pullen's Used Cars Detail Shop, Jeff's Auto Transport, Auto Zone" racecar to victory lane. Richard Dixon (2000 Hobby Champion) finished second in points, James Nichols, Stephanie Yancy and Steve Boyd round out the top five in the standngs. And in the 12 Lap "Anything Goes" Street division 1999 Champion Donald Forgey of Cleveland TN regained his crown also with a points finale victory with his green # 71 "Parkway Tire, Otto" sponsored mount. Herbert Chambers was Forgey's closest challenger over 150 points behind, with Jason Seaton, 2000 Champ Anthony Hawkins and Roy Nichols wrapping up the top five positions. Trophy presentation's for all divisions will be announced soon on the tracks official web-site .

Back to the Archives