Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Merchant drove his Ford from the Back to the front Twice and scored the SUPR
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 26, 2001 01:08 PM UIN: 16262997
Merchant drove his Ford from the Back to the front Twice and scored the SUPR
Sue DuRoy August 25, 2001, Pike County Speedway
31 late models were divided in four heats. First heat Kerry Vicknair on
the pole jumped into the lead till Dennis Duncan got beside Vicknair and they
shared the lead, Dave Siegert spun in two and brought out the yellow. On the
restart Donald Watson blasted into the lead from the second row and held it
to take the win followed by Kerry Vicknair and Larry Riter.
On the start of heat two Kevin Watts from the second row blasted up the
middle and into the lead. Gene Comas spun in two and brought out the yellow.
After three restarts Watts jumped into the lead and just put more distance
between him and second place Wade Glass. Sam Patrick took third.
David Knight took the lead in the third heat while Ryan Plaisance ran
second. Plaisance got crossed up and Kenny Merchant ran over his hood in turn
four. On the restart Knight went on to score the win, second went to Scott
Slay and third Chris Hoyt.
Fourth heat David Ashley started on the pole, but Marlon Wild blasted
from the second row to the lead. Marlon took the win followed by Ashley and
Jay Blair third.
Rob Litton and Kenny Merchant finished one two in the first last
chance race to earn a spot in the feature. Second last chance was Dennis
Duncan and Rodney Sheridan.
Donald Watson took the lead from the pole on the start of the SUPR race
followed by David Knight. Kevin Watts took the lead from Watson. On a restart
the leader Watts went in the pits handing the lead to Watson. Marlon Wild
moved to second. Kenny Merchant who started 19th took over third. While under
caution Merchant was over heating and went to the pits to remove tap from his
grill, when he came back out he had to start last again. Well Merchant worked
his way through the field to second then on the last lap took the lead from
Watson. And scored the win after starting in the rear twice and working his
way to the front. Watson finished second. Dave Siegert started 21st and
finished third, followed by Marlon Wild, Curt Lipsey, Dennis Duncan, Jay
Blair, Larry Riter and Odie Green.

Jerry Cassano led every lap of the modified race. Bobby Helmer ran
second.. Billy Collette worked at it till he took over second. Curtis
Vicknair took third, Michael Blount and Ron Grandel rounded out the top five.
Cassano, Helmer and Mike Roe took the heat wins.
Pure Stock B main Dallas Price from the pole blasted into the lead.
After leading several lap Heath Willard took over as leader and scored the
win. Stephen Polk moved into second, Dallas Price finished third, Joel Brown
and Rustin Cain took fourth and fifth.
Pure stock A main Chad Coon grabbed the lead followed by Ryan Whitehead.
Whitehead drop his pace and went in the pits. Jamie Blades moved to second
and chased down Coon those two ran wheel to wheel swapping the lead several
times. Coon took the win but was Dqed. Blades got the win followed by Terry
Lee, Shawn Barber and Justin Bowman. Hilton Hardwick, Chad Coon and Hardy
McMillian took the heat wins.
Street stock started with a three wide battle between Jamie Hamilton,
Tyrone Taylor and Mitchel Arnold. Hamilton got the lead. Jamie McClendon
worked up to second and then battled for the lead with Hamilton. McClendon
got the lead, but in the final laps Jamie Hamilton took back the lead and
scored the win over McClendon, Simeon, Gary Talbert and Tyrone Taylor.
Hamilton and Talbert took the heat wins.
Robert Morel and Billy Gordon took the heat wins for Super Stock. Robert
Morel from the pole jumped into the lead as the green flag waved followed by
Donald Collins. Charles Sibley took over second from Collins. Billy Gordon
moved into third dropping Collins to fourth. Upfront Morel was pulling
further away. Donald Collins moved into third then took second from Sibley.
Morel took the win followed by Collins, Sibley, Gordon and Johnny Breeland.

Back to the Archives