Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 26, 2001 01:02 PM UIN: 16262997
Hanover's Cris Eash passed a determined Shawn Weaver on the seventh lap and
then raced flawlessly through lapped traffic over the final laps to hold off
11-time Lincoln winner Fred Rahmer and pick up his second win of the season
Saturday night in the 25 lap super sprint feature at Lincoln Speedway.
"We were actually real good at the beginning, and on that red I told my
mechanics that I don't know if we should do anything," said Eash upon
exiting his Dave Eash-owned Miller Brothers Chevrolet No.17E in victory
"My dad reminded us of the many times we were always good at the beginning
and not very good at the end, so we tightened it up a little bit...the car
worked pretty good tonight. We did everything right tonight, and that's what
it takes to win here. This old car has 56 races on it tonight and it's still
going good."
The win for the veteran racer, and car, was the second of the year at the
Pigeon Hills oval, and was worth $2,500.
Shawn Weaver shot from his fourth-starting spot to take the lead from
outside frontrow starter Pierron Reasner exiting the fourth turn to lead the
opening lap.
Eash, who started 10th, pulled along side Weaver in a dead heat to complete
the sixth lap, and then took command on the seventh heading up the
Eash then methodically drove raced through heavy lapped traffic with Rahmer
on his heels over the final laps with Rahmer within striking distance the
entire way.
But Eash was up to the challenge this night, and took the checkered .53
seconds ahead to register his 28th career Lincoln win to move him into an
sixth-place tie with Van May on Lincoln's all-time win list.
"I knew I couldn't sit around and wait on these guys," said Eash on the
heavy lapped traffic over the final five laps. "When I got to them, I
clipped by because I knew Fred (Rahmer) was coming, and he's awesome in
lapped traffic. Luckily, we made all the right moves on the last two little mistake and we would have lost that race."
Rahmer and Steve Siegel finished second and third, with Bobby Weaver fourth
and 14th-starting Chris Knopp rallying for fifth.

Dallastown's Cory Haas moved into a tie for the sprint points lead with
Eric Stambaugh by claiming his first career win in the 20 lap 358 sprint
Polesitter Chad Trout led the race's first 15 laps and then Alan Krimes led
the next two before after Trout got sideways and spun on the 16th lap.
Haas, who then restarted second, made a low move under Krimes for the lead
on the 18th lap led to the checkered by a mere car length over Krimes, with
Eric Stambaugh third, Joe Ilg fourth, and Adrian Shaffer coming from 21st
starting spot to finish fifth.

Neil Smith became the 12th different winner in 25 races with his 24th
career win, but first of the year, in the 20-lap thundercar feature. Smith
made his race-winning move under Bernie Beard for second place on the 14th
lap just before disaster struck leader race-long leader Mike Walls who
exploded a motor on the frontstretch on the 15th lap - thus giving Smith the
lead with Beard second
Smith was able to hold off Bernie and Bobby Beard over the final laps to
take the checkered .25 seconds ahead for the win.
The Beards' second and third place finishes, combined with point leader
Steve Clabaugh's 17th place finish (transmission problems) closed Bobby
Beard to within 25 points and Bernie Beard to within 60 points with one
point race remaining on the schedule.

Back to the Archives