Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 26, 2001 01:01 PM UIN: 16262997

HAGERSTOWN, MD Brian Miller of Hagerstown scored the biggest win of his
career in the 20-lap Jimmy Cornett Memorial for the Ernie's Salvage Yard pure
stocks at the Hagerstown Speedway Saturday night. In other action, Rodney
Franklin of White Post, VA got back on track with his second win of the year
in the 25-lap ITSI late model feature, Marvin Winters continued his winning
ways with his ninth win of the year in the 20-lap Hoosier Tires/Mid-Atlantic
late model sportsman main event and Marcus VanMeter of Cresaptown scored his
fifth win in the 4-cyl pure stock feature. Jim Mullendore of Hagerstown won
the 30-lap enduro dash that was postponed from June 23rd.

The 20-lap Jimmy Cornett Memorial had double points and an increased
purse on the line as Brian Miller started back in the tenth starting spot.
Kenny Dillon moved in front on the first lap from his fourth starting spot as
cautions on the first three laps kept the field bunched together with Miller
quickly working his way to third by lap three. Miller got by Phil Madagan on
the seventh lap and got a break on lap 11 when the caution was waved wiping
out Dillon's lead. Miller stayed with the leader pulling even a couple of
times, but it was Dillon coming across the finish line in front by two car
lengths. Dillon was disqualified in a post race inspection turning the win
over to Miller for his second visit to Victory Lane this year. Bruce
Leibowitz finished second with Eugene Conlee coming from 18th for third. Hans
Stamberg and Denny Saunders rounded out the top five. Madagan was sixth as
Billy Funk finished seventh after starting 24th for the Turner Bowling
Centers Hard Charger Award. Jeff Bennet, Steve Lowery and Steve Kent Jr.
completed the top ten. Heat winners for the 33 cars were Dillon, Leibowitz
and Madagan

Rodney Franklin started on the pole in the 25-lap late model feature and
quickly pulled away from the field with Mark Elksnis in pursuit. Just as Andy
Anderson worked his way into second, his motor let loose in a cloud of smoke
on the 12th lap bringing out the caution and wiping out Franklin's huge lead.
On the restart, Nathan Durboraw, who was eighth in the line of cars, blasted
his way to second within one lap as Franklin set the pace. Durboraw was
unable to stay with the leader as Franklin ran away from the field to finish
five seconds in front. Durboraw settled for second with Frankie Plessinger
finishing a solid third. Charlie Schaffer was fourth with Roy Deese coming
from 12th to round out the top five. Doug Burkholder, Marvin Winters and
Elksnis were next as Rick Workman came from 21st for ninth and the Timber
Wolf/Ernie's Salvage Yard Hard Charger Award. Brent Smith finished out the
top ten. J&K Toys' heat winners for the 23 late models were Elksnis, Franklin
and Deese.

Marvin Winters started back in 11th spot as Richard Walls grabbed the
lead from Scott Palmer on the second lap in the late model sportsman feature.
Winters passed Dave Rice Jr. for second on the seventh lap, then passed Walls
for the lead on lap 10. Once in front, Winters cruised to his ninth win of
the year. Richard Walls settled for second, but the next two cars of Wayne
Walls Jr. and Pete Weaver were disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct
moving the rest of the field up two notches on the payoff sheet. Palmer was
third with Scott Sipe and Dave Rice Jr. making up the first five. Richard
Clipp was sixth and Daryl Kendall came from last in the 20-car field to
finish seventh for the St. Thomas Towing Hard Charger Award. Laudan
Seigfried, Paul Ward and Scott Daniels completed the top ten. R. Walls and
Winters won the preliminaries for the 20 cars.

Marcus Van started on the pole and never looked back as he led every lap
to win the 10-lap 4-cyl pure stock feature. Josh Angle rallied from 10th to
nail down second with Eric Mellott, Tommy Jerin and Mike Kershner finishing
out the top five. There were 11 cars signed in.

In the 30-lap enduro dash, Bobby Moore led the first 16 laps from the
pole before giving way to Steve Dillon. Krazy Kenny Thomas, who started 17th,
tracked down Dillon on the 24th lap and the two made contact with two laps
remaining as Thomas bounced up against the wall. Jim Mullendore, who started
28th, was able to work his way pass Thomas and Dillon for the lead and held
off Kevin Durst for the win. Dillon recovered to place third with Moore
finishing fourth. Tim Brookens, Tony Ford, Derrick Riley, Kenny Thomas, Barry
Jones and Sam Shank finished out the top ten. There were 32 cars entered.

Next Saturday, it will be the Ronnie McBee/Speedy Hays 44-lap Memorial
for the ITSI late models with double points and an increased purse on the
line. Also on the program will be the late model sportsman, pure stocks and
4-cyl pure stocks. Race time is 7 P.M.

Leaders (Dillon, 1-20 DQ). 1. Brian Miller; 2. Bruce Leibowitz; 3. Eugene
Conlee; 4. Hans Stamberg; 5. Denny Saunders; 6. Phil Madagan; 7. Bill Funk;
8. Jeff Bennett; 9. Steve Lowery; 10. Steve Kent Jr.; 11. Jim Snyder; 12.
Pete Gems; 13. Jesse Coleman; 14. Frank Dibella; 15. Wayne Hawbaker; 16.
William Reitober; 17. Kevin Shade; 18. James Andrews; 19. John Williams; 20.
Rick Stouffer Jr.; 21. Glenn Holder; 22. Harold Prince; 23. Kim Ramer; 24.
Greg Moats; 25 Sam Kaiser; 26. Jeff Johnson; 27. Keith Reed; 28. Dave
Mikolaski; 29. Danny Shirley; 30. Cory Oberholzer. DNS: Dennis; DQ
Warrenfeltz; Dillon.

25-LAPS ITSI LATE MODELS FEATURE 23 Cars) Race Leaders (Franklin, 1-25). 1.
Rodney Franklin; 2. Nathan Durboraw; 3. Frankie Plessinger; 4. Charlie
Schaffer; 5. Roy Deese Jr.; 6. Doug Burkholder; 7. Marvin Winters; 8. Mark
Elksnis; 9. Rick Workman; 10. Brent Smith; 11. Buck Tomblin; 12. Devin
Friese; 13. Jeff Friese; 14. Bill Palmer; 15. Timmy Booth; 16. Tim Wilson;
17. Ron Ellis; 18. Mike Zechman; 19. Darryl Hills; 20. Andy Anderson; 21.
Gary Stuhler; 22. Sean Cosgrove; 23. Richard Irwin.

(Palmer, 1; R. Walls, 2-9; Winters, 10-20) 1. Marvin Winters; 2. Richard
Walls; 3. Scott Palmer; 4. Scott Sipe; 5. Dave Rice Jr.; 6. Richard Clipp; 7.
Daryl Kendall; 8. Laudan Seigfried; 9. Paul Ward; 10. Scott Daniels; 11.
James Mongan; 12. Glenn Ninninger Jr.; 13. Mike Walls; 14. Curt Shrener; 15.
Kenny Day; 16. Charles Hagerge. DNS: Fair; Bowers. DQ: Wayne Walls, Jr.; Pete

10-LAPS 4-CYL PURE STOCK FEATURE: (11 Cars) Race Leaders (VanMeter, 1-10) 1.
Marcus Van Meter; 2. Josh Angle; 3. Eric Mellott; 4. Tommy Jerin; 5. Mike
Kershner; 6. Ronnie Garlock; 7. Troy Honer; 8. Randy Kline; 9. Bryan Neff;
DNS: Randy Kline. DQ: Glenn Gipe.

30-LAPS ENDURO DASH: (32 Cars) Race Leaders (Moore, 1-16; Dillon, 17-28;
Mullendore, 29-30)
1. Jim Mullendore; 2. Kevin Durst; 3. Steven Dillon; 4. Bobby Moore; 5. Tim
Brookens; 6. Tony Ford; 7. Derrick Riley; 8. Kenny Thomas; 9. Barry Jones;
10. Sam Shank; 11. Steve Thompson; 12. Leroy Hockenberry; 13. Danny Holmes;
14. Kenny Herrin; 16. Larry Hurley; 17. Jessica Stouffer; 18. Krazy Kenny
Thomas; 19. Roy Rowland; 20. William Silkworth; 21. John Graves; 22. Darrin
Williams; 23. James Morgan; 24. William Crook; 25. Patrick Murphy; 26. JL
Eichelberger; 27. Jimmy Parrill; 28. John Poole; 29. Wallace Mason; 30. Paul
Rice; 31. Michael Kendrick; 32. Craig Crous

Back to the Archives