Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 26, 2001 02:44 AM UIN: 16262997

Media Contact: Judy Gower (724) 853-RACE/

IMPERIAL, PA…Alex Ferree of Saxonburg put some extra icing on his 21st
birthday cake by winning his second career QPI Tools Late Model feature
Saturday at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. Irwin's Brian Laraway
claimed the prestigious Jook George Memorial/Fall Classic 40 for the Limited
Late Models. Other winners on Shults Ford night were; Larry Kugel of
Calcutta, OH in the E-Modifieds, Carnegie's Stacie White in the Isiminger's
Pennzoil Pure Stocks and John Cain III of Pittsburgh in the Amateur Stocks.
Robbie Haught of Washington won the final demolition derby of the season.
Claysville's Kevin Harris was second and Joey Margaria third.

From the pole Mark Moats set the pace for the first two laps of the QPI
Tools Late Model feature. After a lap two caution, Alex Ferree displaced the
second place car of Jason Cisson and Moats with a low side move in turns
three and four. Cisson followed Ferree to second and kept him in striking
distance. Tenth starting Lou Bradich charged to third on lap ten and began
to reel in the front two. Following a lap 17 caution, Ferree again held the
lead with Cisson and Bradich not far behind. The front three would remain in
the same order to the finish with twelfth starting Keith Barbara moving to
fourth. Moats was fifth, Dave Wade sixth, Jim Lepro seventh, John Flinner
eighth, Ben Miley ninth and Joe Johnson tenth. Wade and Flinner won the heat
races. Barbara was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Danny Rich set a blistering pace for the first fifteen laps of the Limited
Late Models Jook George Memorial/Fall Classic 40. Unfortunately for the
"Danimal", a mechanical failure on the left front of the car gave the lead to
Laraway who held off 20th starting Al Atallah for his third win of the
season. Atallah, Gary Cellone, Tony Musolino and Bobby Castelveter were
second through fifth respectively. Sixth through ten were Jim Stephens, Bob
Damron, Wayne Tessean, Mike Morgan and Tom Schirnhofer. Atallah was the
Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Cellone and Rich won the preliminaries, with Rich
also taking the dash win. A hard crash on the back straightaway during the
first limited late model heat race literally destroyed the car driven by John
Pavlick. Pavlick was shaken up, and subsequently transported to the
hospital as a precautionary measure.

For the eigth week in a row, and a record breaking 14th time this season,
Larry Kugel reigned supreme in the E-Modifieds. Russ Matejka (driving the
#16 in place of Ralph Hysong Jr.), Scott Gunn, Kurl Halbedl and Jeff
Bametzrider completed the top five. Six through ten were: Stush Sadowski,
Daryl Charlier, Matt Smith, Gordon Schrader, and Jeff Broniszewski. Halbedl
and Kugel were the heat race winners. Kugel, who came from the back again
was the Monarch Oil Harger.

Less than two months after winning his first Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure
Stock feature, Stacie White led wire to wire in taking the top prize again
while holding off the challenges of Doug Foster finished second, Daryl
Robison third, Dave Beck fourth and Craig Kamicker fifth. Rich Apolito, Neal
Isiminger, Brian Scheller, A.J. Poljak and Wayne Johnson completed the top
ten. Isiminger and Foster won the heat races. Apolito was the Monarch Oil
Hard Charger.

John Cain III survived twelve wild and wooly laps to win his first Amateur
Stock feature. Glenn Knopp Jr. was second, Bob Schwartzmiller third, Jerry
Nation fourth and Gabe Hahka fifth. Completing the top ten were Bob Siemon,
Jill Folkmire, Ken Publisi, Skeets Levandosky and Joshua Langer.

This Saturday, September 1 is Fan Appreciation night with reduced
admission. In addition, there will be kids bike races, and we'll be playing
"RACE-O", racing's version of bingo. For more information call 724-853-RACE,
or visit our website at www.ppms com.


QPI TOOLS LATE MODELS: Heat Race Winners: Dave Wade, John Flinner
Feature (25 Laps): 1) Alex Ferree, 2) Jason Cisson, 3) Lou Bradich, 4) Keith
Barbara 5) Mark Moats 6) Dave Wade, 7) Jim Lepro 8) John Flinner, 9) Ben
Miley 10) Joe Johnson 11) Brent Rhebergen 12) Jim Zarin 13) Len
Dobrosielski 14) Mike Cecere 15) Ralph Hysong 16) DJ Miller 17) Rick Heim
18) Chuck Moury 19) Tom Campbell 20) Steve Fife (DNS) 21) Travis Asel

LIMITED LATE MODELS: Heat Race Winners: Gary Cellone, Danny Rich
Dash Winner: Danny Rich
Feature (40 Laps): 1) Brian Laraway 2) Al Atallah 3) Gary Cellone 4) Tony
Musolini 5) Bobby Castelveter 6) Jim Stephans 7) Bob Damron 8) Wayne
Tessean 9) Mike Morgan 10) Tom Schirnhofer 11) Kirk Young 12) Vince
Teatino 13) Louie Bradich 14) George Kowatic 15) Danny Rich 16) George
Bland 17) Pete Loria 18) Jesse Burroughs 19) Jon Hodgkiss 20) Tom Duratz
21) John Pavlick (DNS) 22) Curtis Youst (DNS) 23) Tom Bateman (DNS)

E-MODS: Heat Race Winners: Kurt Halbedl, Larry Kugel
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Larry Kugel, 2) Russ Matejka 3) Scott Gunn 4) Kurt
Halbedl 5) Jeff Bametzrider 6) Stush Sadowski 7) Daryl Charlier 8) Matt
Smith 9) Gordon Schrader 10) Jeff Bronsizewski 11) Mike Anderson 12) Andy
Diamond 13) Randy McElheney

PURE STOCKS: Heat Race Winners: Neal Isiminger, Doug Foster
Feature: (15 Laps) 1) Stacie White 2) Doug Foster 3) Darryl Robison 4)
Dave Beck 5) Craig Kamicker 6) Rich Apolito 7) Neal Isiminger 8) Brian
Scheller 9) AJ Poljak 10) Wayne Johnson 11) Joe Anthony 12) Jimmy Arnold
13) Charlie DiLoreto 14) Shawn Bryan 15) Mike McCord 16) Ryan Marks 17)
Mark Jaworski 18) Bob Betz 19) Ernie Johnson (DNS)

AMATEUR STOCKS: Feature (12 Laps) 1) Joh Cain III 2) Glen Knopp 3) Bob
Schwartzmiller 4) Jerry Nations 5) Gabe Hahka 6) Bob Siemon 7) Jill
Folkmire 8) Ken Publisi 9) Skeets Levandosky 10) Josh Langer 11) Harry
Wieland 12) Ian Tomei

Back to the Archives