Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Pauch Marches On, Martz Marches In At New Egypt
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 26, 2001 12:06 AM UIN: 16262997
Pauch Marches On, Martz Marches In At New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (August 25) - New Egypt Speedway fans applauded an old winner
and a new winner in the Modified division Saturday night, with Frenchtown,
NJ's Billy Pauch notching his ninth of the year in the regular 30-lap event
and Sam Martz of Whitehouse Station, NJ, uncorking the champagne for the
very first time in the companion Future Winner's race, sponsored by
Mid-State Communications of Trenton.

"We could run the top or the bottom - anywhere on the track," Pauch marveled
post-race. "I've got to thank (track prep man) Ricky Grosso for that."

Ron John Koczon was a force to be reckoned with in the first half of the
30-lap Modified feature, leading by as much as a half-straightaway before
Pauch entered the picture. Showing fourth on lap 13, Pauch muscled into
second at the crossed flags; five laps later, Tom Carberry's blown engine
brought out the red, and Pauch eyed his opportunity. Koczon held the point
on the restart, but Pauch blew by on lap 21 and opened it up. Keith Hoffman
gave the Kid a tussle in the final laps, but it was Pauch again at the
finish, scoring his fourth consecutive victory and ninth of the season at
New Egypt. Hoffman settled for second, with Kenny Brightbill taking third by
a wheel over Rick Grosso Jr. and Eddie Bohn nipping Fred Dmuchowski for

Mid-State Communications' 20-lap Future Winner's event, open to Modified
drivers who have never won a race at New Egypt, was run in two segments and
featured edge-of-the-seat action from start to finish. Fred Dmuchowski, Rick
Grosso Jr. and Martz were the stars in the first 10, with Martz in the lead
when a competition yellow flew at halfway. A blind draw forced the top four
to invert on the restart and the trio continued the game, racing under a
blanket for that first elusive victory. Martz did the deed, collecting the
trophy, champagne and $500 prize, with Dmuchowski and Grosso shadowing him
across the stripe.
Rich Scagliotta of Bound Brook, NJ, held off a tough Mike Toth to ink his
third of the year in the 20-lap Sportsman event. Chris Wasson was third,
Dave Hoffman fourth and division points leader Matt Papiez took fifth.

Al Cheney III of Cranbury, NJ, continued to annihilate the Street Stock
class, scoring his sixth of the year to extend his division point lead. A
gutsy last-lap pass over Mario Page netted Cheney the victory. Carol
Whitehouse claimed third, with Rich Page II fourth and John Hewitt in fifth.

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by Pauch (Mods, 18.269), Toth (Sportsman, 19.279) and Cheney
(Street Stock, 20.957).

Next Saturday, the kids take to the track as Delran Auto Body presents the
annual Kids' Big Wheel Challenge for youngsters 10 and under. A full card of
big-block Modified, Sportsman and Street Stock action completes New Egypt's
September 1st program. Adult admission is $13, children 7-12 are $4, and
kids 6 and under are free. For more information, call the speedway at (609)

1st Heat: 1.Butler 2.Hager 3.Koczon 4.Moss 5.Radd 6.Bitner
2nd Heat: 1.Tanner Jr. 2.Grosso Jr. 3.Hoffman 4.Velenger 5.P.Cox 6.Ostwald
3rd Heat: 1.Worthington 2.Pauch 3.Dmuchowski 4.Hendershot 5.McCaughey
B Main: 1.Bohn 2.Brightbill 3.Martz 4.Weaver 5.Carberry 6.Drayton (Fan
Prov: VanGorder)
Feature (30 laps): 1.Billy Pauch 2.Keith Hoffman 3.Kenny Brightbill 4.Rick
Grosso Jr. 5.Eddie Bohn 6.Fred Dmuchowski 7.Sam Martz 8.Darren McCaughey
9.Tim Tanner Jr. 10.Brian Weaver 11.Ron John Koczon 12.Tom Hager 13.Rocco
Infante 14.Bob Worthington 15.Mike Hendershot 16.Phil Cox 17.Doug Ostwald
18.Scott VanGorder 19.Mark Bitner 20.Bob Drayton 21.Donnie Radd. 22.Gary
Velenger 23.Tom Carberry 24.Steve Moss 25.Gary Butler
Future Winners Race (20 laps): 1.Sam Martz 2.Fred Dmuchowski 3.Rick Grosso
Jr. 4.Rocco Infante 5.Donnie Radd 6.Phil Cox 7.Ron John Koczon 8.Doug
Ostwald 9.Mark Tranquilli 10.Scott VanGorder 11.Clyde Cox III 12.Larry McVay
13.Gary Velenger
DNQ: Roger Laureno, Larry Archer, Clyde Cox III, Richie Rutski, Fritz
Epright, Mark Tranquilli, Larry McVay.

1st Heat: 1.Raisner 2.Scherer 3.Ploski III 4.Hoffman 5.Buffalino
2nd Heat: 1.Reutter Jr. 2.Wasson 3.R.Godown 4.Woolston 5.Fleming
3rd Heat: 1.Toth 2.Swain 3.M.Papiez 4.Kline 5.Leote
4th Heat: 1.Scagliotta 2.J.Papiez 3.Reid 4.Roth 5.G.Hager
1st B Main: 1.Flesch 2.Stravinsky 3.B.Godown 4.Liedl
2nd B Main: 1.Lyons 2.Mongiello III 3.Weeks 4.S.Butler
Feature (20 Laps):
1.Rich Scagliotta 2.Mike Toth 3.Chris Wasson 4.Dave Hoffman 5.Matt Papiez
6.Joe Papiez 7.Ryan Godown 8.Mike Reutter Jr. 9.Stan Ploski III 10.Mike
Lyons 11.Doug Liedl 12.Brian Godown 13.Dave Woolston 14.Gene Stravinsky
15.Keith Fleming 16.Chuck Flesch 17.Scott Butler 18.Bruce Leote 19.Donnie
Kline 20.Kenny Roth 21.Jim Scherer 22.Mike Mongiello III 23.Dominick
Buffalino 24.Jack Swain 25.Scott Reid 26.Andy Weeks 27.Rick Raisner 28.Gary
DNQ: Phil Meisner Jr., Barry Christ, Christiaan Van Schuyler, Tom Sickler,
Rob Pfister, Joe Szwed, Rich McTighe, Tom Tomasko, Keith Foster, Jeff
Geiges, Brian Pearson, Rich Kuiken, Todd Kuhl, John Snook, Rob Schuster,
Joey Tinnes Jr., Pat McBride, **** Robbins, Bernie Kelly.

1st Heat: 1.Gerber 2.Nixon 3.Cheney III 4.Page II 5.Bauma 6.Bifulco
2nd Heat: 1.Freiberger 2.Berardi 3.Ensinger 4.Bauer 5.Jm.Hewitt 6.Guyer
3rd Heat: 1.Collier 2.Fleming 3.Jn.Hewitt 4.Conaway 5.M.Page 6.Whitehouse
B Main: 1.Byrne 2.Quinlan 3.Gargiulo 4.Coverly 5.Apgar 6.Holloway
Feature (15 laps):1. Al Cheney III 2.Mario Page 3.Carol Whitehouse 4.Rich
Page II 5.John Hewitt 6.Brian Nixon 7.Billy Bauma 8.Kevin Bifulco 9.Ralph
Gargiulo 10.George Quinlan 11.Billy Bauer 12.Evan Berardi 13.Tim Apgar
14.Pat Conaway 15.Tom Holloway 16.Jim Hewitt 17.Ron Coverly 18.Spider
Ensinger 19.Bill Gerber 20.Pat Freiberger 21.Kory Fleming 22.Weldon Collier
23.Richie Byrne 24.Kenny Guyer
DNQ: Todd Dige, Tony Horner, Robert Melton, Mick Search, Jake Roveda, Bill
Miscoski, Steve Barnes, George McCall, Steve Mongiello, Billy Dagostino,
Jason Seredy, Paul Johnson, George Idell Sr., Jeff Carpenter.

Back to the Archives