Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 20, 2001 12:08 PM UIN: 16262997

HAGERSTOWN, MD - Promoter Frank Plessinger will present the 16th Annual
Ronnie McBee/Ronnie Hays Memorial at the Hagerstown Speedway on Saturday
night, September 1st. The McBee/Hays Memorial is the next to the final
point race of the year for all four divisions with double points on the
line for the ITSI late models. Adult admission is $10 with children
under 12 FREE. Race time is 7 P.M., gates open at 5 P.M.

The 44-lap McBee Memorial is held each year to pay tribute to one of
the top late model drivers and his car owner who ever competed at the
Hagerstown Speedway. McBee was killed in a job-related accident in 1986.
In addition to being track champion at Hagerstown in 1978 & 1979, McBee
won late model championships at several area tracks including Lincoln
and Williams Grove Speedways. In his 13 year career, McBee won 162
features at 12 tracks. In 1984, McBee was the winningest late model
driver in the northeast. His final win was at Hagerstown in the
Conococheague 100 while driving the Ron Hays #44.

The Ron "Speedy" Hays red #44 late model was recognized throughout the
country as one of the top cars. The farmer from Middletown always had a
winner no matter who drove the car. Some of the drivers who were
fortunate to drive for Hays included Sam Nalley, Kenny Brightbill, Gary
Stuhler, Denny Bonebrake and McBee.

The McBee/Hays Memorial carries an increase in purse and double points
for the ITSI late models in the next to final point race of the year.
Two-time track champion Roy Deese Jr. is on top in one of the tightest
point race ever in the late model division. Deese is only 49 points in
front of six-time track champion Nathan Durboraw. Charlie Schaffer, Doug
Burkholder and Devin Friese follow in points and still have a chance at
the coveted track championship that pays $8,000 to the winner.

Past winners of the McBee Memorial include Buddy Armel, John Mason,
Denny Bonebrake, Rodney Franklin, DJ Myers, Rick Workman and Durboraw.
Myers is the defending race champion.

Joining the late models will be the next to the last point races for
the Hoosier Tires late model sportsman, Ernie's Salvage Yard pure stocks
and 4-cyl pure stocks.

For additional information call (301) 582-0640. Also checkout the
Hagerstown Speedway on the Internet at The
Hagerstown Speedway is located on U.S. Route 40, six miles west of
Hagerstown, MD off the Huyett exits of I-70 an I-81.

Back to the Archives