Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 19, 2001 10:48 PM UIN: 16262997

Norm Mark made the move to the Mini Stocks this season at
Gasport Speedway after several years in the Street Stocks. Tonight his
move proved successful with claiming the victory on Kacey Lynn
Fundraiser Night.
The 15 lap Mini Stock feature was led to the green by Jake
Adair and Blair Young with Adair taking the lead in his truck. Lap 4
Jamie Gilbert took the lead only to break on lap 5 giving the lead back
to Adair. Alex Wheeldon suffered a flat tire on lap 6 bringing out the
yellow. Norm Mark took the lead on the restart but the yellow flew on
lap 7 as Rick Sager had flat trouble also. Mark continued the lead on
the restart and was challanged unsuccessfully by Rob Wagner. Contact on
lap 10 between Brian Lawrie and Carol Reece brought out the final
caution of their event. The remaining 5 laps Mark would hold off Mike
Baxter, Gilbert, Wagner and John Venuto. Mark and Baxter were the heat
The 20 lap Sportsman cautionfest was led to the green by Rob
Pietz and Dwayne Winfield with Pietz grabbing the lead but 5 yellows in
the first 10 laps would slow the pace. The lap 10 restart would have
Randy Chrysler try the inside on the front stretch and make the inside
pass in turn 1 on lap 11 to take the lead from Pietz. 3 more cautions
was was the only way to slow Randy "The Rocket" Chrysler as he picked up
his 3rd win of the year and making it 2 for 2 with last weeks win. Next
in line were Pietz, Adam Ferri, Danny Lacey, and Brad Rouse. Pietz,
Darrell Ebersole and Adam Ferri claimed the heat wins.
The Pro Stocks ran a 10 lap feature with 6 cars with Danny
Gilbert and Jeff Dayman setting the pace with Dayman grabbing the lead
for the first 4 laps and was passed by Birthday Pilot Roger Chrysler but
his lead lasted but 3 laps as he was passed by Kenny Sargent on lap 8
and Sargent would not be caught as he took another feature win
cautionfree. Chrysler was next followed by Dayman, Billy Bleich, Dnny
Gilbert and Chris Hawkins. A heat was not run by the Pro Stockers.
The 15 lap Street Stocks went caution free also with Gord
Edwards and Jason Fontaine setting the pace with Fontaine grabbing the
lead. Fontaine led the first 7 laps but mark Loveland took the lead on a
nice inside pass. Loveland and the leaders had to dodge lap traffic very
carefully on lap 10 as first time starter Ron Kingsbury had a tire go
flat causing the leaders to scatter successfully. Loveland ould hold off
Fontaine, Jason Harper, Edwards, and Fred Korton at the end. Fontaine ad
Loveland were the heat winners.
The Micro Mini Sprints made an appearence with 6 cars and turned
Gasport with some fast laps with John Dawson as the early leader only to
be passed by John Venuto as their race was scheduled for 15 laps but was
dropped to 10 laps as the rain fell. Venuto won the heat also.
The rain delayed Women Are Racing event was rain delayed again
as they were scheduled to compete in the Mini Stocks.
Pit Notes: The drivers collected money from throughout the crowd for the
Kacey Lynn Fundraisers Jim and Mary Dolan. Sportsman feature winner
Randy Chrysler kindly donated his entire winning purse to the
Fundraising Commitee. Trophies and t-shirts were given to all feature
winners by the Dolans. Early day rains made for great track conditions
but Randy Chrysler's victory "Indian Dance" did bring rain before the
Ladies race. Next up at Gasport will be the season semi final event with
a regular program and a demo derby for 4 cylinder cars and Cable TV
coverage by Cogeco. Racing on August 26 will bgin at 6:30 with pit gates
opening at 4:30 and grand stands at 5:00. For more details call Gasport
at (905)834-4797 or vsit on-line at:
SPORTSMAN FINISH: RANDY CHRYSLER, Rob Pietz, Adam Ferri, Danny Lacey,
Brad Rouse, Brian Elliottson, Dwayne Winfield, Jack McKinney, Jeff
Leggett, Darrell Ebersole, Guy Bougie, Kenny Winfield, Kevin Sharpe,
Greg Rauscher, Dave Flannigan, Brian Page, Paul Gaboury, Lloyd Wilson,
Tim Zack, and Jason Pietz.

Back to the Archives