Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Mark Stokes Takes First Win of the Year!
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 19, 2001 10:37 PM UIN: 16262997
Mark Stokes Takes First Win of the Year!

Columbus, Mississippi-Crowds continue to grow and the numbers of competitors
has as well during the resurgent 2001 season at Columbus Speedway. A Weekly
Racing program record crowd piled in the stands along with a record 129
racecars registered to do action at Johnny Stokes' popular motorsports
entertainment facility. Attendance records were set for the third
consecutive weekly racing program event. The large crowd was treated to
exciting action in all classes plus stuntman Kenny Powers performing his
violent car crash stunt on the front straight away.

Action would get underway with Detroit, Alabama's Frank Cox taking the
Summer Championship win in the Pro Street division. Cox would lead flag to
flag over nineteen other cars signed in and take the Championship trophy and
added purse monies. Tupelo's Paul Robinson was a strong second followed by
Caledonia's Randy Bush, Columbus' Ed Atkins, and Ken Shirey completing the
top five.

The "Bruiser" Cruiser class also had their Summer Championship with a
Columbus Speedway record twenty-three Two Person Cruiser teams signed in to
do battle on the exciting 3/10's mile high banked clay oval. The team of
Steve Chaffin and Jughead Smith would take the controversial win as they
spun out the leaders as they took the white flag. The team of Josh Edwards
and Brady Sanders were second, with the team of Thad and Jep Cole completing
the podium. Rounding out the top five finishers of the wild event that
featured cars barrel rolling and crashing all around the speedway were Randy
and Mark Rigdon with first time African American drivers Tracy Stevens and
Reno Burr finishing an impressive fifth in their Cadillac Cruiser racecar.

The Pepsi Super Late Model division would see Columbus Speedway defending
Track Champion Mark Stokes take his first win of the year over a competitive
field of twenty-three entrants. Scott Dedwylder and 2001 point's leader
Shawn Edwards would share Pole Qualifying honors as the
two drivers each tripped the lights with a 14.90-second elapsed time.
Dedwylder drew a six for the inversion factor and the two star drivers would
have to start the event from the third row.

Mark Stokes jumped to an early lead and would cruise his way to the victory
in his Allen Brothers powered Stokes Express Lube/T&C Collectibles sponsored
GRT Ford Mustang. The jubilant winner has struggled through a tough year and
may have finally gotten the bad luck behind the popular Columbus based team.
Runner up for the evening was Louisville's Shawn Edwards. The up and coming
young Edwards extended his point's lead and showed outward signs of
confidence and aggressiveness in his strong charge to second place. Vossburg
driver Scot Dedwylder finished third with Vaiden's Terry Wilson claiming a
hard fought fourth place position. Tony Lawson made the long tow from Laurel
to finish out the evening with a solid fifth place finish. Many drivers were
testing and tuning for MARS "Columbus Chaos" next weekend, as the MARS
Extreme Super Late Model Series will be at on Friday and Saturday night. Two
complete shows with action in all divisions are scheduled.

The Street Stock win went to none other than "The Wanted Man" Lee Ray of
Columbus. Ray took the lead on the final lap as leader Terry King succumbed
to the pressure and Ray took the big win along with his own bounty of $500
courtesy of Roy's Kitchen and Easley Electric for an impressive $800 in
winnings for his efforts. Tuscaloosa's Jimmy Rogers was second with Danny
Gable taking the third place honors in the twenty-eight car staring field.
Columbus drivers Tim White was fourth and Richard West was fifth.

Robert Sanders took a great win in the Mini Stock class as a season high
twenty drivers signed in to do battle in the four cylinder powered racecar
division. Buddy Glover was a close second with teenager Ryan Rigdon in
third. Amory driver Tim Ritter was fourth with Marty Oliver celebrating a
birthday and taking the fifth place honors. The Pro 4 win went to
Northport's David Goins with Carrolton's James Blakney chasing the rabbit.
Jimmy Beachler was third with Steve Lowe and Wyman Blakney completing the
all Alabama top five.

"The Untouchable" Jason Hollis continued his dominance in the Mississippi
Modifieds and has virtually sowed up the 2001 Track Championship. Sulligent
driver "Midnight" Matt Price was the bridesmaid in the Hill Top Racing
powered open wheel racecar. Dr. Robert Eaton was third with Rookie Caleb
Myers fourth and Tuscaloosa's David Griffin finished fifth.

Stuntman Kenny Powers performed his car crash stunt, which ended with Powers
in his stunt car, aiming skyward on top of the other crashed vehicles, and
on fire. The personable stunt driver was somewhat dazed and shaken. Powers
would receive oxygen from the medical staff on hand and would later sign
autographs for the fans in the stands.

The Super Late Models and all other classes will be in action on both Friday
and Saturday night this coming weekend as the Mid American Racing Series
(MARS) rolls into town. The MARS Super Late Model drivers along with the
Mississippi and Deep South Super Late Model stars will be gunning for over
$31,000 in prize money and posted awards. Columbus Chaos presented by NAPA
Car Care of Columbus will feature a 30 lap main event of Friday night and a
Championship 50 lap main event on Saturday night. Two complete shows for all
divisions. Please call the Columbus Speedway event hotline for event
information or visit the Columbus Speedway Internet home

Back to the Archives