Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 19, 2001 08:45 AM UIN: 16262997

AUGUST 18, 2001
WEST LEBANON, NY-Rich Ricci Jr, from New Paltz, picked up the victory in the
30-lap modified feature Saturday night at Lebanon Valley. K.C. Goewey won the
sportsman feature and Ed Bachand was victorious in the 20-lap Pro Stock
feature. The fine folks from ST. LAWRENCE CEMENT and their SAVE THE PLANET
campaign brought the action to us Saturday night. The fans were also
entertained by another great fireworks display.
Twenty-nine cars were on the track and set to start the 30-lap modified
feature. Mike Benson had some problems and went to the pits before the green
flag was thrown. More problems on the start as the field tried to go four
wide in turn two. Kenny Tremont hopped the left rear wheel of Ronnie Johnson
and spun sideways, J.R. Heffner was also collected up in the mess. Both
Tremont and Heffner would rejoin the race at the rear of the pack. Denny
Soltis held the point until lap two. Paul Gilardi made heavy contact with the
turn three wall and came to a stop on the frontstretch on lap two. The second
caution on lap two saw Dave Mosher get spun around on the frontstretch, but
he did a masterful job of avoiding the inside retaining wall.
Steve Devine grabbed the top spot on the restart followed closely by Rich
Ricci Jr. The lead swapped again on lap three, as Ricci was able to motor
past Devine going into the third turn. Behind the leaders Eddie Marshall and
Dickie Larkin were waging a battle for the fourth position. Donnie Corellis
had a strong run on Saturday night. He made his way around Devine for second
on lap seven and tried to reel in Ricci. Tremont had worked his way back to
eighth by lap eight after his first lap skirmish. Ricci opened up a
half-straightaway advantage by lap eleven. Tim Dwyer grabbed third on a lap
12 restart from Marshall.
The final caution of the race came on lap 14 when Chris Moore and Mike
King collided in turn two. Jason Goff came in under the yellow to change a
flat right rear tire. Tremont used the restart to move into the top five.
Ronnie Johnson won a three-wide battle for tenth on lap 18. Ricci was able to
open up a twenty-car advantage over Corellis with ten laps remaining in the
feature. Tremont slipped by Dwyer for third on lap 21 and set his sights on
Corellis. Tremont made the pass by Corellis with two laps remaining but could
not close the gap on Ricci as the checkered flag fell. It was the second win
of the season for Ricci. He was piloting the same car that he used last year,
because they have not been happy with the new car they have been using all
season. Tremont, Corellis, Marshall and Dwyer followed Ricci across the line.
Jeff Watson had a strong car early in the 20-lap sportsman feature as he
led the first four laps of the event. Art Collins, Sparky Lowe and Bobby
Knipe were battling three-wide for position trying to work their way through
the field. Charlie Hume made heavy contact with the frontstretch wall
bringing out the caution on lap four. K.C. Goewey used the restart to blast
into the lead. The top five at the halfway point was Goewey, Collins, Roy
Bridge, Sparky Lowe and Joe Bennett Knipe moved into fifth on lap 12. Hawley
Smith bounced over the inside berm in turn three. Something must have broken
on Smith's mount as he went right into the frontstretch wall on the same lap.
Fortunately he was not injured.
Frank Harper and Jay Casey came together in turn two and three other cars
made hard contact with their disabled cars. The red flag was thrown to make
sure everyone was safe. Only bumps and bruises were reported. The caution
flag flew one more time setting up a one-lap dash to the finish. Goewey was
not to be denied as he took the victory. Collin was second, Lowe third,
Bridge fourth and Knipe fifth.
Ed Bachand took the lead on the start of the 20-lap Pro Stock main event.
He would survive two early cautions to maintain that lead until lap six. The
most serious accident of the race came on lap five as Tom Brandt, Buddy
Hencke and Bob Duzlak all made heavy contact with the frontstretch wall.
Danny Sanchez passed Bachand for the lead going into turn three on lap six.
Bachand tried to duck under Sanchez coming off turn four, but Sanchez was
able to hold the lead. It was not to be for Sanchez on this night as he went
pitside on lap ten, handing the lead back to Bachand.
A lap fifteen caution set the stage for a five-lap dash to the finish.
Jim Lagenback applied a little pressure to Bachand with two laps to go, but
Bachand held him off and took the victory. Robbie Speed, fresh off his win
Monday night, finished third while Rob Yetman finished fourth and Butch Irwin
rounded out the top five.
Wally Engel, Pete Wiegand, Bob Burl and Josh Brandt won the Pure Stock
features and Dan Blackburn and Ralph Hotchkiss won the two Rookie features.

1) Rich Ricci Jr, 2) Kenny Tremont Jr, 3) Donnie Corellis, 4) Eddie Marshall,
5) Tim Dwyer, 6) Matt Quinn, 7) Dickie Larkin, 8) Ronnie Johnson, 9) J.R.
Heffner, 10) Hector Stratton, 11) Steve Devine, 12) Dave Leckonby, 13)
Maynard Forrette, 14) Guy Sheldon, 15) Jason Goff, 16) Dave Mosher, 17) Mike
King, 18) Dave McFeeters, 19) Wayne Figler, 20) Dave Baranowski, 21) Denny
Soltis, 22) Lee Gagliardi, 23) John Tucker, 24) John Royals, 25) John
Alberti, 26) Chris Moore, 27) Paul Gilardi, 28) Rob Pitcher, 29) Mike Benson

SPORTSMAN RESULTS (20 LAPS) - 1) K.C. Goewey, 2) Art Collins, 3) Sparky Lowe,
4) Roy Bridge, 5) Bobby Knipe, 6) Joe Bennett, 7) Don Miller, 8) Donnie
Ackner, 9) Ernie Palmer Jr, 10) Lorne Browe, 11) Mike Mason, 12) Jeff Watson,
13) Whitey Slavin, 14) Mark Flach Jr, 15) Mike Keeler, 16) John Scarborough,
17) Jay Casey, 18) Frank Harper, 19) Walt McKay, 20) Ted Teal, 21) Hawley
Smith, 22) Pat O'Hanlon, 23) Carmon Carnibucci, 24) Jason Tompkins, 25)
Charlie Humes

Bachand, 2) Jim Langenback, 3) Robbie Speed, 4) Rob Yetman, 5) Butch Irwin,
6) Ricky Duzlak, 7) Al Blackburn, 8) Dan Galulo, 9) Adam Haas, 10) Paul
LaRochelle, 11) Nick Rogers, 12) Danny Sanchez, 13) Howard Madsen, 14) Don
Ely, 15) Tom Brandt, 16) Buddy Hencke, 17) Bob Duzlak Jr

ROOKIE "A" RESULTS (8 LAPS) - 1) Dan Blackburn, 2) Dave Colwell, 3) Charlie
Woodard, 4) Phil Moffit, 5) Brian Keough, 6) Henry Warner, 7) Lawrence Ball,
8) Chris DeCiel, 9) Joe Mabb Jr, 10) Jason DiBello

ROOKIE "B" RESULTS (8 LAPS) - 1) Ralph Hotchkiss, 2) Wayne Keyes, 3) Ed
Bishop, 4) Bill Hammell, 5) Tom Bungay, 6) Chris Claus, 7) Don Belanger, 8)
Jim Keough, 9) Phil Wood, 10) E. J. Legeyt, 11) Michael Kratz, 12) Mike

PURE STOCK "A" RESULTS (8 LAPS) - 1) Bob Burl, 2) Jim O'Neil, 3) Ronald
Johnson, 4) Jon Betz, 5) Jeff Kuhnow, 6) Jeff Douglass, 7) Larry Megan, 8)
Robert Brown, 9) Pierre Dupont, 10) D.T. Pickard, 11) Mark Huston, 12) Mark
Stevens, 13) Henry Dickinson, 14) Marcus Tifft, 15) Ron Tritschler

PURE STOCK "B" RESULTS (8 LAPS) - 1) Wally Engel, 2) Jim Hankey, 3) Ryan
Larkin, 4) Dave Atwater, 5) Kevin Dolan, 6) Jay Martin, 7) Jamie Reutenauer,
8) Ron Hapeman, 9) Michael Dianda, 10) Chrissy Hilt, 11) Doug Moore, 12) Don
Coon, 13) Seth Spencer, 14) Randy Brink, 15) Paul Handlowich

PURE STOCK "C" RESULTS (8 LAPS) - 1) Peter Wiegand, 2) Rich Harkins, 3) Todd
Pelkey, 4) Jim Dellea, 5) Bob Palmer, 6) George Miles Jr, 7) Earl Soulier Jr,
8) Chris Streeter, 9) Michael Davis, 10) Randy Myers, 11) Eric Sbrega, 12)
David Stickles, 13) Bruce Moffit, 14) Brian Sandstedt, 15) Gene Cushman

PURE STOCK "D" RESULTS (8 LAPS) - 1) Joshua Brandt, 2) Jason Casey, 3) John
Connor Jr, 4) Robert Gibson, 5) Joe DiStefano, 6) Steve Hatch, 7) Mike
Witherell, 8) Nick Hilt, 9) Fay Fachini, 10) Lee Gallant, 11) Kory Sandstedt,
12) Ryan Coon, 13) Dwayne Dauski, 14) Mike Middleton, 15) John Denue

Back to the Archives