Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Topless Pauch Is Tops At New Egypt
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 19, 2001 08:43 AM UIN: 16262997
Topless Pauch Is Tops At New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (August 18) - How good is Billy Pauch at New Egypt Speedway?
In Saturday's Topless Night Modified feature, sponsored by Century 21, the
track's two-time Modified champ pitted on lap 2, changed a right-front flat
tire, and still stormed back to easily grab his eighth checker on the year,
and the 37th of his career at the central Jersey tri-oval.

"We fixed the flat but the heim end was twisted backwards and we were lucky
it didn't break. We were pretty fortunate to finish," Pauch said in victory
lane. Of his chances for a third Modified track championship, Pauch
commented, "You just race to win and if the championship happens - well, you
worry about that the last couple of races."

The Topless Night gimmick saw the Mods shed their roofs for the night, and
the fans got their share of some real wheel-twisting, open-cockpit action.
Mike Hendershot wound up the early competition before a lap 9 red for a
melee in which Tim Tanner Jr. caught fire halted the race. Medics checked
out Tanner, who was okay. When action resumed, Hendershot and Rocco Infante
made a real race of it, with Hendershot flying high and Infante low in the
radar, the duo almost dead-even around the speedway. Pauch made it a trio on
lap 18, right before Infante finally muscled under Hendershot for the lead.
It was short-lived: Following a lap 21 caution flag, Pauch took Infante high
off turn 4 and it was all over. Pauch scored #8 a straightaway ahead of
Infante, Kenny Brightbill (who rebounded from a lap 2 skirmish), Hendershot
and Keith Hoffman.

The Sportsman division also ran topless this night, and it was Ringoes, NJ's
Ryan Godown narrowly avoiding a trip to the wall on lap 5 to ink his sixth
victory of 2001 in the curfew-shortened event. Early race leader Chuck
Flesch finished second, with Jeff Geiges third, Chris Wasson fourth and Joey
Tinnes, Jr. in fifth.

Al Cheney III of Cranbury, NJ continued to dominate the Street Stock class,
scoring his fifth of the year to extend his division point lead. Bill
Gerber, Billy Bauer, Bill Bauma and Rich Page II trailed the charging Cheney
at the stripe.

It was also Banner Night at New Egypt Speedway, with Century 21 Mortgage and
B&R Realty awarding a 19-inch color TV to the adult winner and a Nintendo
Gameboy to the under-12 winner in the annual banner competition. Century 21
Action Plus and Major Realty offices presented bicycles to two lucky kids,
and there were tons of other giveaways showered on the fans, courtesy of
Century 21.

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by Pauch (Mods, 18.235), Godown (Sportsman, 19.300) and
Cheney (Street Stock, 20.597).

Next Saturday, Mid-State Communications presents Future Winners Night at New
Egypt, with a special race for Modified drivers who have never won a feature
event. A full card of big-block Modified, Sportsman and Street Stock action
completes the program. Adult admission is $14, children 7-12 are $5, and
kids 6 and under are free. For more information, call the track at (609)

1st Heat: 1.Hoffman 2.Radd 3.Cox 4.Drayton 5.Ostwald 6.Weaver
2nd Heat: 1.McVay 2.Hendershot 3 R.Infante 4.Velenger 5.Grosso Jr. 6.Pauch
3rd Heat: 1.Tanner Jr. 2.Brightbill 3.Hager 4.Dmuchowski 5.Bohn 6.Cozze
B Main: 1.McCaughey 2.Koczon 3.Butler 4.Martz 5.Carberry 6.VanGorder (Fan
Prov: Bitner)
Feature (30 laps):
1.Billy Pauch 2.Rocco Infante 3.Kenny Brightbill 4.Mike Hendershot 5.Keith
Hoffman 6.Darren McCaughey 7.Eddie Bohn 8.Frank Cozze 9.Bob Drayton 10.Mark
Bitner 11.Larry McVay 12.Brian Weaver 13.Scott VanGorder 14.Doug Ostwald
15.Fred Dmuchowski 16.Ron Jon Koczon 17.Gary Butler 18.Donnie Radd 19.Tom
Carberry 20.Sam Martz 21.Rick Grosso Jr. 22.Tom Hager 23.Tim Tanner Jr.
24.Gary Velenger 25. Phil Cox
DNQ: Steve Moss, John Miloszar Jr., Willie Osmun, Richie Rutski, Bob
Worthington, Stan Frankenfield, Larry Archer.

1st Heat: 1.Tinnes 2.B.Godown 3.Kessler 4.Dixon 5.Butler
2nd Heat: 1.Reutter Jr. 2.Wasson 3.Scherer 4.Geiges 5.Lyons
3rd Heat: 1.Hoffman 2.Ploski III 3.Flesch 4.J.Papiez 5.Mears
4th Heat: 1.R.Godown 2.Toth 3.Tomasko 4. Harris (DQ) 5.Meisner Jr.
1st B Main: 1.M. Papiez 2.Scagliotta 3.Foster 4.Robbins
2nd B Main: 1.D.Liedl 2.Hager 3.Fleming 4.A. Liedl 5.Stravinsky
Feature (20 Laps):1.Ryan Godown 2.Chuck Flesch 3.Jeff Geiges 4.Chris Wasson
5.Joe Tinnes Jr. 6.Keith Foster 7.Gary Hager 8.Phil Meisner Jr. 9.Tom
Tomasko 10.Rich Scagliotta 11.Doug Liedl 12.Gene Stravinsky 13.J.C Mears
14.Jim Scherer 15.Joe Papiez 16.Dave Hoffman 17.Art Liedl 18.Rob Pfister
19.**** Robbins 20.Brian Godown 21.Mike Lyons 22.Matt Papiez 23.Keith
Fleming 24.Mickey Kessler 25.Stan Ploski III 26.Mike Reutter Jr. 27.John
Dixon 28.Mike Toth. Brett Butler (DNS)
DNQ: Rob Pfister, Pat McBride, Mike Mongiello III, Dave Wiszniewski, Rick
Yard, Kenny Roth, Christiaan Van Schuyler, John McClelland, Donnie Kline,
George Idell Jr., Dominick Buffalino, Frank Kukla, Scott Reid, Dan Austin,
Bob Kaelin, Jimmy Hoelterling, Jack Swain, Bruce Leote, Brian Pearson, Rich
Kuiken, Rick Raisner, Rich McTighe, Dave Gorbatuk, Joe Szwed, Brien Ely,
Dave Woolston, Jimmy Harris, Rob Schuster, Matt Kaminkas, John Snook, John

1st Heat: 1.Mongiello 2.Gerber 3.Fleming 4.Idell Sr. 5.Hansen 6.Guyer
2nd Heat: 1.Collier (DQ) 2.Cheney III 3.Nixon 4.Jn.Hewitt 5.Byrne 6.Bauer
3rd Heat: 1.Mongeau 2.Roveda 3.M.Page 4.Guker III 5.Gargiulo 6.R. Page II
B Main: 1.Freiberger 2.Bauma 3.Apgar 4.Bubeck 5.Whitehouse 6.Flores
7.Conaway 8.Berardi
Feature (15 laps): 1.Al Cheney III 2.Bill Gerber 3.Billy Bauer 4.Rich Page
II 5.Bill Bauma 6.Pat Freiberger 7.Mario Page 8.Ralph Gargiulo 9.Pat Conaway
10.Keith Flores 11.Larry Bubeck 12.George Quinlan 13.Evan Berardi 14.Wayne
Hansen 15.Carol Whitehouse 16.Kenny Guyer 17.Kory Fleming 18.John Hewitt
19.Brian Nixon 20.Blair Guker III 21.Richie Byrne 22.Jake Roveda 23.Steve
Mongiello 24.Tim Apgar 25.Joe Mongeau. George Idell Sr. (DNS)
DNQ: Spider Ensinger, Jim Hewitt, Todd Dige, Weldon Collier, Robert Melton,
Steve Barnes, Tommy Lainhart, Chuck Barker, George McCall, Bill Miscoski, Al
Burdge, Dave Cologna, Jason Seredy, Bob Vaccaro, George Unfried, Whitey
Miller, Ron Barnstead, Tim Horner, Joe Garey, Billy Dagostino.

Back to the Archives