Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 19, 2001 08:40 AM UIN: 16262997

Media Contact: Judy Gower (724) 853-RACE/

IMPERIAL, PA…John Flinner of Zelienople and Venetia's Ben Miley split the QPI
Tools Late Model Twin 20's Saturday night at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor
Speedway. Other winners on Leschak Automotive and Collision Center night
were: Al Atallah of Carnegie in the Limited Late Models, Calcutta, OH's
Larry Kugel in the E-Modifieds, Frankie Schneider of Pittsburgh in the
Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks and Bob Schwartzmiller of Robinson Township
in the Amateur Stocks.

The first QPI Tools Late Model feature saw Flinner take advantage of his
front row starting spot to take the lead at the drop of the green. Flinner
maintained his lead over Jason Cisson through several early cautions. Davey
Johnson took over second on lap five when Cisson slapped the front stretch
wall. On the restart, Flinner was able to keep Johnson at bay, and drove a
steady race to collect his tenth career Late Model win at Dirt's Monster Half
Mile. Johnson settled for second, with eleventh starting Ed Ferree third,
Jim Zarin fourth and Keith Barbara fifth. Lance Elson, Mike Johnson, Ben
Miley, Ralph Hysong Jr., and Brent Rhebergen completed the top ten. Cisson
and D. Johnson won the preliminaries. Zarin was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

With the top eight finishers inverted from the first twenty lapper, the
second half of the QPI Tools Late Model twin bill saw Ben Miley dart into the
lead from the pole. Mike Johnson took up the chase on Miley before he was
sidelined with a flat tire on lap five. Keith Barbara inherited second on
the restart, but had nothing for the fleet Miley, who drove off for his fifth
win of the season. Barbara, Davey Johnson, Flinner and Elson rounded on the
top five. Monarch Oil Hard Charger - Dave Wade, Jim Lepro, Lou Bradich, D.J.
Miller and Brent Rhebergen were sixth through tenth respectively.

Mike Morgan lead the first eleven laps of the Limited Late Model feature
before Al Atallah made what would be his winning pass. Atallah drove off for
his fifth win of the season. Morgan settled for second with Jim Stephans
third, Danny Rich fourth and Bobby Castlevetter fifth. Tony Musolino was
sixth, Jon Hodgkiss seventh, Wayne Tessean eighth, Brian Laraway ninth, and
Pete Loria Tenth. Monarch Oil Hard Charger - Danny Rich, and Loria won the
heat races.

Larry Kugel tied his single season record by capturing his 13th E-Modified
feature. Ralph Hysong Jr. was second, early race leader Jeff Broniszewski
third, Kurt Halbedl fourth and Scott Gunn fifth. Jeff Bametzrider was sixth,
Mike Anderson seventh, Gordan Schrader eighth, and Joe Brown ninth. Halbedl
won the heat race. Kugel was again the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Ending a dry spell that dated back to April of last season, Frankie
Schneider roared to the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stock feature win. Craig
Kamicker was a close second, Charlie DiLoreto third, Bob Heim fourth and
Stacie White fifth. Rich Apolito, Doug Foster, Daryl Robison, Dave Beck and
Neal Isiminger completed the top ten.

Bob Schwartzmiller withstood the late race challenges of Butch Levandosky
to claim the Amateur Stock feature. Bobby Siemon was third, Ian Tomei fourth
and John Cain fifth.

This Saturday, August 25th, the Limited Late Models will run the annual
Fall Classic 40/ Jook George Memorial. The QPI Tools Late Models,
E-Modifeds, Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and Amateur Stocks will also be
in action along with a Demolition Derby to cap-off the night.


QPI TOOLS LATE MODELS: Heat Race Winners: Jason Cisson, Davey Johnson
1st 20 Lap Feature: 1) John Flinner 2) Davey Johnson 3) Ed Ferree 4) Jim
Zarin 5) Keith Barbara 6) Lance Elson 7) Mike Johnson 8) Ben Miley 9)
Ralph Hysong 10) Brent Rhebergen 11) Chuck Moury 12) Jim Lepro 13) DJ
Miller 14) Lou Bradich 15) Joe Campbell 16) Butch D'Antonio 17) Dave Wade
18) Len Dobrosielski 19) Jason Cisson 20) Bob Williams 21) Ricky Heim

2nd 20 Lap Feature: 1) Ben Miley 2) Keith Barbara 3) Davey Johnson 4)
John Flinner 5) Lance Elson 6) Dave Wade 7) Jim Lepro 8) Lou Bradich 9)
DJ Miller 10) Brent Rhebergen 11) Ed Ferree 12) Ralph Hysong 13) Chuck
Moury 14) Joe Campbell 15) Len Dobrosielski 16) Mike Johnson 17) Jason
Cisson 18) Jim Zarin 19) Ricky Heim (DNS) 20) Bob Williams (DNS) 21)
Butch D'Antonio (DNS)

LIMITED LATE MODELS: Heat Race Winners: Danny Rich, Brian Laraway
Feature (20 Laps): 1) Al Atallah 2) Mike Morgan 3) Jim Stephans 4) Danny
Rich 5) Bobby Castelveter 6) Tony Musolino 7) Jon Hodgkiss 8) Wayne
Tessean 9) Brian Laraway 10) Pete Loria 11) Louie Bradich 12) George
Kowatic 13) Kirk Young 14) Vince Teatino 15) Tom Duratz 16) Bob Damron
17) Tom Schirnhofer 18) George Bland 19) Tom Bateman 20) Tom Bateman Jr.
21) Jesse Burroughs (DNS)

E-MODIFIEDS: Heat Race Winner: Kurt Halbedl
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Larry Kugel, 2) Ralph Hysong 3) Jeff Broniszewski 4)
Kurt Halbedl 5) Scott Gunn 6) Jeff Bametzrider 7) Mike Anderson 8) Gordon
Schrader 9) Ray Brown 10) Matt Smith 11) Randy McElheney 12) Herm Myers

ISIMINGER'S PURE STOCKS: Heat Race Winners: Doug Foster, Dave Beck
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Frankie Schneider, 2) Craig Kamicker 3) Charlie
DiLoreto 4) Bob Heim 5) Stacie White 6) Rich Apolito 7) Doug Foster 8)
Darryl Robison 9) Dave Beck 10) Neal Isiminger 11) Brian Scheller 12)
Shawn Bryan 13) Wayne Johnson 14) Bob Betz 15) AJ Poljak 16) Mike McCord
17) Mark Jaworski 18) Ryan Marks 19) Joe Anthony (DNS) 20) Jimmy Arnold
(DNS) 21) Chris Langham (DNS)

AMATEUR STOCKS: Feature (12 Laps) 1) Bob Schwartzmiller 2) Butch
Levandosky 3) Bobby Siemon 4) Ian Tomei 5) John Cain 6) Josh Langer 7)
Gabe Hahka 8) Glenn Knopp 9) Davy Lee 10) Steve Levandosky

Back to the Archives