Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Simeon Takes Street Stock Win at Pike County Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 19, 2001 08:39 AM UIN: 16262997
Simeon Takes Street Stock Win
Sue DuRoy August 18,2001 Pike County Speedway
The pits were over flowing with race cars to include 24 late models.
Novice B main only one car was legal in the top five and that was second
place Joel Brown who got the win, second went to Jerry Arnold, third Larry
Disotell, fourth Rustin Cain, and fifth to newcomer Doug Gable.
Novice A main Heath Chambliss took the lead on the start and led every
lap and scored the win. Austin Butler ran second followed by Gary Pettit.
Pettit got pushed up high into the back wall and spun across the track
missing the whole field as they passed him. On the restart he was placed back
in third. On the restart Tudy Jackson took over third dropping Pettit to
fourth. Trouble broke out on the last lap. In turn four Tudy Jackson tapped
Mike Carter causing him to spin. Carter retaliate by slamming into Jackson.
Carter was banned from the track for his action. Austin Butler took second,
Tudy Jackson third, Bill Lee fourth and Gary Pettit fifth. Heat wins went to
Chambliss, Terry Lee, and Gary Pettit.
Pure Stock had an 18 car field for the feature. From the pole Jimmy
Stephens took the lead followed by a three wide battle for second between
Leonard Barrilleaux, Jamie Blades and Hardy McMillan. Blades took over the
lead and led the rest of the way taking the win followed by Hardy McMillan
that gave it all he had but couldn't catch Blades and had to settle for
second. Third went to Ryan Whitehead, fourth Chad Coon, and fifth Jimmy
Stephens. Stephens, Blades and Barrilleaux shared the heat wins.
Curt Lipsey and Billy Gordon took the heat wins for Super Stock. Gordon
blasted right into the lead followed by Donald Collins and Robert Morel side
by side for second. Collins got into second then in turn four Morel got under
Collins and touched his left front bumper causing him to spin. On the restart
Collins was placed at the rear. Billy Gordon sailed to another victory
followed by Robert Morel, Charles Sibley, and Donald Collins in a few laps
worked his way from the rear and finished fourth. Fifth was three wide
between Bryan Moran, Curt Lipsey, and Joey Humphreys.
It was Matthew Simeon's night, after sharing heat win with Reuben Allred
Simeon from the pole blasted into the lead and never looked back. Tyrone
Taylor and Carl Bourgeois running wheel to wheel got into the tires on the
back straightaway and both rolled. On the restart it was Simeon again. Robert
Ringo Rn second but there was no catching Simeon raced up another win
followed by Robert Ringo, Tommy Cannon, Tom Mader and Jamie Hamilton.
The 24 late models were divided into three heat. Curt Lipsey, Chris Hoyt
and Kevin Watts took the wins. Curt Lipsey brought the 22 car field off turn
four on the start then ran wheel to wheel with Chris Hoyt to turn one where
Lipsey pulled into the lead. In turn four third place Donald Watson got under
second place Hoyt and they touched and Watson spun halfway, Brant Tirello,
Kevin Watts, Larry Riter, JB Babin, Sam Patrick, Eric Courville and Ted
Johnson all piled up in four. On the restart Watson tagged the rear. On the
restart it was Lipsey leading the field. Watts took over second from Hoyt and
worked on Lipsey getting close a couple times, but Lipsey always got a couple
car lengths breathing room after cautions. Riter took over second. On a
restart he got under Lipsey and got into him. A few laps later Lipsey had a
flat tire and had to go in the pits. On the last lap Kevin Watts took over
the lead from Hoyt and scored the win. Hoyt second. Rodney Sheridan should
have a hard charger award. He started 12th and finished third, Ted Johnson
finished fourth and fifth went to Herberger.
Ron Grandel and Chad Williams took the UMP heat wins. Grandel took the
lead on the start Williams second. Twice they swapped the lead. In the turns
Grandel slowed and Williams was always right behind him. On the last lap
Grandel slowed and Williams got under him, made contact and around Grandel
went. Billy Collette took the win , Williams second was disqualified, so
second went to Michael Blount, third Donnie Simpson, fourth Kris Purser, and
fifth Steve Wilson.
Carolyn Dean took the powder puff win after Lee led and spun allowing
Dean and Rose Lee to pass. Lee passed Rose Lee and finished second. Rose Lee

Back to the Archives