Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   EDWARDS WINS FIRST 410 SPRINT FEATURE SINCE 1985 at Sharon
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 18, 2001 03:53 AM UIN: 16262997


Hartford(OH)…With no moon in sight, the evenings show went as if a full moon
was shining bright! With racing interrupted by red flags, medical
emergencies, pedestrian/race car collisions and tempers at their peak the
12th Friday night race turned into a two day affair.

To correct an omission from last week, the inaugural Sharon Seniors
comprised of retired drivers was a huge success. Capturing the top spot in
their 12 lap feature using stock cars currently in the point chase at Sharon
Speedway, found Chuck Harshman in winner circle, Lou Morrocco as first loser,
Bill Gabrielson third, Bobby Johnson fourth, Jack Pearce fifth, Steve
D'Apolito sixth, Don Williams seventh, Frank Ferry eighth. Again we apologize
for the ommision.

Pacing the 22 car Sunburst Environment Sprints to the green, Mike Lutz and
Gary Edwards took the initial start with Edwards moving into the top position
by the end of the first go around. Surviving two red flags and one caution,
Edwards fended off several challenges from current point leader Jarod Larson.
Edwards who has had great success in the early 80's retired for a few seasons
only to come back driving a 360 Sprint with equal success capturing several
wins at both Hickory Motor Speedway and Mercer. With Edwards winning his
first 410 Sprint feature since 1985 forcing Larson to settle for second,
bringing home the third place spot was Mike Lutz, Brian Ellenberger fourth
and Mike Kekich fifth. Heats, Larson and Schrum.

On the pole for the Gibson-Governor Insurance V-8 Modifieds was the 10 of
local favorite Lou Blaney and the 32 of last weeks feature winner Jim Rasey
taking the green of the 21 car field. Blaney who has been winless in the past
month, jumped to the lead and drove away from the field to the checker,
surviving 4 cautions in the process. Rasey followed to yet another second
place finish, keeping him second in the points battle. Scott Gurdak 3rd.
John Braymer 4th and Dave Schrader rounding out the top five. Heats Rasey,
Crawford and Blaney.

The Coy-Bros. Trucking E-Mods where paced the 28 car field to the green by
Russ Dunn and Bob McCann. Dunn motored to the lead of the caution filled,
time shortened event, (for the third straight time). 3rd place starter Jeff
Rudrick raced to the lead on lap 3, holding on to lap 4, with Dunn regaining
the top position going on to take the checker flag and securing the 2001
track championship. Rudrick settled for second, Rick Robinson from 12th to
3rd , Jeff Johnson 4th and Steve Haefke 5th. Heats Jr. Mechling, Rudrick,

Steve Babos and Steve D'Apolito brought the 28 car Burghill Auto Salvage
Stock car field to their opening laps, with Babos leading the way for the
first five laps. The hotly contested fifteen lap feature was finally won by
first time visitor Andy Buckley coming from his 6th place starting position.
Rounding out the top five was Dave Willoughby, Rich Allen, Carl Davis and
28th starter Gary Robinson. Heats Clay, Kapalin and Ferringer.

Making their final appearance to the Speedway this season was the Snap-On
tools Micro Sprints. With Russ Koss and Bill Cunningham pacing the field.
With the drop of the green, Chad Reitz moved to the point, surviving 2 red
flags and one caution.
Finishing out the top five of the 15 car field where, Brian Riddle, Jason
Dolich, Brandon Casper and Nathan Stein. Heats, Felix and Kapuchuck.

Sprints: 1)Edwards, 2)Larson, 3)Lutz, 4) Ellenberger, 5)Kekich, 6)Schuller,
7)Stimeling, 8)Ripper, 9)McCollum, 10)Hartzell, 11)Etzel, 12)Beasley, DNF,
Priest, Ling, Harshman, McKinney, Schrum, Straley, Braden, McKisson, DNS
Barris, O'Malley.

Modifieds: 1)Blaney, 2)Rasey, 3)Gurdak, 4)Braymer, 5)Schrader, 6)Weller,
7)Dorman, 8)Snyder, 9)Crawford, 10)Weller III, 11)Kuchta, 12)Rougeux,
13)Mattocks, 14)Boyer, 15)Moy, 16)Kristyak, 17)King. 18)Michaels, 19)Ferry,
DNF Hoffman, DNS Moore, Kress, Chronister.

E-Mods: 1)Dunn, 2)Rudrick, 3)Robinson, 4)Johnson, 5)Haefke, 6)S. Stiffler,
7)Jones, 8)Taft, 9)Willison, 10)Sharp, 11)Domhoff, 12)Diver, 13)Phillips,
14)McCann, 15)Myers, 16)R. Stiffler, 17)Lesky, 18)Rector, 19)Jr. Mechling,
20)Brain Crouch. 21)White, 22)Rich Jaeger, DNF Ron Jeager, Abbot, Jim
Mechling, Jasinski, Bruce Crouch.

Stocks: 1)Buckley, 2)Willoughby, 3)Allen, 4)Davis, 5)Robinson, 6)Waldele,
7)Kapalin, 8)Babos, 9)Clay,10)Porter, 11)Miller, 12)D'Apolito, 13)Ferringer,
14)Cornell, 15)Hudzik, 16)Flavell, 17)Haas, 18)Seaman, 19)George,
20)Stambaugh, 21)Kennedy, 22)Kowolski, DNF, Felicetty, Williams, Riffe,
Moody, Amato, Wheat. DQ, Stankey

Micros: 1)Reitz, 2)Riddle, 3)Dolich, 4)Casper, 5)Stein, 6)Koss, 7)Kupuchuck,
8)McConnell, 9)Weaver, DNF, Robertson, Cunningham, Best, Daniels, Williams,

Our final regular show finds ABC Supply Co. sponsored, Coy-Bros.
Classic/York Triathlon 20 lap E-Mod feature. Appearing along with the E-Mods
are the V-8 Modifieds, 410 Sprints, and Stock Cars. Also the Reese Services
X-10 Paving Parking Lot Drags rescheduled from the August 3rd show. $25 lap
sponsorships are still available for the 20 lap Coy-Bros. E-Mod feature and
may be secured by contacting the track office or Fran Harshman at
330-772-5481. Points will also be ending for the Sprints, Modifieds and Stock

Bringing the 2001 racing season to it's conclusion at this grand ol' lady
of speed is the running of the 21st annual SHARON NATIONALS for a two day
engagement on Saturday September 1st and Sunday Sept 2nd. Headlining the
event will be the ALL STAR SPRINT series for both dates with a 30 lap $5000
to win feature on Saturday and a 40 lap $10,000 to win feature on Sunday.
Appearing with the sprinters on Saturday is the Russ King/BRP tour for the
V-8 Modifieds paying $2000 for the 20 event. Along with the sprints and
modifieds will be a special appearance by the Vintage Auto Racing Club.

Coming back on Sunday finds the ALL STAR SPRINTS and the crowd pleasing
Stock Cars putting on a 20 lap show for $500 to win. The Vintage cars also
return for an encore performance.

During the 20 year history of the SHARON NATIONALS the win list reads like
the who's who of sprint car racing with Steve Kinser, Lee Osborne, Kelly
Kinser, Doug Wolfgang, Dave Blaney, Kenny Jacobs, Mark Kinser, Todd Shaffer,
Joey Kuhn, Fred Rahmer, Dale Blaney, Tyler Walker, Greg Hodnett, Joey Saldana
and Phil Cressman walking away with the top prize.

For those of you that are interested in purchasing lap sponsorships, they
are available for the Sprints and Modifieds on Saturday and Sprints and Stock
Cars on Sunday at $25 per lap, and may be purchased by contacting the track
office or Fran Harshman at 330-772-5481.

Campers are always welcome at this historical event with a limited behind
the grandstand sites going for $25 per site with free camping available in
the north field and across the street from the track.

Ticket prices the Saturday event are $20 for adults, children ages 13-16,
$5.00, 6-12, $3.00, 6 and under free, with pit passes going for $25. Sunday
Admissions being $25 for adults, and children prices staying the same as
Saturday, pit passes being $30. Gates will be opening at 4:00 on both days.

Anyone wishing to send get well wishes to Modified driver Joe Crawford's
father, Richard, may do so at the following address.
Richard Crawford C/O Shady Side Hospital, 5200 Center Ave. Pittsburgh, Pa.,
15213 or you may phone him at 412-623-5413. Get well wishes also go out to
Marty Ling's father, Bob, who received a kidney transplant Friday the 17th.
Marty's brother Rodney donated his kidney to his father.

For information call the track office at 330-772-5481 or 724-287-4938 or
visit our web site at www. Sharonspeedway. com. Sharon Speedway is located
1mile east of route 7 on route 305 then south on Custer-Orangeville Rd.

Back to the Archives