Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Wesley LaFleur Takes the Mini Stock Special at Baton Rouge Raceway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 18, 2001 03:01 AM UIN: 16262997
Wesley LaFleur Takes the Mini Stock Special
Sue DuRoy August 17,2001 Baton Rouge Raceway
Mark Hardwick jumped into the lead on the start of the pure stock
feature. Darrel Guy moved into second and then took over the lead. The first
caution flew when third place Buddy Payne broke a radiator hose and left the
track. On the restart Rodney Ravencraft and Tim Moran split a lap car for
third spot. Couple laps later Ravencraft spun jumping the berm on the front
straightaway and into the infield. Off turn four Zane Barcelona took over
second. Yellow flew when Johnny Michel went up in a cloud of blue. Guy took
the win by several car lengths over Zane Barcelona, Tim Moran, Mark Hardwick
and Shay Juban. Hardwick, Barcelona, and Guy all shared heat wins.
Elvis Turbville and Tom Dancy shared heat wins for the Mini Stock
special. First lap was a five car pile up in four. Scotty Covington was out
of the race after that. Larry Clayton went to the pits under yellow and
returned in time to start. Donna Everett was able to continue on. On the
complete restart LaFleur took the lead followed by Tom Dancy. Turn two Dancy
spun and three cars nailed him. That ended his night of racing. On the
restart Elvis Turbville took the lead followed by LaFleur. Turbville spun in
four and earned a trip to the rear. Like a bolt of lightning Turbville is
back up to second then broke in turn two and was towed to the pits. LaFleur
went on t0o win by a whole straightaway over Donna Everett, Cliff Temple,
Melvin Sibley, and Sidney Persilver.
Shannon Graham and Bobby Tate took the street stock heat wins. Scooter
Paetz took the lead on the drop of the green. Something happened to Scooter
and he fell off the pace, Bobby Tate took over the lead. Second place Graham
pulled beside the leader Tate but Tate hung on to the lead. Third place Tommy
Cannon got a nose under Graham trying to get second from Graham. Bobby Tate
scored the win followed by Graham, Cannon, Reuben Allred and Robert Ringo.
Gene Commas and Eric Courville were the late model heat winners. 6 car
pile up in two brought out the yellow and a complete restart. Michael
Blackard, David Ashley, Kevin Watts, Rodney Sheridan, Eric Courville, and
Kerry Vicknair. On the complete restart it was Chris Wall again with the
lead. Wall lead every lap to score the win followed by Sam Patrick. These two
had a whole straightaway over third place Gene Comas, Kevin Watts and Eric
Courville. Jason Polite was the Timberwolf Hard charger.
James Ward, Billy Collette and Jerry Cassano all shared heat wins for
UMP. On the start Jerry Cassano from outside the front row blasted into the
lead followed by James Ward and Jeff Martello. A lap later Cassano fell off
the pace with mechanical problems and retired to the pits. James Ward took
over as leader. Chad Williams running fifth spun coming out of four and also
retired to the pits. Dale Aucoin moved to second then suffered problems and
retired to the pits also. Jeff Martello and Billy Collett swapped second over
and over. Donnie Simpson after starting in the rear of the 20 car field
worked his way to fifth. James Ward set sail and was long gone taking another
win. Billy Collett finally got second from Martello. At the finish line
Martello and Curtis Vicknair crossed the line in a photo finish with Martello
getting third because he had Vicknair by about 2 inches of nerf bar. Curtis
Vicknair took fourth and Bobby Semple worked his way up to finish fifth.

Back to the Archives