Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Fauver Takes Grays Harbor Raceway Park Win
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 17, 2001 05:08 AM UIN: 16262997
Fauver Takes Grays Harbor Raceway Park Win

The Thursday night hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour race at Grays Harbor
Raceway Park in Elma, WA was a 30 lap battle between Jason Solwold and Rick
Fauver with Solwold showing the way for 23 laps before losing the lead and
the win. It was a lap 24 restart that the crowd on their feet as Burlington,
WA's Solwold and Everett, WA veteran Fauver battled wheel to wheel for a
full lap before Fauver finally edged ahead as they came off the fourth turn.
Solwold nailed down the lead from the pole position at the start as Fauver
was immediately challenged for second by Edmonton, AB driver Jeff Hodgson.
Hodgson worked past Fauver for second with a back straight pass just 6 laps
into the race as Shawna Wilskey and Barry Martinez gave chase close behind.
With the leader in traffic by the 7th circuit, Solwold started to open a
gap over Hodgson and Fauver that was filled with lapped cars.
A lap 13 yellow closed the pack and putting Fauver on Hodgson's rear nerf
to set him up for the regaining of second place with a back straight pass
two circuits later.
Another yellow closed the pack again on lap 16, but Solwold opened a 10 car
length lead with Fauver, Hodgson, Wilskey and Martinez about equidistant
Trailing the top five, Scott Aumen, Steve Walker and Jay Cole had a good
battle going for 6th the first half of the race with Aumen and Cole
continuing after Walker dropped out and Chad Hillier moved into the battle
after finally putting away Donny Fry and Roger Crockett as they had battled
for 10th
Gary Taylor set up the lap 24 restart when he lost the left front wheel
going into the first turn. Fauver tried high and low, running wing to wing
with Solwold and then edging ahead as they exited turn four toward the flag
For the final 5 laps, the top four were never more than 4 or 5 car lengths
apart and as they came off turn four Solwold gave it one last try, pulling a
wheelie as they raced to the checkered flag.
Martinez held his fifth place spot with Cole, Hillier, Aumen, Crockett and
Jayme Barnes filling out the top ten.
The B-main looked like it was going to be run on lap at a time as turn two
became a challenge that saw several drivers fall victim to the dreaded spin.
Scott Aumen took control from the initial green flag, with Donny Fry and
Rick Smith giving chase, and maintained the lead despite five yellow flags
in the 15 lap race.
Tony Menard and Barnes had the best race going early in the race as they
diced for third. Barnes took the a third of the way through as Joe Ramaker
put the challenge to Menard. On the 7th lap Ramaker made a dive for the
inside and tagged Menard's car, spun and recovered but was then tagged by
Geoff Beck, putting Beck out for the night.
Ramaker made his pass for third work 5 laps later when Menard slid high and
spun in the first turn. On the last 3 laps Fry put the pressure to Aumen and
manage to pull to within less than a car length at the finish line.
Following Aumen and Fry were Barnes, Ramaker and Brandon Harkness.
Randy Van Aagten won the 6 car, 6 lap, C-main over Shawn Rice. It took Rice
four laps to get past Steve Vague on the back chute, giving him the second
transfer spot in the best race of the event.
Hodgson took the lead on lap 3 of the first heat, passing leader Jeremy
Cooper and Wilskey in the process. Wilskey got second at the line from
Cooper on the next lap and they ran to the checkered flag in that order with
Glenn Borden taking the final transfer.
Heat 2 action had Cole going wire to wire as Solwold closed on him in the
final laps after coming from 6th place on the start. S. Walker and Tom
Waggoner took 3rd and 4th.
Gary Taylor had control of the point position the entire 10 laps of the 3rd
heat. Mike Sather held 2nd until he spun on the 5th go around and lost
several spots. Crockett took over 2nd with J. Harkness and Martinez
following to the finish
The final heat went to Jeff Thompson with a wire to wire run. With Thompson
in the lead by a quarter lap or more, Fauver and Roger McNulty followed with
a tight race for the final transfer spot raging between Rick Smith, Hillier
and Barnes. At the line it was Hillier taking fourth.
The dash went to Solwold with Fauver, Hodgson Wilskey, Martinez and S.
Walker trailing to set up the feature event top six line-up.
Fast time went to Hodgson with a 13.883 circuit of the track which has seen
the addition of new clay and a reconfiguring of the banking since the last
hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour race.

Fast Time - Jeff Hodgson - 13.883
Heat 1 - Jeff Hodgson, Shawna Wilskey, Jeremy Cooper, Glenn Borden, Jr.,
John Tharp, Geoff Beck, Ron Reed, Randy Van Aagten, Kasey Walker.
Heat 2 - Jay Cole, Jason Solwold, Steve Walker, Tom Waggoner, Donny Fry,
Shawn Rice, Tony Menard, Jim Cress, Steve Vague, Dawn-L Morrison.
Heat 3 - Gary Taylor, Roger Crockett, Jay Harkness, Barry Martinez, Joe
Ramaker, Scott Aumen, Scott Adams, Dan Dunlap, Mike Sather.
Heat 4 - Jeff Thompson, Rick Fauver, Robert McNulty, Chad Hillier, Rick
Smith, Melissa Yates, Tyler Pinceman, Jayme Barnes, Jim Walker..
Dash - Solwold, Fauver, Hodgson, Wilskey, Martinez, Walker.
C-Main - Van Aagten, Rice, Vague, Adams, J. Walker, K. Walker.
B-Main - Aumen, Fry, Barnes, Ramaker, Brandon Harkness, Van Aagten, Yates,
Menard, Pinceman, Reed, Beck, Rice, Smith, Dunlap, Sather, Tharp, Cress,
A-Main - Fauver, Solwold, Hodgson, Wilskey, Martinez, Cole, Hillier, Aumen,
Crockett, Barnes, Fry, Ramaker, Cooper, Thompson, Waggoner, McNulty, Taylor,
Borden, S. Walker, J. Harkness.


The Northwest's finest in
'Action Packed' 360 Sprint Car Racing

The Northwest's finest in
'Action Packed' 360 Sprint Car Racing

Back to the Archives