Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Jackson wins Midwest feature, Elliott's lead in points cut to one
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 15, 2001 06:01 PM UIN: 16262997
Jackson wins Midwest feature, Elliott's lead in points cut to one
DES MOINES, Iowa (Aug. 14) - Steve Jackson won the series race while Brian Blessington made a race of the series.
Jackson captured the Midwest Motorsports Best of the Midwest Series for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Cars feature at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway after getting the lead back when race - and series points - leader Mark Elliott suffered a flat tire.
Blessington made the main event field by winning the "B" qualifier. He started 17th in the feature and finished fifth, 14 spots ahead of Elliott.
That margin cut Elliott's advantage over Blessington in the point standings to just one, with a single event left. With Rick Brown and Jeremy Christians each eight points out of first, the foursome will decide the series championship Thursday night at the Luxemburg, Wis., Tri-Star Speedway.
Jackson started the feature from the eighth spot and needed less than five laps to take over the point. Elliott got by on the eighth circuit and set the pace until the inopportune flat on lap 15.
That gave the lead back to Jackson. Elliott was able to get a new tire on after a lap 19 caution, but Jackson checked out on the field after the ensuing re-start.
Jeff Anderson finished second, unable to challenge Jackson but able to keep Christians at bay in third. Tim Baker fought off Blessington in their tussle for fourth and Brown ran sixth.
The victory was the career series fourth for Jackson and his first on the tour since June 23 of 1998. Elliott also saw his record-matching streak of four consecutive wins come to an end. He'd established that mark enroute to the 1999 series crown.
Elliott, Jackson and Anderson ran 1-2-3 in their heat race.
Christians, Mike Todd and Rod Richards also won their heats.

Feature Results - 1. Steve Jackson, Des Moines; 2. Jeff Anderson, Atlantic; 3. Jeremy Christians, Horicon, Wis.; 4. Tim Baker, Winterset; 5. Brian Blessington, Breda; 6. Rick Brown, Kellogg; 7. Greg Shepherd, Des Moines; 8. Mike Todd, Altoona; 9. Rod Richards, Madrid; 10. Mike Nichols, Harlan; 11. Paul Anderson, Des Moines; 12. Travis Thorn-ton, Rhodes; 13. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee, Wis; 14. Josh Daniels, Des Moines; 15. Dave Murty, Chelsea; 16. Shane Stoneburner, Boone; 17. Maynard Davis, Des Moines; 18. Don Vis, State Center; 19. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 20. Ron Doolittle, Davenport; 21. Josh Walker, Mystic; 22. Tim Freiboth, Marshalltown; 23. Jason York, Boone; 24. Michael Walrod, DeSoto; 25. Mike Albertsen, Audubon.

Top Ten Series Point Standings - 1. Elliott, 324; 2. Blessington, 323; 3. Brown and Christians, both 316; 5. Jeff An-derson, 227; 6. Gretz, 186; 7. Albertsen, 147; 8. George Reeh, Missouri Valley, 122; 9. Shawn Anderson, Haverhill, 117; 10. Nichols, 102.


Back to the Archives