Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Kosiski tops Aikey, Deery Series field at Des Moines
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 15, 2001 06:01 PM UIN: 16262997
Kosiski tops Aikey, Deery Series field at Des Moines
By Kelly Becker
DES MOINES, Iowa (Aug. 14) - Joe Kosiski and Jeff Aikey went head to head when the series for I.M.C.A Sunoco Late Models started back in 1987.
They renewed their Deery Brothers Summer Series rivalry Tuesday night at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway in Des Moines, as Kosiski led the way to the checkers at the end of a see-saw battle that lasted most of the event's 35 laps.
The win was the first for Kosiski in series action since 1993. After exchanging the lead with Aikey six times, he pulled away at the end to win by five car lengths.
Chris Smyser, Ray Guss Jr. and new points leader Jason Friesen chased Aikey to the stripe and rounded out the top five.
Previous points leader Mark Burgtorf was running fourth in the late going when mechanical difficulties sent him to the pits. Late Model professional Billy Moyer never got a chance to show his stuff and exited in a more spectacular fashion after his car started on fire on lap six.
Moyer was not injured, but his charcoaled car was towed off and he was done for the night.
Kosiski started on the pole while Aikey moved up to challenge from his third row start.
Aikey worked his way around Smyser for second on the 13th lap. The last 22 circuits would see the lead bounce back and forth as Kosiski and Aikey dueled.
Gary Webb improved 12 spots from his start to finish 10th.
Heat winners were Smyser, Aikey, Terry Ryan, Jay Johnson and Johnny Johnson. "B" main wins went to defending series champion Mike Smith and Todd Cooney, the regular season track champ at Des Moines this season.
Seven races remain on the schedule and weather permitting, the Deery Series continues tonight (Wednesday) and Thursday with the Pepsi USA Nationals at 34 Raceway in West Burlington.

Feature Results - 1. Joe Kosiski, Omaha, Neb.; 2. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 3. Chris Smyser, Lancaster, Mo.; 4. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.; 5. Jason Friesen, Sutton, Neb.; 6. Brian Harris, Davenport; 7. Jay Johnson, West Burlington; 8. Rob Toland, Hillsdale, Ill.; 9. Johnny Johnson, West Burlington; 10. Gary Webb, Blue Grass; 11. Terry Ryan, Davenport; 12. Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun; 13. Mike Smith, Jewell; 14. Gary Russell, Biggsville, Ill.; 15. Jeremiah Hurst, DeWitt; 16. Chris Spieker, Massena; 17. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 18. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 19. Randy Faux, Earlham; 20. Mike Wiarda, Aurora, Neb.; 21. Dale Stolte, Springville; 22. Todd Cooney, Des Moines; 23. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, Ill.; 24. Mike Cothron, Moline, Ill.; 25. Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark.; 26. Jason Bahrs, Colona, Ill.; 27. Justin Wells, Crane, Mo.; 28. Brenton Slocum, Burlington.

Top Ten Series Point Standings - 1. Friesen, 376; 2. Burgtorf, 360; 3. Smith, 358; 4. Toland, 346; 5. Ryan, 330; 6. Russell, 328; 7. DeFrance, 300; 8. Slocum, 280; 9. Darbyshire, 274; 10. Osborn, 232.


Back to the Archives