Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Rain Halts James Nickoles Memorial at Columbus Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 13, 2001 01:42 PM UIN: 16262997
Rain Halts James Nickoles Memorial at Columbus Speedway

Columbus, Mississippi-Another night of records being broken was interrupted
by the remnants of a pesky tropical storm that reeked havoc on racing
activities across the southeast Saturday night. A record field of 144
racecars was in the Columbus Speedway pits chomping at the bit to take the
high banks of Columbus Speedway before the capacity crowd in attendance.
Rain moved in after the 42 Super Late Models on hand had finished qualifying
and during the first Mississippi Modified heat of the night. Speedway
management waited and waited for the rain to subside and it did not. After
consulting with the Air Force base and local TV weather professionals, the
event was postponed at close to 10pm.

The 3rd Annual James Nickoles Memorial for the Mississippi State
Championship Challenge Series by Premier Ford will pick up where it left off
on Saturday night September 29th. Fans and teams should keep your pit
armbands and rain checks for admittance for the rescheduled event, which
will crown the 2001 Mississippi State Champion. The rescheduled race will
also be a great chance for the Mississippi drivers to tune up for the
$15,000 to win Pepsi Magnolia State 100, which will be held on October 5th
and 6th.

Stuntman Kenny Powers will be back this Saturday night for the "Mississippi
Burning" stunt show. Powers is ready to crash and burn his stunt ready
vehicle for the Columbus Speedway faithful. The Saturday night racing
activities should be outstanding as the Pro Street and Cruiser Divisions
will be having their Summer Championships and this Saturday night will also
be the final night of the bounty on the "Wanted Man" Lee Ray in the Street
Stock division. Anyone that can beat Lee Ray will receive a $500 bounty
payment courtesy of the Columbus based Roy's Kitchen. There were 31 Street
Stocks in attendance when the rain came last weekend gunning for the
Columbus chauffer. All other in classes including the Pepsi Super Late
Models will be in action. Track manager Johnny Stokes has decided to only
charge regular admission for the high-powered event this Saturday night,
showing his appreciation for the outstanding fan support this year. Adult
admission is $10 with children under 12 admitted for free. Coolers and lawn
chairs are welcome. Racing action is scheduled to begin at 7:30pm.

A big Super Late Model special event looms in the near future as the
Arkansas based Mid American Racing Series (MARS) will be at Columbus
Speedway on August 24th and 25th for MARS "Columbus Chaos" presented by NAPA
Car Care of Columbus. The event will be the first ever MARS event in
Mississippi as the top drivers from across Mid America and the Deep South
will be on hand vying for close the $35,000 in Super Late Model prize money.
The "Columbus Chaos" weekend will feature two Full shows. There will be a
complete racing program on Friday night and a complete program on Saturday
night. Each show will have Qualifying races, B-Mains, and Feature events
with all classes in action.

For more information concerning all racing activities at Columbus Speedway
please visit or call the Columbus Speedway event
hotline at 662-241-5004.

A summary of the racing activities completed Saturday night before the rains
came included the "Raging Rebel" David Breazeale setting fast time with a
14.48 second lap over the stellar 42 car field of the best drivers in
Mississippi. Breazeale drew a "four" for the inversion factor, with the top
16 now set for the Championship 50 lapper on September 29th with the
remainder of the 24 car starting field will be set by two 12 lap B-Mains
along with two final provisional starters.

The entire top ten in MSCCS points were on hand supporting the event. The
race will determine the 2001 Mississippi State Champion along with
spotlighting the best Mississippi has to offer in the Dirt Super Late Model
ranks. The field is as follows:

Row 1: Scott Slay - Steve Russell
Row 2: Anthony Rushing - David Breazeale
Row 3: Scott Dedwylder - Tombo Callahan
Row 4: Mike Boland - Rodney Wing
Row 5: Shawn Edwards - Johnny Hughes
Row 6: Jerry Inmon - Mark Stokes
Row 7: Eddie Rickman - Randy Little
Row 8: Robbie Harvey - Danny Christian

Two 12 lap B-Mains with the top 3 transferring:

B Main #1
Row 1: Dean - Mayfield
Row 2: Hayes - Henry
Row 3: Tilley - Williams
Row 4: Weeks - Smith
Row 5: Houston - Fuller
Row 6: Dunnaway - Dodson
Row 7: Dorsey

B Main #2
Row 1: Steele - Hollingsworth
Row 2: Taylor - Hollis
Row 3: Gore - Walker
Row 4: Derryberry - Gray (Tony)
Row 5: Gray - Glasgow
Row 6: Watts - Shirley
Row 7: Holloway

Back to the Archives