Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 13, 2001 12:23 AM UIN: 16262997

Darren Miller used his lucky charms enroute to posting his second straight NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature event at the Dubuque Speedway on Sunday August 12th.

Starting the event in the twelfth slot, Miller quickly wrestled the lead away from Curt Hansen by the end of the first lap. Cruising on the open track, Miller was able to open up a comfortable lead over seventh place starter Luke Merfeld he took over second two laps later. A lap five caution failed to bring a challenge for the lead as Merfeld was forced to defend his runner up position from Denny Eckrich, spending the next three laps securing his standings before setting his sights back on the leader. Quickly catching, Merfeld shadowed Miller until lap fourteen when the leader bobbled in the first corner, providing an opportunity for Merfeld to take the lead. Unfortunately the yellow light flashed on before the lap was complete, putting Miller back in the lead. Unable to challenge again, Merfeld ran the remainder of the race in Miller's tracks, finishing second ahead of Gary Webb, Eckrich and Terry Neal.

Ryan Dolan posted his fifth Modified feature win of the season in one of the most exciting races of the season. Taking the lead away from Jason Schueller late in the race with a three wide dive into the corner following a lap sixteen restart Dolan wasn't able to rest comfortably until the white flag lap as battles raged on just behind him between Schueller, Ron Barker, Jed Hurst, Scott Nesteby and Bob Dominacki. Running three abreast almost every lap, those six drivers waged war until the checkered flew, putting Schueller in second followed by Barker, Hurst and Dominacki. Ty Kleiner parlayed his outside front row start into his first feature win of the season on the high-banked clay track. Unchallenged as Bobby Moyer fought to keep control of the runner up spot from Jeff Kennedy and Brian Culbertson, Kleiner cruised to the easy win. Moyer was able to keep his second place standing as the laps wound down, finishing ahead of Culbertson, Kennedy and points leader Dan Shelliam. Jeff Reinert posted his first Hobby Stock feature win of the season by holding off Larry Benn at the checkers, followed by Mark Massey, Duane Ahmann and TJ Leslein. BJ Schmitt survived a late race charge by Chad Hallahan in the Fun Cars to post his initial victory.

Points battles are heating up as the racing winds down for the 2001 season at the Dubuque Speedway. With only 3 points night left on the calendar everyone will be looking to topple points leaders Gary Webb, Ryan Dolan, Dan Shelliam, Jerry Merkes and Ray Fawcett. Hot Laps are scheduled each Sunday until Labor Day weekend at 6 pm with racing to follow. Raceday information and instant results can be found on your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory categories #3741 and 3740. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at

1. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
2. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
3. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
4. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
5. 12n Terry Neal Ely
6. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
7. 9 Curt Hansen Dike
8. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
9. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
10. 95 Ed Sanger Postville
11. b56 Brian Webb Davenport
12. 61r Jon Rogers Freeport IL
13. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
14. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
15. 35 Dave Englekens Clinton
16. 1m Robbie Moss Iowa City
17. 6 Mark Curwen Hazel Green WI
18. 51 Mel Abels Freeport IL
19. b27 Bob Silaggi Freeport IL
20. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
21. 21x Michael Recker Waterloo
22. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
23. 1b Kevin Miller Freeport IL
24. 27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI

17 Marty Scheckel Bellevue

1. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
2. 3 Jason Schueller Dubuque
3. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
4. 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
5. 5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf
6. 4 Jerry Miles Dubuque
7. 1d Mel Saffran Dubuque
8. 63 Scott Olson Preston
9. 27 Mark Schulte Delhi
10. 80 Denny Ansel Dubuque
11. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
12. 20 Cory Burmeister Glen Haven WI
13. 33 John Burbridge Delhi
14. 2** Jan Messer Manchester
15. 33w Steve Wetter Platteville WI
16. 15 Sean Rupp Dubuque
17. 18b Josh Brestrup Dubuque

1. 20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
2. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
3. 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
4. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
5. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
6. 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
7. 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
8. 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
9. 71 Bruce VanGordon Dubuque
10. 75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI
11. 88 Duane Roth Dubuque
12. 78 Bobby Goerdt Dubuque
13. 4 Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL
14. 71s Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
15. 99 Ken Martelle Dubuque

21 Dan Welp East Dubuque IL

1. 97 Jeff Reinert Farley
2. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
3. 30 Mark Massey Farley
4. 98 Duane Ahmann Epworth
5. 38 TJ Leslein Durango
6. 8k Terry Merkes Farley
7. 59 Mike Hughes Galena IL
8. 20x Jarvis Eastlick Platteville WI
9. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi
10. 61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI
11. 81 KC Ansel Dubuque
12. 20 Dan Albright Lisbon
13. 52 Pat Coleman Dubuque
14. 33 Jim Turpin Shullsberg WI


77 Jon Gulick

1. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
2. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
3. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque
4. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
5. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
6. 70 Lance Mish Cassville WI
7. 11p Tom Pluemer
8. 98 Terry Turpin Platteville WI
9. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
10. 11 Ann Brown Dubuque
11. 89 Kelly Welter Farley

Back to the Archives