Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Goodie P4 Shoes: Jamie Perry Wins 3rd SLM Feature
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 12, 2001 07:26 PM UIN: 16262997
Goodie P4 Shoes: Jamie Perry Wins 3rd SLM Feature
After last weekends tire incident all but one of the Super Late Models racers returned to Cleveland Speedway and didn’t let much stand in their way from racing upfront. Four of the top five finishers Saturday night proved themselves as all hooved the “Good Shoes” and put on a spectacular race under threatening skies. Jamie Perry (a.k.a. the Ringgold Kid) held off the field with masterful ease building up to over a straight away lead a one point in the 30 lap “A” Main feature for his 3RD win of the season. In the Hobby division “The Worksmeister” points leader Doug Works of Cleveland picked up a another win. Fellow Clevelander Bobby Doss won another Claimer Late Model feature over points leader Chris Powell. The Pony Stock winner was again points leader and defending division champion Justin Winters of Benton. And in the Street feature it was Herbert Chambers another Cleveland native taking the win in the 12 lap finale.

The SLM’s opened up with Budweiser: King of Speed Qualifying Time Trials. Cleveland native Dewayne Smith set the pace turning a 14:449 second lap. Smith was the dominate racer in the first of two Super Late Model heat races, defeating third fastest qualifier Andy Dill, Lamar Scoggins Randy Burrows and rookie contender James Gamble. In the second heat Jake Lowry (second fastest qualifier) and Perry raced for the outside pole starting position. It would be Perry rallying to win the heat as Lowry dropped and salvaged a fourth place run. Following Perry were; Mike Tinker and Kent Hicks with rookie Todd Morrow rounding out the top five. The SLM’s took the green on the third attempt and Smith & Perry drag raced around the TN Valley dirt track . Perry took command for good against Smith as caution appeared on the first circuit. After a lap two incident slowed the field Perry thwarted his “white-lightning” #P4 “Cedar Hill Poultry Farm, Sims Carpet Care, Ringgold Service Center” Rayburn Chevrolet Monte Carlo into a huge lead over Smith by lap 10. Reigning Track Champion Andy Dill had his hands full trying to fend off opponents from his third place spot. Dill fighting a tightening racecar saw Lamar Scoggins work by on lap 12, with Kent Hicks following a few laps later to take Dill’s fourth place position. John Owenby and Lowry got entangled off of turn four on lap 14 sending both racers to the pits for the night. Dill’s next opponent Mike Tinker found passage not so easy on Dill as the two raced for fifth. Hard contact off of turn four forced Dill into a spin under the flagstand, which resulted in the “Big Orange Machine” pilot to stand on the throttle to complete an impressive 360 degree spin and keep his mount under control. Despite the numerous cautions Perry was able to surmount an impressive win against his fellow top SLM talent of the area. With the track and the division championship’s winding down to the next few weeks, next Saturday night regular racing program will be highlighted with the special Pony Stock division “Pony Express 30” Championship race. For more details call the track or the visit the official speedway web-site .

Super Late Model:
1.Jamie Perry (# P4) of Ringgold GA
2.Dewayne Smith (# 21) of Cleveland
3.Lamar Scoggins (# 32) of Georgetown
4.Kent Hicks (# 15) of Cleveland
5.Andy Dill (# 39) of Georgetown
6.Chris Beavers (# 03) of Cleveland *
7.Mike Tinker (# 22) of Ringgold GA
8.Randy Burrows (# 95) of Chattanooga
9.Keith Frazier (# 11) of Cleveland
10.Todd Morrow (# T1) of Old Fort *

* Rookie of the Year Contender

Hobby: Winner -- Doug Works (# 35) of Cleveland
2.Glen Seaton Jr. (# 92), 3.James Nichols (# K3), 4.Richard Dixon (# 3), 5.Kenny Pierce (# 4)

Claimer Late Model: Winner – Bobby Doss (# 28), of Cleveland
2.Chris Powell (# P9), 3.Mark Cross (# 3), 4.Chad Anderson (# 17), 5.Glen Seaton III (# 92)

Pony Stock: Winner – Justin Winters (# J1) of Benton
2.Jimmy Brown (# 10), 3.Jason Spraker (# 25), 4.Danny Burnette (# 5), 5.Wendall Ingram (# 24)

Street: Winner – Herbert Chambers (# 31) of Cleveland
2.Sid Posey (# 13), 3.Donald Forgey (# 71), 4.Alex Nash (# 02), 5.Chad Holcomb (# T3)

Back to the Archives