Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 12, 2001 07:25 PM UIN: 16262997

Jeff Aikey and Terry Neal each took home a NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature win at the Farley Speedway during Kid's Night Double Features on Friday August 10th.

Aikey nabbed his eighth trip to victory lane in the opening event after rocketing to the front from his usual twelfth place starting position. Running third when the event's first caution came out, Aikey replaced Darren Mish on the point one lap later. Mish completed just one more lap before retiring to the pits with mechanical trouble. Dan Galant took over the second spot, pacing Aikey but unable to challenge despite a late race caution. Denny Eckrich was on the move late in the race, taking the third spot away from Ace Ihm before the lap 20 caution, but found his efforts thwarted by a flat right rear tire on the restart. Ihm returned to the third spot at the checkers, ahead of Luke Merfeld and Matt Furman.

The second feature event lined up with the top twelve finishers from the first inverted, putting Bobby Hansen and Duane Coulson on the front row. Coulson jumped out to the early lead while Neal began picking off cars from seventh and Aikey began his charge from twelfth. Rusty Zook replaced Coulson at the top of the leader board after a lap one caution, diving three wide into the first corner to advance from fourth into the lead in one corner. Eight laps later Neal chased down Zook, disposing of the leader by sweeping underneath in the first turn. Zook brought out the final caution himself on the fifteenth circuit, putting Aikey on Neal's rear bumper, but spent the final ten laps chasing as Neal picked up his second win of the season by crossing underneath he checkers ahead of Aikey, Furman, Mark Merfeld and Coulson.

Dan Chapman found the top groove to be fastest in Modified action, taking the lead on the opening lap and never looking back. Scott Nesteby gave early chase, inching closer each lap but falling from the chase with sixteen laps complete with motor troubles. Two laps later the yellow came out, putting Russ Olson on Chapman's rear bumper. Olson mirrored Chapman's line around the track but was unable to challenge for the lead, crossing the stripe second ahead of Ron Barker, Larry Herring and Bret Frieden. Dan Shelliam chased down John Maher to nab his fifth Pro Stock win of the season. Maher jumped out front early, hugging the inside of the racetrack to open up a huge lead over the rest of the pack. Shelliam found the cushion to be his best route around the high banked half mile and set sail, enjoying an open track around him Shellliam kept the hammer down and erased Maher's full straightaway lead by the ninth lap. Maher held on to second ahead of Jeff Tharp, Bobby Moyer and Jeff Kennedy. Jeff Reinert survived a last lap challenge from Mark Massey to strengthen his points lead by posting his second win. Massey held on to second for the second straight week, beating Ed McIntyre, TJ Leslein and Duane Ahmann to the checkers. Brian Strang led every lap of the Fun Car main event, posting his third win of the year ahead of Russ Yonkovic and Ray Fawcett.

Racing action returns to the "Palace of Speed" on Friday August 17th as the season winds down and drivers begin final preparations for the 24th Annual Yankee Dirt Track Classic. Hot laps are scheduled for 7 pm with racing to follow. For more information, please contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or on the internet at For raceday updates and instant results upon completion please call your local McLeod USA InTouch directory category #3740 or #3741.
Late Models Feature #1
1. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls
2. 33 Dan Galant Clinton
3. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
4. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
5. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City
6. 12n Terry Neal Ely
7. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
8. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
9. 18z Rusty Zook Riverside
10. 3 Josh McGowan Vinton
11. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
12. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
13. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
14. 32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
15. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
16. 23d Dana Wells Moscow
17. 15 Cam Granger West Union
18. 95 Ed Sanger Postville
19. 37b Troy Bruder Rock Falls IL
20. 21x Michael Recker Waterloo
21. 28c Brad Coin Davenport
22. 7 Andy Nezworski Davenport
23. 27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI
24. 95x Wade Halverson Davenport
25. 28 Jeff Bair Marion
26. 4r Rick Dralle Waterloo
27. 4 Dave Turner Waterloo
28. 6 John Maher West Branch

Late Models Feature #2
1. 12n Terry Neal Ely
2. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls
3. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City
4. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
5. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
6. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
7. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
8. 3 Josh McGowan Vinton
9. 27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI
10. 7 Andy Nezworski Davenport
11. 33 Dan Galant Clinton
12. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
13. 18z Rusty Zook Riverside
14. 28c Brad Coin Davenport
15. 15 Cam Granger West Union
16. 21x Michael Recker Waterloo
17. 95 Ed Sanger Postville
18. 32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
19. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
20. 37b Troy Bruder Rock Falls IL
21. 95x Wade Halverson Davenport
22. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
23. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
24. 28 Jeff Bair Marion
25. 4r Rick Dralle Waterloo
26. 4 Dave Turner Waterloo
27. 6m John Maher West Branch
28. 23d Dana Wells Moscow

77x Ryan Dolan Lisbon
70 Max Corporon Cedar Rapids
1b Kevin Miller Waterloo

1. 1 Dan Chapman Clarence
2. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
3. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
4. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
5. 64 Bret Freiden Cedar Rapids
6. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
7. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
8. 63 Scott Preston Maquoketa
9. 33 Steve Wetter Platteville WI
10. 14w Jason Walrack Platteville WI
11. 00 Josh Vinnedge Forreston IL
12. d55 Scott Lemke Davis Junction IL
13. 27 Mark Schulte Delhi
14. 57 Dennis Betzer Central City
15. 24 Randy Less Hopkinton
16. 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
17. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
18. 5h Mike Hill Pearl City
19. 54 Doug Picray Monticello

1. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
2. 69 John Maher West Branch
3. 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
4. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
5. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
6. 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
7. 34 Ken Hanson Vinton
8. 4 Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL
9. 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
10. 03 Don Hughes Monticello
11. s1 Steve Hunter Hopkinton
12. 71 Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
13. 75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI
14. 23 Jim Amos Peosta
15. 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque

1. 97 Jeff Rienert Farley
2. 30 Mark Massey Farley
3. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi
4. 38 TJ Leslein Dubuque
5. 98 Duane Ahmann Epworth
6. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
7. 44 Kory Haverly Anamosa
8. 33 Jim Turpin Shullsberg WI
9. 23 Dennis Etten
10. 20 Dan Albright Lisbon
11. 22 Cory Bauer Manchester
12. 83 Rob Petsche Asbury

72 Doug Yates Monticello
1 Tom Boyes Dubuque
8k Jerry Merkes Farley

1. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
2. 38 Russ Yonkovic Dubuque
3. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
4. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
5. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
6. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
7. b4jr Brian Diercks Anamosa
8. 89 Kelly Welter Farley
9. 20 Terry Turnis Shullsberg WI
10. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque
11. 6c Chris Hinrichs Monticello

Back to the Archives