Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   West Plains Home Center Races
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 12, 2001 02:56 PM UIN: 16262997
West Plains Home Center Races
Provide Lots of Excitement, Fun

Racing at West Plains Motor Speedway Saturday night, August 11, provided lots of thrill, excitement and pleasure for fans and drivers alike. Some new faces were displayed on Victory Lane, with some first time heat race winners, too.
The evening's sponsor Jim Reynolds of West Plains Home Center, literally thrilled twenty-some young race fans with bikes, scooters, collectors dolls, and huge stuffed animals. The folks at WPHC always go out of their way and this time overboard for our young race fans.
In the IMCA Modified feature event, first time winner, Jim Weber of Cuba, MO, was delighted with his victory. He and his wife, Pam, took advantage of a great photo opportunity complete with checkered flag, trophy and a big kiss for the winner. Another driver making a strong showing was Dicky Jackson of Paragould, AR, providing a strong challenge in the second spot. Rounding out the top five and running well were Kevin Collins of West Plains, MO, Cody Kelly of Birch Tree, MO and Shannon Clinton of Willow Springs, MO.
The Super Stock feature found local favorite Stan Ellison carrying the checkered flag again. Providing a great show Ellison was pressured hard by Heath Davenport of Yellville, AR, Kevin Collins, Dave Wallace of Theodosia, MO, and Cody Kelly.
Donnie Miller of Branson, MO, made a great program out of the Hobby Stock main event. Making his way to first place by lap 5 after starting in the third row, Miller held his own while fans were thrilled by the swapping of positions from second on back. The father and son duo, James Mayfield and Mike Mayfield of West Plains, were mixing it up with Kevin Collins, and Pete Harris of Pottersville, MO, rounding out the top five.
The Cruiser class found another first time winner as Tom Taylor of West Plains, MO, leading the field of nineteen across the finish line, taking Victory Lane honors for the evening. Settling for second was points leader, Paula Ross of Flippin, AR, followed by Bill Johns of Hardy, David Collins of West Plains, MO, and Patrick Reed of Mtn. View, MO.
The last Powder Puff event of the 2001 season found a repeat winner in Anna Kelly Craigmyle of Birch Tree, MO. She was followed across that finish line by Sara Philipp of Willow Springs, MO and Regina Bryant of West Plains, MO.
There will be no races at West Plains Motor Speedway next Saturday night as they recognize the super late model special, the "Topless 100" at Batesville Speedway, at Batesville, AR, next weekend. Local fans are invited to attend this event.
The last weekly race of the season will be Saturday, August 25, as racing resumes at West Plains Motor Speedway. The Wal-Mart Super Center sponsored 12th Annual MARS Fall Nationals will be the last points race of the season and the last event on the formal schedule for the year

Back to the Archives