Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 12, 2001 10:14 AM UIN: 16262997

Media Contact: Judy Gower (724) 853-RACE/

IMPERIAL, PA - Like a barber, Keith Barbara of South Park cut through the
competition for his fifth QPI Tools Late Model feature of the season Saturday
at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. Sixteen-year old Tony Musolino
of Scott Township claimed his first career win in the Limited Late Models.
The Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stock 20 lap special went to South Fayette's
Charlie DiLoreto. Larry Kugel of Calcutta, OH won an amazing sixth straight
E-Modified feature, and Stowe Township's Ian Tomei collected his third
Amateur Stock main event.

Starting fourth, Keith Barbara showed his muscle early in the QPI Tools
Late Model feature. Jim Zarin led the first lap from the pole before Barbara
roared to the lead. Once in front, Barbara set a quick pace on his way to
the checkered flag. Zarin settled for second with Mark Moats third, Alex
Ferree fourth and Joe Johnson fifth. Six through ten were: D.J. Miller, Dave
Wade, Ben Miley, Mark Banal and Brian Durig. Wade and Banal won the heat
races. Ferree was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Pete Loria led the first half of the Limited Late Model feature. Things
then got crowded as George Kowatic and Al Atallah made it three wide for the
lead with Loria. Contact on the backstretch sent all three spinning with
Loria keeping his ride going as the caution waved for Kowatic and Atallah.
Loria held the lead on the restart, but Tony Musolino quickly overhauled
Loria's ill-handling machine and drove off for the popular win. Brian
Laraway charged to second. Loria was third, Bob Damron fourth and Bobby
Castelvetter fifth. Completing the top ten were: Mike Morgan, Kowatic, Mark
Banal (subbing for Wayne Tessean), Kirk Young and Jim Stephans. Laraway was
the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Loria and Musolino won the heat races.

Neal Isiminger and Charlie DiLoreto had raced each other hard all night.
The Pure Stock special saw Isiminger lead the first fourteen laps with
DiLoreto constantly applying plenty of pressure. Heading into turn three,
Isiminger's water pump came off sending him spinning in his own water. The
third place car of Doug Foster, sixth place car of Jimmy Arnold and the
seventh place car of Brain Scheller also found the wall. DiLoreto inherited
the lead on the restart and was up to the challenge of holding off point's
leader Rich Apolito. Stacie White was third, A.J. Poljak fourth and Mark
Jaworski fifth. Joe Anthony, Foster, Shawn Bryan, Bob Betz and Ryan Marks
rounded out the top ten. Betz was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Isiminger
and Apolito won the heats. The dash went to DiLoreto.

Starting last again, Larry Kugel blitzed the field in winning his 61st
career E-Mod victory. Kurt Halbedl was second, Jeff Broniszewski third, Jeff
Bametzrider fourth and Matt Smith fifth. Mike Anderson, Herm Myers, Bobby
Bongiorni and Vince LaBoon were next in line. Kugel was also the Monarch Oil
Hard Charger and heat race winner.

Ian Tomei took the lead with three laps remaining and raced to another win.
Butch Fraser crossed the finish line second and Bob Schwartzmiller third.
However, Fraser and the fifth place car of Butch Levandosky were disqualified
for violations in post race inspection. Schwartzmiller ended up second,
Bobby Siemon third, Joshua Langer fourth and John Cain fifth.

This Saturday, August 18th, the QPI Tools Late Models will run Twin 20's
with regular racing for the Limited Late Models, E-Modifieds, Isiminger's
Pennzoil Pure Stocks and Amateur Stocks. Gates open at 5 pm with racing at
7:30 pm.


QPI TOOLS LATE MODELS: Heat Race Winners - Dave Wade, Mark Banal
Feature (25 Laps): 1) Keith Barbara, S. Park 2) Jim Zarin, Coraopolis 3)
Mark Moats, Hookstown 4) Alex Ferree, Valencia 5) Joe Johnson, Monaca 6)
DJ Miller 7) Dave Wade 8) Ben Miley 9) Mark Banal 10) Brian Durig 11)
Larry Kugel 12) Gary Gellner 13) Steve Fife 14) Chuck Moury 15) Bill
Adler 16) Jason Cisson 17) Rick Heim 18) Bob Williams 19) Joe Campbell

LIMITED LATE MODELS: Heat Race Winners - Pete Loria, Tony Musolino
Feature (20 Laps): 1) Tony Musolino, Scott Twp. 2) Brian Laraway, Irwin
3) Pete Loria, Pittsburgh 4) Bob Damron, Wintersville OH 5) bobby
Castelveter, Moon Twp. 6) Mike Morgan 7) George Kowatic 8) Mark Banal 9)
Kirk Young 10) Jim Stephans 11) Tom Schirnhofer 12) Jon Hodgkiss 13) Tom
Duratz 14) Jesse Burroughs 15) Al Atallah 16) Danny Rich 17) Tom Bateman

E-MODIFIEDS: Heat Winner - Larry Kugel
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Larry Kugel, Calcutta OH 2) Kurt Halbedl, Imperial
3) Jeff Broniszewski, Coraopolis 4) Jeff Bametzrider, McMurray 5) Matt
Smith, Charleroi 6) Mike Anderson 7) Herm Myers 8) Bobby Bongiorni 9)
Vince Laboon

ISIMINGER'S PURE STOCKS: Heat Winners - Neal Isiminger, Rich Apolito
LJ's Video Dash Winner - Charlie DiLoreto
Feature (20 Laps): 1) Charlie DiLoreto, S. Fayette 2) Rich Apolito,
Carnegie 3) Stacie White, Carnegie 4) AJ Poljak, Whitehall 5) Mark
Jaworski, Mt. Oliver 6) Joe Anthony 7) Doug Foster 8) Shawn Bryan 9) Bob
Betz 10) Ryan Marks 11) Craig Kamicker 12) Neal Isiminger 13) Jimmy
Arnold 14) Brian Scheller 15) Bob Heim 16) Gary Rodgers 17) Mike McCord
18) Brian LeJeune 19) Wayne Johnson DNS 20) Darryl Robison 21) Dave Beck
22) Frankie Schneider

AMATEUR STOCKS FEATURE: 1) Ian Tomei, Stowe Twp. 2) Bob Schwartzmiller,
Robinson Twp. 3) Bob Siemon, Castle Shannon 4) Josh Langer, Oakdale 5)
John Cain, Pittsburgh 6) Steve Levandosky 7) Jerry Nation 8) Glen Knopp
9) Davey Lee 10) Harry Wieland 11) Aaron Fraser, 12) Butch Levandosky

Back to the Archives