Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Win at Britt is fourth straight Midwest Series victory for Elliott
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 10, 2001 12:07 PM UIN: 16262997
Win at Britt is fourth straight Midwest Series victory for Elliott
BRITT, Iowa (Aug. 9) - Maybe Mark Elliott should consider changing his car number to one.
Number one was all he was Thursday night in the Midwest Motorsports Best of the Midwest Series for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Cars at Hancock County Speedway.
Elliott drew the pole after winning his heat race, got into the fastest groove at the start and was never challenged over the course of the caution-free 25-lapper.
The Midwest victory was the record-tying fourth straight for the series point leader, who established the consecutive wins mark at the start of his 1999 series championship season.
Brian Blessington ran a distant second and Rick Brown was third.
Rounding out the top five were Minnesotans Jeff McCollum and Darin Toot.
Mike Nichols ran in the top six most of the night before getting sideways on the white flag lap. He was scored 18th.
Blessington and Brown also won the heat races during the Night of 1,000 Stars program.
The win was the 15th in Elliott's career, also a record for Midwest Series competitors.
If anyone is going to catch up with Elliott in the points race, they'll have to do it in a hurry. The series ends next week, with races at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway in Des Moines on Tuesday, Aug. 14 and at Tri-Star Speedway in Luxemburg, Wis., Thursday night, Aug. 16
Feature Results - 1. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 2. Brian Blessington, Breda; 3. Rick Brown, Kellogg; 4. Jeff McCollum, Mankato, Minn.; 5. Darin Toot, Albert Lea, Minn.; 6. Larry Silbaugh, Jefferson; 7. Brian Caquelin, Webster City; 8. Ken Tietz, Belle Plaine, Minn.; 9. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee, Wis.; 10. Rob Hughes, Humboldt; 11 Jeremy Chris-tians, Horicon, Wis.; 12. Scott Johnson, Woolstock; 13. Dave Baugh, Jefferson; 14. Shane Stoneburner, Boone; 15. Mike Albertsen, Audubon; 16. Michael Walrod, DeSoto; 17. Amy Woodward, Mason City; 18. Mike Nichols, Harlan; 19. Barry Wangsness, Northwood; 20. John Pletcher, Britt.

Back to the Archives