Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Kennedale series checkers fly for Witt, Peters
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 08, 2001 10:56 AM UIN: 16262997
Kennedale series checkers fly for Witt, Peters
KENNEDALE, Texas (Aug. 5) - Henry Witt Jr. returned to victory lane, while Paul Peters Jr. made his first visit to the winner's circle following Day Motorsports Texas Super Sunday Series feature events at Kennedale Speedway Park.
Witt, the defending series champion, paced the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modified feature, vaulting to the top of the point standings for the division with the victory.
And Peters scored his first-ever win in the main event for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Cars, reacting quickly to take advantage of an opportunity coming out of the final turn. Mark Mohon took over first in the points race with his third-place run.
William Gould, Jeff White and Brian Davis rounded out the top four in the Modified finish. Davis started on the pole and led the first five circuits. Witt made a backstretch pass for the point and stayed in front to the finish.
Vince Ogle took a two point lead over Tim Clonch into the day, but drew poorly and started in the back row in both his heat and "B" races. He missed qualifying for the Modified main by one position in the "B."
Tom Earl III led the Stock Car feature from the start to the last turn, when he slid up and got together with Clonch and Phil Egbert.
Peters avoided that tie-up and sped across the finish line, with Egbert, Mohon and Duain Pritchett in tow.
Mohon holds a five point advantage over previous leader Jeff Turner with one Stock Car race left, on Sept 23 at Boyd Raceway.
Two dates remain for the Modifieds, on Sept. 2 at Midessa Speedway and with the Stocks at Boyd.

Feature Results
Modifieds - 1. Henry Witt Jr., Waco; 2. William Gould, Calera, Okla.; 3. Jeff White, Ector; 4. Brian Davis, Decatur; 5. J.P. Dowell, Killeen; 6. Tommy Davis Jr., Wills Point; 7. Max Eddie Thomas, Quinlan; 8. John McNeil, Denton; 9. Ronny Gould, Calera, Okla.; 10. Mike Thrash, Midlothian; 11. Randall Robinson, Calera, Okla; 12. Darryl Campbell, Everman; 13. Scotty Brown, Seagoville; 14. Rodney Stanford, McKinney; 15. Billy Garza, Forney; 16. Justin Spoerl, Mesquite; 17. Tim Clonch, Quinlan; 18. Bo Newton, Bangs; 19. Glen Allen, Austin; 20. David McKay, Van Alstyne; 21. Kevin Simpson, Flint; 22. Ben Ketteman, Pflugerville; 23. Cheyney Hopkins, Combine; 24. Billy Brierton, Greenville.
Stock Cars - 1. Paul Peters Jr., Nevada; 2. Phil Egbert, Copperas Cove; 3. Mark Mohon, Sulphur Springs; 4 Duain Pritchett, Combine; 5. Kevin Sustaire, Emory; 6. Tom Earl III, Arlington; 7. Tim Clonch, Quinlan; 8. Craig Brown, Killeen; 9. Michael Sams, Brownwood; 10. Mike Greer, Garrison; 11. Jeff Turner, Dallas; 12. Ken Boatman, Whitehouse; 13. Chad Estes, Troy; 14. Trevor Egbert, Salado; 15. Terry Pritchett, Palmer; 16. Patrick Wilson, Harker Heights; 17. Daniel Reid, Henderson; 18. Chris McDonald, Taylor; 19. Gary Miller, Azle; 20. P.J. Egbert, Copperas Cove; 21. Kenneth Doan, Henderson; 22. Robert Ferron, Newark; 23. Charles Cross, Granbury; 24. Charlie Wilson, Denton.

Top 20 Point Standings
Modifieds - 1. Witt, 253; 2. Clonch, 243; 3. Brown, 241; 4. Simpson, 236; 5. Vince Ogle, Lubbock, 235; 6. Ronny Gould, 227; 7. Garza, 211; 8. McKay, 200; 9. Robert Sliva, Taylor, 191; 10. Wesley Veal, Princeton, 175; 11. Allen, 169; 12. Campbell, 150; 13. Chris Bragg, Springtown, 130; 14. Jimmy (J.P.) Dowell, Killeen, 129; 15. Ray Doug Hibbard, Colleyville, and Thrash, both 122; 17. Brad Hawkins, Whitehouse, 102; 18. James Holder, Waco, and Greg Moran, Sherman, both 98; 20. Robinson, 97.
Stock Cars - 1. Mohon, 293; 2. Turner, 288; 3. Sams, 265; 4. Greer, 251; 5. Clonch and Earl, both 244; 7. Duain Pritchett, 240; 8. Peters, 215; 9. Estes, 205; 10. Phil Egbert, 198; 11. Miller, 185; 12. Charlie Wilson, 165; 13. P.J. Egbert, 149; 14. Reid, 146; 15. Brown and Sustaire, both 131; 17. Patrick Wilson, 125; 18. Boatman, Jimmy Day, Greenville, and McDonald, each 115.


Back to the Archives