Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   ANOTHER Big Night at Columbus Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 06, 2001 07:33 PM UIN: 16262997
ANOTHER Big Night at Columbus Speedway

Columbus, Mississippi-It may sound like a broken record this year at
Columbus Speedway, but it was another record-breaking night at Johnny
Stokes' immensely popular motor sports entertainment facility. A season high
weekly racing event crowd was on hand to see a record breaking 122 racecars
in the overflowing pits at Columbus Speedway. Adding to the excitement was a
record breaking field of 36 Street Stock cars on hand for the "Summer Slam
20" Summer Championship event.

Action would get underway before the big crowd in attendance with 36 Street
Stocks hitting the Columbus high banks for Pole
Qualifying with "The Wanted Man" Lee Ray of Columbus taking the pole honors
with arch rival Tim White claiming the outside front row spot. The stage was
set, as the two points leaders would put on one of the best races of the

The 20-lap Street Stock event would see the 24 car field rumble around the
3/10's mile high banked clay oval three and four wide for the majority of
the race. Tim White would jump to an early lead with Lee Ray working the
bottom and middle of the track trying to get under White. Terry King ran in
third place for the first half of the event before dropping out with
mechanical difficulties. The late stages of the event would see Ray, Andy
Simmons, Jonathan Edwards, and Bruce Myers applying constant pressure as the
top five drivers were slugging it out battling for the lead.

Ray would take the lead from White in the late stages of the event as the
crowd rose their feet in unison. The standing crowd was going ballistic as
the white flag flew with Tim White all over Lee Ray in search of the bounty
money and large first place prize. The leaders would have to maneuver
through lapped traffic but Tim White would succumb to a three wide racing
encounter with a lapped car while challenging for the win and see Lee Ray
take another win in his Terry Cline Construction/Sansing's Tire sponsored
Chevrolet Monte Carlo. Andy Simmons of Tuscaloosa would fight through the
turn four mayhem and finish second with Vernon's Jonathan Edwards rounding
out the podium. Bruce Myers of Columbus finished a strong fourth and Tim
White completed to top five with a heart breaking finish. Completing the top
ten were Danny Gable of West Point, Terry Kelley, Wallace "Hollywood"
Richardson of New Hope, Keith Jones, and Harold Trimm of Columbus.

The Super Late Model division would give the fans another white flag victory
as "The Pontotoc Pirate" Steve Russell of Pontotoc, Mississippi driving his
Cooley Trucking/Rick's Furniture/Searcy Tire/Victory Lane Race Parts
sponsored GRT would take the win after passing "The Raging Rebel' David
Breazeale who had lead the majority of the 30 lap main event. Russell would
have to work hard for the victory as he and fast qualifier Breazeale would
have to come from 5th and 6th respectively after Breazeale drew for an
inversion of the top six cars. The front row was set with a Central
Mississippi front row with teammates Tombo Callahan and Terry Wilson leading
a swarm one of the finest weekly racing fields assembled in the South.
Action would see "The Weir Wild man" Tombo Callahan jump out front but the
heat was immediately on as the 25-year old Breazeale would take his Four
Corners, Mississippi based hot rod to the bottom of the track and put it in
the lead in a hurry. Not to be outdone, the legendary "Mississippi Flyer"
Jerry Inmon would charge to the front as he and Callahan were getting it on.
While Breazeale set sail, Steve Russell would begin his charge to the front
on the high side of the track. Russell would take over second place late in
the race and set his sights on Breazeale.

Once again with the white flag waving, the crowd standing, the win was in
doubt. Russell would take possession of the lead exiting turn two only to
hold off a charging Breazeale to claim another win at Columbus Speedway.
Finishing a strong third place was Tombo Callahan in his return to action
with Jerry Inmon in fourth, and Northport's Ronny Hollingsworth charging
from 19th place to finish with an impressive top five position. Completing
the top ten were Columbus drivers Joe Hollis and Eddie Rickman. Caledonia's
Mark Dodson came from the back of the pack with a steady eighth place finish
with current Super Late Model point's leader Shawn Edwards of Louisville
fighting for a ninth place finish. Defending Track Champion Mark Stokes was
back in action and took home the tenth place honors with a battered and
beaten racecar.

The Super Late Models will be featured this Saturday night at the Columbus
Speedway will host the 3rd Annual James Nickoles Memorial as the Mississippi
State Championship Challenge rolls into town for a 50-lap Championship
event. Many of the Mississippi's top drivers will be on hand gunning for a
portion of the large purse and prestigious win honoring one of Columbus
Speedway's founding fathers.

It was also announced Saturday night that the Magnolia State 100 will be
held at Columbus Speedway on October 5th and 6th as Pepsi will sponsor the
major special event which will pay a whopping $15,000 to win for the 100 lap
event. The Magnolia State 100 is considered by many as Mississippi's premier
racing event.

The Mini Stock win went to Vernon's Buddy Glover as Glover checked out in
his Ford Mustang to take the in over Jeff Massey of Coker, Alabama who had
to hold off a fast closing Tim Ritter of Amory to round out the top three
for the night. Kenneth McCool was fourth and Sherman Woods would earn the
fifth place position on the potent field of fourteen four-cylinder racecars.
The Pro 4 win went to Steve Glascow as he held off Alabama's Tommy Brasher
for the win. David Goins of Northport, Steve Lowe, and Jimmy Beachler both
from Reform completed the top five

The Pro Street win went to Frank Cox of Detroit, Alabama. Cox in his Sonic
Drive In sponsored Camaro held off point's leader Bill Sudduth and Tupelo's
Paul Robinson for the victory. Doug Dexter of West Point was fourth and
newcomer Dale Ott was fifth.

The growing Mississippi Modified class would provide an entertaining race
with "The Untouchable" Jason Hollis charging from last to first, to take
another victory at the Speedway. Early leader Tim Parker from Northport was
second followed by "Midnight" Matt Price, with Columbus drivers Brian
Rickman and Brian Hollis rounding out the top five.

The wild and crazy two person Cruiser division would have the largest field
of the year for the first year class as nineteen "locked and loaded" Cruiser
teams would do battle. The winners or survivors if you will, of the 10 lap
no holds barred main event were that of Columbus drivers Randal Barton and
Jamie Sudduth in the "Rock n' Roll" Cadillac. TK King and Tom McReynolds
were runners up after the 13-year tandem had to fight their way back through
the field after an early spin into the infield. Chaz Brown and Nathan
Mordecai would fight through the carnage to finish third. Josh Edwards and
Brady Sanders were fourth with Richard and Tommy Barton battling for the
fifth place finish.

Columbus Speedway will be hosting the 3rd Annual James Nickoles Memorial
presented by Premier Ford this Saturday night for the Mississippi State
Challenge Series. Also making a special appearance will be world famous
stuntman Kenny Powers performing what could simply be described as a 70 mile
per hour death defying exploding car crash on the front stretch. Grandstand
gates open at 4pm with racing at 7:30pm.

Back to the Archives